We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner before Broadway show”
Review of Cinema Brasserie - CLOSED

Cinema Brasserie
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Madison and Fifth Avenues
Transit: 7 train to 5th Avenue, B, D, F & V trains to 42nd Street/Bryant Park, and 4, 5 & 6 trains to 42nd Street/Grand Central.
Description: Cinema Brasserie, part of the Cinema Hospitality Group which operates three restaurants in New York City that play silent movies throughout service, offers a unique dining experience in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our goal is simple; to offer a great meal, matched with knowledgeable and genuinely friendly service to ensure guest satisfaction. Executive Chef, Fotis K. demonstrates his talent and expertise with an eclectic menu inspired by his travels around the world, reinterpreting the concept of New American cuisine for the sophisticated palettes of New Yorkers and visitors alike. The menu is complemented by a wine list that features beloved favorites from Italy, France and the New World with exceptional value, including an outstanding selection of wines by the glass and quartino, allowing our guests to choose the precise level of indulgence.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner before Broadway show”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found the service to be friendly, helpful and prompt which worked well for us as we were going to a show. At home I am used to being able to order wine by the half litre which is not an option in US unless the restaurant sells half bottles of wine. This restaurant has a size called the "quartino" which is roughly a glass and a half, a nice option. We shared the appetizer of truffle risotto croquettes & macaroni and cheese fitters with chile sauce. Who does not like deep fried carbs? For our main course we had the pan roasted organic chicken and angus hanger steak with spinach salad. Both of the main courses were good. Portions of both were larger. I ordered the salad and could not finish it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate there on a very quiet January evening - a party of 4. The salmon maincourse was nasty, the vegetables with it completely inedible. The 'aged burger' was very small, the other maincourses were ok. The Chocolate mousse desert was the worst ......... it tasted strongly of onion. The service was cool at best and very very slow. And this was not a cheap diner, our bill for 4 came to $224, we wont be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballydoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quick and lively lunch service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Food is average but the menu options offer a variety from every other lunch place in Midtown, which these days means a menu of paninis, chopped salads, and creamy soups.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank UptownScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Clad in scaffolding at the moment, it doesn't look much at first glance, but the Cinema Brasserie is a really nice place.Great ambience, friendly and attentive waiters - you may even end up talking to other customers, the place feels so comfortable. I like the fact that they remember I've eaten there before, a few days previously. You can have Yellow Fin Tuna for $28, Vegetable Risotto for $16.95 or an Aged Burger (better than it sounds) for $19.95. We tried all of those things and enjoyed the lot. And the high-speed internet is free (something of a hobby-horse of mine).
Tip: don't sit too close to the door during these chilly days: the wind whips in a bit, especially if someone holds the door open a while.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great lunch find”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My friend and I spent the day in the city going from Grand Central to Bryant Park to Rockefeller center-we decided on a late lunch/early dinner and as we walked around and talked we kept an eye out for a place to stop and eat and this was the first place we happened upon-the menu outside sounded good so we decided to eat there. We split the Penne Caprese and Vegetable Rissoto-we enjoyed both but the Penne Caprese was so good I could have eaten another plateful by myself! Since we were there between the lunch and dinner crowd we basically had the place to ourselves and the service was great, but we were the only table I could see. The atmosphere was nice and the prices were very resonable for NYC-we expected to pay much more. I'd definitely return next time I'm in that part of NYC-the penne caprese alone is worth another trip back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cutie4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema Brasserie also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing