We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small space Great experince”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #202 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms at the Pod are the smallest rooms in the world I'm sure, but don't be fooled! They are so well designed that everything flows perfectly. Neat decoration, comfy beds, enough space for SMALL luggage. The shower is splendid, cool ammenities and free wi fi. What else do you need? No fridge or microwave, but who cares? There's a safe box, a decent sized blower, tv, space to hang your clothes and all this fits in a shoe box sized room. If you are a savvy traveler on a budget looking for style,comfort and keeping your wallet happy, this place is a really good option.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitalora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,248 - 2,254 of 3,457 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice hotel and atmosphere. Excellent location!
They have the most amazing staff,their concierge Sergio exceed expectation.
We will look forward to staying there whenever we visit New York as well as recommending the hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadjicostis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have no problem with small. However, Pod 39 does small in some poorly-thought out ways. Yes the glass divider between room and bathroom makes the room feel larger, but you sacrifice privacy. No problem if you are traveling solo. Everything is so reduced in size, that functionality is compromised. The glass shelf in bathroom is to thin to put a toiletry kit on. The work desk is too short to have a laptop and papers lying next to each other. I'm okay with no gym, I often do yoga in a NYC hotel room. Not here - not only is there no gym, but the space between my bed and the glass walled bath was too narrow for a sun salutation. Washing my face, the sink was so small that I splashed water all over the floor. Where are the towels? Not in the bathroom. They are neatly stored out in the "closet" (a hanging bar and table) in the room. There's no water glass to rinse after brushing - you have to bend down to drink from sink. Oh and if the glass door is closed, you will hit it.
Last annoying touch: when the cool-design clock on the wall changes date (at midnight), the sound was so loud it made me jump.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you don't mind the small rooms. When you only need a comfortable place to sleep this is perfect. Within walking distance of Grand Central Station, and many NYC attractions. Will go again if I go back to NYC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDesRoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is very modern, I think having a very Japanese-influenced style.
The rooms are small but very well styled. The basics are very well done. There is a great entertainment outlet to connect your laptop, tablet to the TV.
The real differentiating factor is the rooftop. Good vibe, music, bar, drinking and rooftop party with a great view of the city. Very young people stay at this hotel. It also has a great location, 2 minutes walking from Grand Central Station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobbi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have to echo most of the other positive reviews of this new Pod hotel: convenient location, helpful staff, small but well designed rooms. We got a good rate on a queen room and were on the 16th floor. The room is very small with a only bit of walking space around the bed, but with storage underneath.We weren't in New York to spend a lot of time in our hotel room, so it was a good fit. Like others we found the frosted glass (ie. no solid wall) between the bedroom and the bathroom a bit bizarre, but it is probably done to give the impression of space in both the room and the bathroom.
The rooftop bar is now open: very busy most nights we were there and with a gorgeous view of the city including the Empire State Building.
Still some construction happening in the building but we were not impacted by this. Were very pleased with our stay and would stay again as it balances affordability and comfort. This is a great hotel for couples who just need a reliable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. Bunk beds served us fine. TV for each bunk. Tiny room but it was all we needed. Great location, friendly staff. Clean. Beautiful terrace on the roof. Coffee and orange juice in the morning. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brampton_ONMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,006 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#182 of 470 in New York City
823 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 470 in New York City
1,590 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,450 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 470 in New York City
5,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $102 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing