We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional & HIP!!!”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean, functional & HIP!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Walked into a minimalist lobby... metro chic (as were the vast majority of the hotel guests). Friendly front desk, was staffed by helpful young men & women. Our queen size room was clean & functional. Bathroom was small but glass enclosure made it, and the room, feel larger. The only thing we didn't "get" was the cold water only sink. If you want space to store a couple of large suitcases, this isn't the hotel for you. Anyone else? Great value for NYC. Would stay here again in a NY minute!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockluvahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    1,509
    399
    77
    45
See reviews for
399
1,104
651
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is my second stay in this hotel. In our second night we have problems with a terrible noise, the front desk asked for an "engineer" to help us - he said it was from the floor bellow and he couldn't do anything as the guests weren't there. After we called the front desk again, they offered another room, we were very tired and decided to wait until next day. In our third night it was necessary to change the room, because the noise was even worst. When we called the front dek we were told to go upstairs to get the key - nobody offered us help to change the room.

In our last night, my husband and I got sick, so I asked for a late checkout. The front desk told us they would charge us a fee - what is ok - but to talk with them again next morning. In the morning, the first lady informed us that the would charge us 50% of night cost to stay until 5pm. A few minutes later, while I was waiting to set it up, I was told that they would charge us another night - to stay four hours more in a room that was available. When I told that I was disappointed, they told me it was hotel policy. If it is the hotel policy, they should have their employees better informed and trained, because I received the wrong information twice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm glad that I read the reviews about the rooms being small and a bathroom that was less than private, as we went in with accurate expectations and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. While the rooms were small, they made the most of the space and everything was very clean.

Service was quick and friendly, and we found the location to be perfect...we walked almost everywhere or could easily access public transporation when necessary. Ideal.

Our favorite part was the rooftop bar. I mean really, wow! It exceeded expectations and we ended spending way more time there than planned.

If you're looking for nice and simple with a decent pricetag I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garnerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I travelled over 100 nights last year for work and if you're like me then the main thing your looking for is a clean room that is quiet, a convenient location and a price that fits a budget. Pod 39 has all of these.

There are tons of reasonably priced hotels is New York City but the vast majority of them are dumps: old building, old furnishings and not clean.

Pod 39 is none of that.

The lobby is hopping with cool music and hip travellers, it has a great bar and restaurant and the staff was friendly. The only drawback is that the rooms are tiny. And when I say tiny, I mean tiny! The smallest room I have ever stayed in. But in reality why do you need a bunch of space anyway? If you want space check out their roof top deck.

If you plan to spend the day in your room doing work then this place is probably not ideal

If you want a spacious room with an awesome view go to the Helmsley Palace and pay $800 per night.

If you want a good rate, a clean room, a good place to eat and in a convenient location then Pod 39 is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackersFanCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at Pod 39 in the weekend during the snowstorm. Though check in went smoothly, we didn't get the right type of room. We got a Double Pod instead of Queen Pod which we booked through a third part. The guy at the desk didn't tell about it. It was our first time at Pod 39 and we didn't know what kind of room we got. But when you book a certain type room, you don't have to check if its right type of room. Anyway you will get a message if the right type of room is not available for some reasons. The worst thing that happened during our stay was that we had to move to another room during first night. Because one window was very windy and not dense. It was 60 F (15 Celsius) in the room when I had to call the reception in the middle of night. They moved us to another room and yes it was Queen Pod this time. We didn't figure out how the air condition worked and had to wake up during nights to turn it on because the auto function went to lower temperature after a while. In generally the air condition made a lot of noise. It was always noisy in the room because it was not possible to turn the ac completely off. The room was clean but what can you expect from a hotel that started just some months ago. It can get quite chilly in NY during winter and all you get is a thin polyester blanket. Another ting is that you have to be comfortable with your partner because you can see and hear everything through the frosted glass door in the bath. We will probably not stay in Pod 39.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAROslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Pod 51 last year in January and really liked it (I wrote a review here too). This time in NYC I decided to stay at this newly opened Pod 39 Hotel from 2/6 - 2/10/13. Seriously I was a bit worried about the rumored ultra-tiny room (aka a real pod room) but took a chance and booked the single twin bed room with private bath (in the Pod 39 ALL the rooms have private baths - no sharing bathrooms like the Pod 51!) I got an ***incredible*** deal booking a month in advance - it was literally a steal - for hotels in the area are twice, three times and more for their daily room rates! I booked directly thru the hotel website (very easy process).
Ok to make this review easier to read I'm dividing it into the positives, negatives then overall impressions.

Positives:
- Fantastic rates if you book early
- Room is TINY but fully functional, well planned and simply designed, I didn't feel claustrophobic
- Full private bath
- Very comfortable bed, great pillows too
- Good lighting
- Extremely clean room and hotel area
- All the staff were very friendly/helpful (unlike the indifferent arrogant staff of Pod 51)
- Since I went in the winter, the rooms heating worked great and is fully adjustable
- Hotel has lots of open lounge area around lobby for socializing and roof top lounge (saw it but it was too cold)
- Hotel has a Mexican Bar/food "restaurant" on premises called "Salvation Taco". It's more a bar with bar food. It's NOT a typical restaurant like Chiles, etc. No extensive menu, menu selection is very limited. Tacos are VERY small, you need 3 to fill you up. Also the food is not "typical Mexican" its a very creative Mexican food "based" menu, very "different" tastes (see for yourself). Breakfast is very limited too but - again - they use very creative flavors for muffins, loafs, butters ( all great by the way) In the evening - including the after work crowd - during the week, this place is hopping with people, very busy but luckily no music blasting super loud! It's a fun place to socialize.
- Grand Central Station is 3 blocks away, hotel next to Lexington Avenue
- A few little restaurants, pizzerias, burger places around hotel
- Concierge services on-site, in lobby
- Free Wi-Fi all over
- All age groups stayed here, its not for "hipsters" only

Negatives:
- The "rainfall" shower head in bathroom, while it feels great, it does a poor job rinsing you off - not enough pressure, non-adjustable. So if you have a lot of hair, you're going to be in there a long time!
- Location is far from all "major attractions" except Grand Central Station and Chrysler Building. Location is great for business travelers who are doing business in the Murray Hill area.
- Far from major "shopping areas" as well
- The non-conventional onsite "Mexican bar/restaurant" may turn off people because its not a full functioning restaurant with an extensive menu but its great for having drinks socializing
- Rooms have poor noise insulation, you can hear people taking/watching TV in their rooms - across the hall! You can hear people walking in the hallways, slamming doors, elevator 'bings", etc. ***My personal recommendation is to get a room away from elevators, also not directly above the lobby or directly below the roof terrace/lounge. I was away from elevators and still could hear the elevator "bings" - so if you're a light sleeper you might have some issues staying here.
Overall, its a fantastic value hotel.....Now I wish they open another Pod Hotel in the Greenwich Village/Soho/Chelsea/Hells' Kitchen area!

Room Tip: To get the best deal book at least 21 days earlier to arrival. DEFINITELY ask for a room away from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#397 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 467 in New York City
5,165 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing