We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stay”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #204 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Clean small rooms in a nice location. Short walk to Grand Central. Hotel rooms were very quiet with great sleep quality. I wish they would change the comforters to something that is changed or cleaned with every guest. I would recommend upgrading to a full or double as it is worth the extra space.

Room Tip: Due to the cold weather, ask for a room with the headboard not under a window...new windows but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 3,399 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at this hotel and really loved how contemporary the design and decor were. The location is excellent, walking distance from major points in the city and also close to subways. The room is literally a pod, so if you are on a shopping free or have a lot of luggage, space might definitely be an issue. We got a double pod and the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was a little tight but more than fine for one night. Only thing we thought odd was that the bathroom door is a sliding opaque glass door, which kind of blocks out the view but still doesn't offer you total privacy should you need it. The staff was very friendly and had many maps, brochures and information available for tourists. All in all, it was a great find and definitely a hotel I'd go back to.

Room Tip: double pod is perfect for a couple with little luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am a grandmother who comes to NYC frequently to visit my grandkids and this place is ideal. It's well located, clean, efficient, and exactly the basics one needs. There's a busy, noisy bar/restaurant scene in the lobby which is fun and cheering if you're by yourself. The clientele is definitely young, but I felt welcome and comfortable. The rooms are like a cabin on a ship...maybe more so than a dorm room. It was too cold to check out the roof garden, but that sounds fun, too. It seems that the prices go up as the weather warms up...so your best deals here are in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Pod 39 was the perfect platform for my first time visit to New York! I arrived at night and was quite nervous to enter as there were no flashy outside lights. HOWEVER, the lobby was gorgeous and fun and more importantly young inside with an eclectic restaurant "Salvation Taco" attached. (It serves great for midnight tacos!) I stayed in a single suite which was much bigger than i expected through reading the previous posts. For the price it was certainly more comfortable and left me feeling more secure than any hostel. It is situated in the perfect spot - just a 15 minute walk to Times Square and about 5 minutes to Grand Central Station! The Housekeeping was fantastic and the staff was extremely friendly. They even helped me out when i overslept and nearly missed my flight home. Overall i enjoyed my stay immensely and would recommend it for any young traveller!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am not into ultra-luxury. I stay in hotels 50-60 nights a year--from Motel 6 to Hyatts and Hiltons and The Ritz Carlton. The Pod 39 is hands-down my favorite and is absolutely the best value. I just spent two nights there--Saturday night @ $90, Sunday night @ $70--three blocks down Lex. Avenue from Grand Central. Superb location. But it's the concept I love. My room was small, but very efficiently laid-out. Quiet. Whoever designed the place gets it. I had a single room, with bath/shower, in-room safe. It was quiet, cozy, wonderful. If you want to stay in Mid-town, in a clean well-thought-out room and don't like to waste money on typically larger, dull hotels, the Pod 39 is the place.

Room Tip: For a single, try room 12 on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photolandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I got a mini-bunk room at Pod 39. The hotel is pretty stylish in it's own way. There is a bar in the lobby along with a row of Ipads for guests to use. The people at the front desk were pretty nice and helped us get in to the room and out to the airport efficiently.

The room was small. Very small. With a bunk bed, a desk, a chair, a safe, and one pole for hangar holding. There is also at little lamp and a double outlet at each bed. Liked that aspect. The whole experience felt kind of like a dorm room.

There is also a bathroom with sliding frosted glass windows, a very loud toilet, not much counter space (though didn't need really need the space), and a good size shower which took me a while to figure out how to maximize the hot water. The one thing I didn't care for were the sliding glass doors for the bathroom. The door is thin so you hear EVERYTHING going on in the bathroom. And I'm a person who is not that interested in hearing everything no matter how close I am to the person. Also there is a large door knob size hole in the sliding door that overlooks in the toilet when fully closed. I'm also not that interested in watching someone use the bathroom from the lower bunk bed.

The location of the hotel is great. Only a few minutes walk to Grand Central.

Overall, a good stay. Very affordable for what you get. And if you are a tourist and are out and about for most of the day anyway then it's perfectly fine. Unless you need the sense of privacy and a lot of counter space.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've just returned from NYC having spent 4 nights at Pod39. If your budget is small but you do not want to compromise on location, cleanliness and service then this is the place for you.

I stayed in a one person Pod, and the room is exactly that- compact but fully functional, clean, efficient use of space, nice bathroom and the toiletries provided smell divine. Bed was comfortable and clean.

The roof top bar is a must visit with a gear view I'd the Empire State Building.

Only 3 blocks from grand central station and the Chrysler building and the new york library about 4 blocks from Times Square and 6 blocks from fifth avenue. Close proximity to subway lines which will take you to Brooklyn bridge, Wall Street and the staten Islam ferry ( and a ride to see the Statue of Liberty).

Friendly staff from the receptionist, bar staff and chambermaids.

This place exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smilieuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#406 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#72 of 469 in New York City
5,351 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $115 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing