We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value, And Handy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Value, And Handy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was in the city for client meetings, and while my masters said stay wherever, I wanted to check this out and see if the reviews were accurate. They were. Place is great.

Rooms are indeed small but in no way ridiculous. There was a lot of thought put into the design to get a lot of function out of a small space.

I stayed up high and well away from the elevator, so it was dead quiet. The rooms have steel doors, which likely helped keep the noise out. Windows opened, which was nice.

When you walk in, the place is teeming with people, as is the riotous bar. That was a little intimidating as I thought that place was full of tipsy people who would then take the party upstairs. Nope.

It is just 2.5 blocks from Grand Central and a main subway line that will get you north or south quickly. I think Union Square was 2 stops on the express line.

Asked other people what they thought of their stay. Same reaction. Not sure why I would stay elsewhere for a lot more money.

Room Tip: Get room away from elevator and higher up. Don't share a room unless you don't mind being in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    1,451
    381
    69
    42
See reviews for
376
1,073
623
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Walked into a minimalist lobby... metro chic (as were the vast majority of the hotel guests). Friendly front desk, was staffed by helpful young men & women. Our queen size room was clean & functional. Bathroom was small but glass enclosure made it, and the room, feel larger. The only thing we didn't "get" was the cold water only sink. If you want space to store a couple of large suitcases, this isn't the hotel for you. Anyone else? Great value for NYC. Would stay here again in a NY minute!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockluvahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is my second stay in this hotel. In our second night we have problems with a terrible noise, the front desk asked for an "engineer" to help us - he said it was from the floor bellow and he couldn't do anything as the guests weren't there. After we called the front desk again, they offered another room, we were very tired and decided to wait until next day. In our third night it was necessary to change the room, because the noise was even worst. When we called the front dek we were told to go upstairs to get the key - nobody offered us help to change the room.

In our last night, my husband and I got sick, so I asked for a late checkout. The front desk told us they would charge us a fee - what is ok - but to talk with them again next morning. In the morning, the first lady informed us that the would charge us 50% of night cost to stay until 5pm. A few minutes later, while I was waiting to set it up, I was told that they would charge us another night - to stay four hours more in a room that was available. When I told that I was disappointed, they told me it was hotel policy. If it is the hotel policy, they should have their employees better informed and trained, because I received the wrong information twice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm glad that I read the reviews about the rooms being small and a bathroom that was less than private, as we went in with accurate expectations and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. While the rooms were small, they made the most of the space and everything was very clean.

Service was quick and friendly, and we found the location to be perfect...we walked almost everywhere or could easily access public transporation when necessary. Ideal.

Our favorite part was the rooftop bar. I mean really, wow! It exceeded expectations and we ended spending way more time there than planned.

If you're looking for nice and simple with a decent pricetag I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garnerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I travelled over 100 nights last year for work and if you're like me then the main thing your looking for is a clean room that is quiet, a convenient location and a price that fits a budget. Pod 39 has all of these.

There are tons of reasonably priced hotels is New York City but the vast majority of them are dumps: old building, old furnishings and not clean.

Pod 39 is none of that.

The lobby is hopping with cool music and hip travellers, it has a great bar and restaurant and the staff was friendly. The only drawback is that the rooms are tiny. And when I say tiny, I mean tiny! The smallest room I have ever stayed in. But in reality why do you need a bunch of space anyway? If you want space check out their roof top deck.

If you plan to spend the day in your room doing work then this place is probably not ideal

If you want a spacious room with an awesome view go to the Helmsley Palace and pay $800 per night.

If you want a good rate, a clean room, a good place to eat and in a convenient location then Pod 39 is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackersFanCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at Pod 39 in the weekend during the snowstorm. Though check in went smoothly, we didn't get the right type of room. We got a Double Pod instead of Queen Pod which we booked through a third part. The guy at the desk didn't tell about it. It was our first time at Pod 39 and we didn't know what kind of room we got. But when you book a certain type room, you don't have to check if its right type of room. Anyway you will get a message if the right type of room is not available for some reasons. The worst thing that happened during our stay was that we had to move to another room during first night. Because one window was very windy and not dense. It was 60 F (15 Celsius) in the room when I had to call the reception in the middle of night. They moved us to another room and yes it was Queen Pod this time. We didn't figure out how the air condition worked and had to wake up during nights to turn it on because the auto function went to lower temperature after a while. In generally the air condition made a lot of noise. It was always noisy in the room because it was not possible to turn the ac completely off. The room was clean but what can you expect from a hotel that started just some months ago. It can get quite chilly in NY during winter and all you get is a thin polyester blanket. Another ting is that you have to be comfortable with your partner because you can see and hear everything through the frosted glass door in the bath. We will probably not stay in Pod 39.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAROslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,733 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing