We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small space Great experince”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small space Great experince”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms at the Pod are the smallest rooms in the world I'm sure, but don't be fooled! They are so well designed that everything flows perfectly. Neat decoration, comfy beds, enough space for SMALL luggage. The shower is splendid, cool ammenities and free wi fi. What else do you need? No fridge or microwave, but who cares? There's a safe box, a decent sized blower, tv, space to hang your clothes and all this fits in a shoe box sized room. If you are a savvy traveler on a budget looking for style,comfort and keeping your wallet happy, this place is a really good option.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitalora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    1,460
    386
    74
    42
See reviews for
380
1,078
633
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice hotel and atmosphere. Excellent location!
They have the most amazing staff,their concierge Sergio exceed expectation.
We will look forward to staying there whenever we visit New York as well as recommending the hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadjicostis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have no problem with small. However, Pod 39 does small in some poorly-thought out ways. Yes the glass divider between room and bathroom makes the room feel larger, but you sacrifice privacy. No problem if you are traveling solo. Everything is so reduced in size, that functionality is compromised. The glass shelf in bathroom is to thin to put a toiletry kit on. The work desk is too short to have a laptop and papers lying next to each other. I'm okay with no gym, I often do yoga in a NYC hotel room. Not here - not only is there no gym, but the space between my bed and the glass walled bath was too narrow for a sun salutation. Washing my face, the sink was so small that I splashed water all over the floor. Where are the towels? Not in the bathroom. They are neatly stored out in the "closet" (a hanging bar and table) in the room. There's no water glass to rinse after brushing - you have to bend down to drink from sink. Oh and if the glass door is closed, you will hit it.
Last annoying touch: when the cool-design clock on the wall changes date (at midnight), the sound was so loud it made me jump.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you don't mind the small rooms. When you only need a comfortable place to sleep this is perfect. Within walking distance of Grand Central Station, and many NYC attractions. Will go again if I go back to NYC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDesRoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is very modern, I think having a very Japanese-influenced style.
The rooms are small but very well styled. The basics are very well done. There is a great entertainment outlet to connect your laptop, tablet to the TV.
The real differentiating factor is the rooftop. Good vibe, music, bar, drinking and rooftop party with a great view of the city. Very young people stay at this hotel. It also has a great location, 2 minutes walking from Grand Central Station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobbi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have to echo most of the other positive reviews of this new Pod hotel: convenient location, helpful staff, small but well designed rooms. We got a good rate on a queen room and were on the 16th floor. The room is very small with a only bit of walking space around the bed, but with storage underneath.We weren't in New York to spend a lot of time in our hotel room, so it was a good fit. Like others we found the frosted glass (ie. no solid wall) between the bedroom and the bathroom a bit bizarre, but it is probably done to give the impression of space in both the room and the bathroom.
The rooftop bar is now open: very busy most nights we were there and with a gorgeous view of the city including the Empire State Building.
Still some construction happening in the building but we were not impacted by this. Were very pleased with our stay and would stay again as it balances affordability and comfort. This is a great hotel for couples who just need a reliable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. Bunk beds served us fine. TV for each bunk. Tiny room but it was all we needed. Great location, friendly staff. Clean. Beautiful terrace on the roof. Coffee and orange juice in the morning. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brampton_ONMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing