We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“absolutely no service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of YourStay MidTown Apartments

YourStay MidTown Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YourStay MidTown Apartments
Ranked #429 of 477 Hotels in New York City
clearwater, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely no service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2005

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Service was unavailable. The attitude when a question was asked was inappropriate.

There were not enough towels, soap, toilet paper or sheets. The pullout couch was so lumpy you could not sleep on it. The alarm clock and microwave did not work properly.

There was no dishsoap, sink in bathroom leaked. We never received a receipt to show what we paid and when we left the office was locked and there was no place to leave a key.

The phone number on the website is incorrect and when the office was told they were unable to locate the website to check this out.

The phone in the room kept getting calls for people other than us and they continued to leave messages.

If we had been able to get a refund we would have checked into another hotel where there were services.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    4
    4
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

While this is a lovely location, beware of the nonexistent customer service. God forbid you ask for an extra towel or a clean sheet for your room--the front desk people will look as if they've never heard such a crazy request. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 pm & we had to wait 1/2 an hour for it. Our kitchenette had roaches as well. To top it off, the blinds in the room weren't anchored & fell on my head! Needless to say, there was no sympathy for my bloodied head from the front desk or the national "customer care" number. Only the hardiest travelers should attempt this location . . .

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2005

reading mixed reviews about this apartment/hotel, we were concerned about potential problems. When we arrived and saw the room, all was well. A large studio, modern decorations. Comfortable bed and pull out couch with comfortable and clean sheets and pillows. Basic but clean washroom and decent kitchen, also very clean with modern appliances. The studio room was very large and it easily accommodated us (3 good friends who were interested in shopping, gallery going etc. I think that it would be perfect for a family of four (but no larger). We may have lucked out and been assigned one of the better rooms (it was on the top floor of the apartment building). The check-in on the 2nd floor of the Herald Towers apartment building is a bit dodgy, but with the savings, if you're a relatively self sufficient person, that should not concern. The Herald Towers apartment building itself is quite decent and you feel like you're staying in a relatively upscale NYC apartment building (there is security at the entrance). All in all, a good experience. I would stay here in future but would still have reservations about getting a substandard room on another floor, (from reading the reviews).

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.I.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2005

Had some reservations about staying here from other reviews, however all such reservations evaporated the minute we entered the apartment. (19th floor) All clean and very acceptable, kitchenette with fridge, cooker and microwave, fully equipped. Lounge area great with tv/dvd. Seperate bathroom.We had two kids with us and got on just fine. Location unbeatable, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

Before i left for my trip I didnt know what to expect by reading some of the reviews on here. I was actually rather scared. When we arrived we came across the fact that the check in desk isnt on the first floor its on some other floor. The hall ways were also stuffy. But when we got to our room it was nice and cool. We rented a one bedroom with living room and kitchen. It was nice. Its not a hotel but nice. It had dishes and silverware, a tv with dvd and vhs, and a radio. The bedroom bed was a bit hard but tolerable. But on the other hand the sofa bed was really uncomfortable. We even took out the matress and put it on the floor but the matress is uncomfortable. The locations is also very great! literally steps from the metro. I enjoyed to the place. Hope you do to!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

We were forced to stay here during an emergency housing situation -- so we weren't tourists, and therefore thought we could put up with some of the items brought up in the lackluster reviews.

BIG MISTAKE

The place smelled of smoke, and everything had a slightly funky film on it. By the second night we were sleeping on top of the covers and using our own towels.

You know when you were 21 and didn't care where you passed out at 4AM? This is one of those places. Except here you are out $200 and you aren't heading back to the dorm the next day.

All of this would have been acceptable if the place was sold at "flop house pricing" -- but it isn't, and as its marketed, it's truly deceptive.

We ended leaving early and dropping another $250 a night for a CLEAN room. If we were here on a trip we would be incensed, but as we were locals we shrugged it off. Unless I was planning on jamming 5 frat brothers into a room and being blurry eyed all week (which from the looks of the other guests thats who stays here) I would avoid.

NOT WORTH IT. SMELLY AND UNKEMPT.

One good thing -- staff guys were pretty cool, and they kept and held our reservation as requested.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2005

I must admit that I was a little skeptical checking in, as the check-in office was just two guys with a cell phone and a bunch of keys sitting in a room. Otherwise, this was a really great hotel. The studio apartment was HUGE (for NYC standards) with a really nice cable TV, DVD, CD player. The linens were clean as was the entire apartment. Great location with very little street noise at night.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Oakwood at 6th Avenue
Oakwood at 6th Avenue
#358 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Midtown
The Gregory
The Gregory
#257 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#302 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#175 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YourStay MidTown Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YourStay MidTown Apartments

Property: YourStay MidTown Apartments
Address: 50 West 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YourStay MidTown Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Yourstay Midtown Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing