We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area
Dining Area
Laundry & Recycle Closet
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Exterior & Entrance to the 2-Bedroom Apartment
Exterior & Entrance to the 2-Bedroom Apartment
Front Stairs
Exterior
View to the West of City College
Entrance to Studio Apartment
Entrance to Studio Apartment
View to the East
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Valeria T
Level 2 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It's a great apartment!! First of all, it's beautiful and so is the neighborhood. Subway is on the corner, and it takes you everywhere in half an hour tops. I traveled with my family, so we were 5 and there was room for everybody. Beds are great! The apartment has everything you could possibly need: shampoo, soap, blow dryer, laundry, sheets, towels, everything in the kitchen (including food to prepare breakfast!). Wifi it's fast, and it worked perfectly almost all the trip.
We absolutely LOVED the apartment.
We'll definitely choose it again for another trip to beautiful, beautiful NYC! We absolutely recommend this place if you're traveling to NYC.
Thank you Fred & Kakuna!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Valeria and her family were awesome guests! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting them and we would welcome their return to NYC at any time. You couldn't ask for better guests and we're happy to contribute to their wonderful time in our city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Fantastic apartment/great value for money.”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This amazing Harlem apartment was a brilliant find and excellent value for money. Located just north of Central Park and a 2 minute walk from the nearest Metro station, it was an ideal base for our 10 day visit to New York.
Spacious and extremely well appointed, it had everything and more for a comfortable and stylish stay. Much more economical and convenient than staying in a hotel, Kakuna and her family are also incredibly welcoming and gracious.
I would heartily recommend staying here and will definitely book again if returning to New York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed having Lizzie and her husband with us to launch the New Year. They were wonderful guests: thoughtful, considerate and easy to communicate with. They covered a lot of ground in NYC but still managed to build in rest and relation time. It was a pleasure to host them and we would welcome the opportunity to do so again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuheng L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent thanks giving at the apartment with friends, it was clean, nice and homy. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is fully equipped. The host was very nice and helpful, they even left eggs, bread, butter, milk and orange juices. The subway station was literally steps away, too, so you get to experience the richness of Harlem while easily having access to transportation all the way to down town. Definitely would recommend.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Amazing guest! It was a pleasure to host Yuheng. He was a gracious and thoughtful guest who will always be welcomed back to our quiet corner of Harlem/NYC in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo-Anne L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home to Harlem!”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Hotels, bed and breakfasts, My husband and I had done that so opted for an apartment in New York. Kakuna supplied perfect instructions on how to get to her place, After a misunderstanding with the cleaning lady about which place we were staying in ( there is also a studio apartment downstairs) we loved our quiet street and enjoyed being a 'local'
Recommended eating places and supermarkets were handy along with details all,about the subway and we used the subway map supplied before getting our own. The station is a two minute walk and we were in downtown in about 25 mins. The first morning we opened the door to find bread, butter milk and orange juice for our use. Everything was clean and we had no trouble with noise. Would recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and able to cook meals
Liked least: Not enough light in the kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LainyS83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful well located apartment with wonderful hosts. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to New York. Absolutely loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real pleasure to stay in”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

This apt. more than exceeded out expectations. It is clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Kakuna was a kind and attentive host and helped us feel comfortable and well taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: responsive,helpful and well organized owner of the property
Liked least: I have some chemical sensitivities and the cleaning chemicals were not scentless
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce3404
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Our Home Away From Home”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
16
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been spending a month in NYC for the past 8 years. Until we discovered Kakuna and Fred's lovely apartment last year, we'd moved from place to place, never staying anywhere more than one month despite our goal of finding a single place we could return to year after year. While some of the other places were OK, we often found places that did not live up to the photos or descriptions. Kakuna and Fred's place completely exceeds expectations. This building was gut-renovated several years ago and is almost like moving into a new house, with a wonderfully historical exterior in a quiet (for NY) neighborhood. Several things to note: The bedrooms are in the back of the unit, so street noise is not a factor (perhaps it goes back to the horse and buggy days, but most NYC apartments have bedrooms overlooking the street--trust me, unless you sleep like Rip Van Winkle, you don't want that). This apartment has a washer, dryer and dishwasher--practically unheard of in a rental. In fact, we've never had either of those appliances in any rental until we came to this one. I could go on and on about how gracious Kakuna and Fred are as hosts, but I'll let you read the other reviews which pretty much say it all. I love the easy access to the subway (if you know what you're doing and time it right, you can be in the theater district in 15-20 minutes). There's a great Whole Foods with wine shop just a few subway stops away and the usual assortment of local markets just a few minutes walk away. For the adventurous, there are numerous African, Caribbean and soul food restaurants in the area. HIghest recommendation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing