We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to do”

Gyu-Kaku Times Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku Times Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #493 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 8th and 9th Ave
Description: This is a new Gyu-Kaku restaurant in New York city, in addition to the ones in the East Village and Mid-Town that you already have listed.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE place to do”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

What can i say ?good meat , amazing rice , excellent service and Damn generous . For 2 80 dollar with 2 cocktail , 2 big beer , 3 starters , a big choice of meat and Fish as main and a funny dessert . Amazing place realy

Helpful?
Thank MrsLovett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    80
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We ordered the Sakura set for four plus the salmon app and one order of Japanese sausage. After tax, the check was only $77. We didn't order drinks since it came with mimosas. Couldn't be happier!

Helpful?
Thank MrsLoh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent restaurant
Great barbecue
Excellent value
Great place
I would recommend.
Would go back any day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A fun food experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife booked a reservation for 12 here for her mom's 70th Birthday. We arrived on time and they had us seated within 5 minutes. The waitress serving us was really nice but she kept forgetting parts of our orders. I guess that is to be expected with such a large party but it did seem to happen way too often. Still she was really nice and corrected any issues quickly.

The food was fantastic. High quality cuts of meat. My kids had a blast grilling their food on the open flame. We only had 2 grills for a party of 12 which probably wasn't enough. I waited to cook my food so that others could cook theirs. I'd say that 4 per grill would be about right. 6 was just too many for that small of a grill.

Overall everyone had a great time and left full. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike89t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So good we went there twice in two days!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to the restaurant during Happy Hour on the first day and liked it so much, we returned there for dinner the next day.

During our first visit, we ordered the Hanabi set. We enjoyed everything except the basil chicken so on our second visit, we went a la carte, trying their spicy tuna volcano and chicken garlic noodles, both of which we liked. Make sure you order the beef tongue! And the green tea Mille crepe was soooo good!

Service was highly attentive. The waiters and waitresses constantly topped up ice water for us and removed used plates and bowls.

Our bill for the a la carte meal was significantly higher so do bear that in mind if you, like us, tend to order lots of dishes.

Having been to Gyu-kaku in Singapore, we find Gyu-Kaku Times Square much better value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeHYw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing