We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great NYC budget hotel for solo traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #370 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great NYC budget hotel for solo traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in early June 2014. I had a full room, which came with one double bed. It was very small, but I was travelling alone so this size was fine. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There's an iron and small ironing board in a small closet, along with a safe. The walls were very thin - there was someone with a cold in the room next to me who I heard cough loudly all night long. I suggest bringing earplugs for the thin walls and the traffic noise (it's a budget-friendly hotel in NYC, you should expect traffic noise). The hotel is in a great location. I walked to a number a great restaurants and bars in the Tribeca area in about 10 minutes. It's also located next to great shopping on Broadway. The entrance to the Canal Street station is literally steps from the front door of the hotel, which was extremely helpful the day that I stepped out of the subway to discover it had started to rain on my way back to the hotel from Central Park. The front desk staff was courteous and gave me a map of the city and helped me with directions. If you're looking for a budget friendly place to stay in NYC in the Tribeca area, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    152
    71
    33
    28
See reviews for
39
155
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

At least once a year we visit NYC. Always stay in Chinatown. The Bleu is at the top of the middle hotels in price. On balance a good value.

Our upper floors were quiet. Completely redone 18 months ago. The room designs and workmanship are outstanding. Some rooms are smallish but the larger rooms are excellent.

We'll be back.

Easy access for cabs and the Subway. A short walk to Little Italy.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K6KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have a tiny room on the 2nd floor. Strangely cut up, with a large bath, tiny sleeping area, and long, narrow passage between the two. The elevator is directly behind our heads, Canal St traffic going all night long out the window. We can hear every car horn, motor scooter--even conversation on the street with the windows closed.

Hotel staff has been very friendly and helpful.

Great location, very close to Subway and great SoHo shopping. Lots of restaurants in easy walking distance.

Just bring ear plugs!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank featherfan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

What is most important about this hotel is its great location. Subway just at the Tribeca's door:). Broadway street with its hectic life just on the corner. Chinatown where we went for breakfast. The place itself is simple, with a lift and a vending machine in the basement. No breakfast served. The staff is helpful and kind. The room was really small, but clean. The bathroom quite small as well, but clean and modern ( the only thing that bothered me was the curtain at the shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a not too expensive place, not fancy but very well located well this is the place for you! I was allowed to check in earlier as I had arrived 2 hours prior to check in! Once in the room I hated it, the air was stiff, room smelled funny and didn't feel very clean! Went to see concierge to tell him that I was not staying in the hotel and needed to find another place! House keeping manager came to see me and was very very nice and welling to please us! So he offered us another room on a higher floor ( it was executive king by the way) room felt much much cleaner, smelled better. What I don't like is that you can't control the air in your room so we had to call them every night to turn on the ax otherwise the air gets really stiff and uncomfortable! Overall great great service, friendly personnel, very comfortable beds and wonderful location if you want to be in the vibrant soho! If you are on a budget but still want to enjoy a clean friendly hotel go to this place

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Small but clean rooms, good location, friendly person, excellent price / quality
Ideal location between central and battery parc, near the very nice neighborhood soho
Lots of street noise, but that's normal for New York, right?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is one of the few in this area where I wanted to stay. It looks like an old place that was updated. The entrance btw is hard to find- not well signed.

The room is small with two single beds- when did you last see THAT? The room was frigid and you cannot control the temperature which is controlled from downstairs by the desk for the entire floor. The room smelled a bit of either cheap perfume or some kind of persistent airfreshener- it wore off presently.
Wall paper was stained.

Other than this it was ok- sleeping was fine.

I don't think I would stay there again but it is close to a vibrant SOHO shopping and looking area so if the above isn't too bad then go for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#235 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
SoHo
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
#349 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#374 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#332 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#291 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#314 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Property: SoHo Garden Hotel
Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing