We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, and cheap!”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here in January and February 2013 as a budget accommodation while doing an internship. The location could not be beat! Really close to Dagastinos (spelling?) a well stocked and decently priced grocery/deli, and lots of great restaurants. It is also incredibly close to Grand Central Station. It's in a slightly more residential neighborhood, which is nice because you get more useful and fun amenities than you receive when staying in Time Square. I stayed twice, once in a single, and once in a double pod, and though they are small, if you are out to see the city or work, it doesn't really matter.

Pros:
Clean and comfortable.
Good layout in small spaces.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Great bar/restaurant in the lobby.
Beautiful rooftop sitting area inside and out.
Fantastic location for transit, shops, restaurants, site seeing, etc.
Free wi-fi and TV (which I watched when Nemo hit NY and I wanted to stay inside)
Comfy bed.
Quiet, I could not hear any of my neighbors when in the room.

Cons:
It was winter, and the head of the bed is always positioned at a window which were not well insulated. I had to sleep with a beanie on because my head just got too cold.
The doors have an issue where they make a mechanical sound during the night, as if someone is trying to open them. I spoke to reception, who said they would look into it, but it happened every night in each of the two separate rooms I stayed in.
Water pressure in shower is weak and can change to drizzle without warning.
Bathroom door is transparant, so be very comfortable with whomever you are sharing a double or bunk room with.
Self regulating heater was incredibly loud. It would wake me up in the night when it would turn on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
There are newer reviews for Pod 39 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,365 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a great hotel for quick trips to New York. The rooms are tiny, but have all you need. They are also very clean and I would prioritize cleanliness over room size any day! The staff is very friendly and there is a fun bar in the lobby. Great location near Grand Central and all midtown attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms are small, yes. What you would expect in New York City! If you are traveling with someone other than a spouse or very close friend, I would recommend separate rooms, as the bathroom is right beside the bed and does not have doors extending to the (very high) ceilings, and has only frosted doors. Not much will be left to the imagination! The room was cleaned very well every day and we liked the look of the room. The restaurant downstairs was expensive but trendy. Excellent food. We stayed in a double bed room and had enough space for the very little relaxing we did. There is space for storage of luggage, etc. under the bed, which was handy. Very close (walking distance) to Grand Central Station, which is the way to pretty much everywhere! I would definitely stay here again. We stayed for 5 nights and were very happy with everything in this hotel. The elevators are even cool, as they have glass on either side which enable you to see the other 2 elevators and the inner workings of the elevator shaft. A great hotel for a great price in New York City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Totally loved this hotel. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at how roomy this is. We've been in a small NYC hotel room before, we knew what to expect, and we were prepared to have a room so tight it would just inspire us to get out in the city faster. Amazingly, this place did not do that! We LOVED being in our room, it was so mod/funky and surprisingly spacey for such a small place. The double bed had enough room underneath to tuck away our baggage, the cool bathroom got us nervous at first, with it's glass door and all, but the glass is fogged/blurred in the middle so you can't see the person at all when they are on the toilet. Hidden coat hooks on the wall were a nice touch, windows that actually let in light, neat lil shelf bedside with wire hole and electric outlet right there to plug in your phone. Even the clock was rad. I loved everything about our room, and outside of it was even cooler! The Rooftop Lounge wasn't running due to winter, but it was still open to hang out in. What an awesome view! And in the indoor portion looked incredible too! I think I'd prefer it in the winter, it was real quite and enjoyable. The downstairs bar/lounge was really busy, full of hipster dorks enjoying themselves. Which is fine, I just don't enjoy loud areas.
Anyways, how the heck is this place so cheap!

I don't know if I could handle one of the rooms with a shared bathroom, but next time i stay in NY, this will definitely be where I sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't accidentally book one of the rooms with a shared bathroom NO fridge, but pu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu_Pidassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

POD39 is small hotel, but very clean. The feature of the room are all up-to-date and nothing feels old. The room has a European feel maximizing what little space is available. It was great for just 2 nights in the city, with a great location, just a few blocks from Grand Central. If I had been staying in the city for more than 2 nights, I probably would have preferred a larger room. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. There is even a funky taco bar located in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomiaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in December.
The room was very small but clean and functional.
Great value and a very good location! Walking distance to Grand central.
Free wifi and helpful staff.
I would definitely go back!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Snowhostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a queen pod room for Saturday the 16th . Got to the hotel early and hoped for a earlier check in; but room wasn't ready till 3pm which was check in time so I can't complain about that . Check in was not bad and they held our bags for us before check in. We then got into the room and it was much smaller then I thought. It is so bad that if I am sitting on the edge of the bed, I have to move so my wife can get by. Plus as other guests have mentioned you keep banging your knees and hands since everything is so cramped.
Room was nice and modern I do have to say that. Two complaints I had with the room are: toilet seat was loose and crooked but we dealt with it . My major complaint is there were no plastic cups in the bathroom;had to go buy some so I could better rinse my mouth out after brushing my teeth.
Overall a "just ok" experience but I will not be staying here again. I think I could have done better for 200 bucks.

Oh, great deals on beer at the bar downstairs , only 15 bucks for a bottle of Corona. I went to the deli on the corner and got my beer ! Good luck

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
39HotelMgr, General Manager at Pod 39 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Greetings Mark,
We do practice truth in marketing. We call ourselves a Pod and that's what we provide. Thanks for stopping by and giving us a try. Our Queen Pods do range in size from 100 to 180 square feet so if you ask nicely and we have it available, sometimes we can move guests into larger rooms. It boils down to what is available when you are checking in. I apologize about your toilet seat and we've made it a point to have a staff now checked for anymore. We don't provide plastic cups in the room but there are two glass cups in every bathroom. I'm sorry if we neglected to place any in your rooms for your stay. The Corona you are referring to is actually 32 oz so it's like getting close to three beers for $15. Many tend to overlook its size when looking at the menu. It is really good and fun to share.
Cheers,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 468 in New York City
5,266 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#350 of 468 in New York City
18,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing