We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small space, but a big Impression”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Small space, but a big Impression”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

No one comes to NYC for the rooms, so this was the perfect place for a solo traveler. The room was spacious enough for everything I needed, had electronic hook ups for all occasions, lots of storage space for the amount of square feet, as well as a surprisingly comfortable bathroom/shower space.

I loved that the decor was more modern, with a great impression upon walking in. The staff all seemed cool and hip, while still having an element of professionalism. Everyone was friendly and despite my locking my key In my room a solid two times, and being the picky traveler who needed an extra pillow, I was never given attitude or shown frustration.

As for location, it is conveniently located a few blocks from Grand Central, and within walking distance of Times Square. There is a great Tavern on Park, as well as a fantastic sushi place on 3rd. Taxis are easy to come by, and the staff will help with any bags.

Overall, definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missye83088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,489
    398
    77
    44
See reviews for
391
1,095
645
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff was very pleasant and helpful, but the hotel room design was just weird. I know it was a discount price point, but sometimes things seemed cheap for the sake of being cheap, and there was an unusual hair mosaic in the shower. I've been in other hotels geared to a business traveler on an economy budget that seemed to accommodate my in-room needs more. But again, the staff was great, location was convenient being off Lexington Ave, so fairly close to the 6 Train or Grand Central, and not hard to get a cab. If all you need is four walls and a bed that isnt next to the airport, it's perfect. Decent Italian restaurant called Sam's Place right nearby too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpicunko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Pod 39 for 6 nights in late September. Our bunk room was compact and bijou but we didn't feel cramped at all. In fact I am pretty sure we had more space than the last time I stayed in a twin room in NYC. The price of $179 a room was pretty unbeatable for any room in New York. There is still some work going on around the hotel, but we didn't experience any disruption from it.

The hotel itself is in a great location, a couple of blocks from Bryant Park, Grand Central, the Chrysler Building and other major sights. There are also loads of diners and shops in the area if you want to pick up some cheap food. The reception is very funky and the staff are very helpful. There is a small concierge desk in reception to assist you with excursions and tickets and Ipads so you can access the internet. Free wifi and coffee in the mornings was also very welcome!

The bar on the 17th floor was a real surprise, not only is it very cool with fabulous cocktails, but it has amazing views over the Empire State Building.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pod 39 and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paloma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights there, and final price was $ 860...not so cheap, considering the small surface of our room. Toilet behind the glass is very fashionable, but really not practicle. Location is grat, and people at the front desk are very kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciribillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Pod 39 for 5 nights in late August this year. We got an unbeatable price for the bunk bed room and decided to overlook the fact that the hotel would perhaps be not quite finished at the time of our stay, as well as the small rooms, for the savings we would make. We stayed at the hotel Giraffe for the later part of our 12 night trip to NYC (see separate review).

The first room we were sent to, after a quick checkin, was uninhabitable. By that I mean that it was so tight spacewise that we could not get our two suitcases in the room and hope to shut the door. We went back down to reception and asked for a room with a better layout. Although the attitude was frosty we were given another room which was adequate. There is no getting around the fact that the rooms are tiny. However, I think that the room we had was quite well designed and made good use of the space available. We pretty much had to sit on our beds when in the room, although there was a desk and chair. But the beds were very comfortable, the room was spotless and thoroughly cleaned each day.

The bathroom was spacious, relatively speaking, and the shower nice and hot although I would have liked a bit more water pressure. I liked the toiletries provided, and replenished daily. Others have commented on the privacy issues of the glass-walled bathroom, so I'll just second that there is really no place to hide!

A major negative for me was that the room faced into an internal light shaft and so the room was gloomy. However, it must be said that we had asked for a quiet room at the time of booking and so I imagine these are deemed the quiet ones. And they were; we slept well. Except for one night when maybe the lifts weren't working or there was a big queue for them coming down from the rooftop bar, and we were disturbed by the sound of high heels clattering down 7 flights of stairs!

The hotel is well located: subway/Grand Central nearby and we walked everywhere Midtown (Fifth Ave/Madison Ave shopping, Rockefeller Centre, Library, Central park etc). There is not a huge amount of options for eating at night in the vicinity, although the upscale market at Grand Central was good, as was the Oyster bar. It is a fairly quiet area at night.

We had drinks one night on the rooftop and it is a lovely spot with quite breathtaking views. However it was very crowded and on a couple of nights, upon returning to the hotel, there was a line outside the hotel for the bar.

The two main negatives for me: the staff had pretty high opinions of themselves and the WiFi was abysmal.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms in terms of the design quirks, functionality and cleanliness. And while the price could not be beat, I would probably only stay here again if I was solo and I could get a room with a bit more natural light.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacq67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Tiniest room ever for $250 USD per night. Good and friendly service from front desk, concierge and housekeeping. The room was clean and wifi speed was excellent. Even so, my hubby and I found that the room was just too small for us. We were supposed to stay 5 nights but changed hotels after 2 . For just a bit more, one can find nicer digs both in amenities and size.

On a positive note, the free walking tour of the Meatpacking district was quite good.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, try to get the biggest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadgetSunnyvaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms were small but clean and completely functional. Remember to ask for a hairdryer. The location is convenient, safe, near the train. The staff is helpful and the price is surprisingly affordable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KB135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing