We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home to Harlem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area
Dining Area
Laundry & Recycle Closet
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Master (Queen) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Junior (Full/Double) Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Exterior & Entrance to the 2-Bedroom Apartment
Exterior & Entrance to the 2-Bedroom Apartment
Front Stairs
Exterior
View to the West of City College
Entrance to Studio Apartment
Entrance to Studio Apartment
View to the East
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jo-Anne L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home to Harlem!”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Hotels, bed and breakfasts, My husband and I had done that so opted for an apartment in New York. Kakuna supplied perfect instructions on how to get to her place, After a misunderstanding with the cleaning lady about which place we were staying in ( there is also a studio apartment downstairs) we loved our quiet street and enjoyed being a 'local'
Recommended eating places and supermarkets were handy along with details all,about the subway and we used the subway map supplied before getting our own. The station is a two minute walk and we were in downtown in about 25 mins. The first morning we opened the door to find bread, butter milk and orange juice for our use. Everything was clean and we had no trouble with noise. Would recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and able to cook meals
Liked least: Not enough light in the kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LainyS83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful well located apartment with wonderful hosts. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to New York. Absolutely loved it!

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real pleasure to stay in”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

This apt. more than exceeded out expectations. It is clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Kakuna was a kind and attentive host and helped us feel comfortable and well taken care of.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: responsive,helpful and well organized owner of the property
Liked least: I have some chemical sensitivities and the cleaning chemicals were not scentless
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce3404
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Our Home Away From Home”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
16
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been spending a month in NYC for the past 8 years. Until we discovered Kakuna and Fred's lovely apartment last year, we'd moved from place to place, never staying anywhere more than one month despite our goal of finding a single place we could return to year after year. While some of the other places were OK, we often found places that did not live up to the photos or descriptions. Kakuna and Fred's place completely exceeds expectations. This building was gut-renovated several years ago and is almost like moving into a new house, with a wonderfully historical exterior in a quiet (for NY) neighborhood. Several things to note: The bedrooms are in the back of the unit, so street noise is not a factor (perhaps it goes back to the horse and buggy days, but most NYC apartments have bedrooms overlooking the street--trust me, unless you sleep like Rip Van Winkle, you don't want that). This apartment has a washer, dryer and dishwasher--practically unheard of in a rental. In fact, we've never had either of those appliances in any rental until we came to this one. I could go on and on about how gracious Kakuna and Fred are as hosts, but I'll let you read the other reviews which pretty much say it all. I love the easy access to the subway (if you know what you're doing and time it right, you can be in the theater district in 15-20 minutes). There's a great Whole Foods with wine shop just a few subway stops away and the usual assortment of local markets just a few minutes walk away. For the adventurous, there are numerous African, Caribbean and soul food restaurants in the area. HIghest recommendation!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewed May 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
7
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washinton DC
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Argentina
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing