We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel”
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #369 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The room was tiny even by NYC standards. The thermostat was set on 79 and could not be changed. I spent all night opening the window to cool off and then closing it when it got too cold. The room was so small that to open and close the window, I had to stand on the bed. They had taken something off the wall and just left the torn up wallpaper in place. My room was supposedly a deluxe and the rate was $350/night, but you can do better in NYC especially in Tribeca. Anyway spend a little more and stay somewhere that's not a hovel. See my photos and consider whether you really want to spend $400 (after taxes) on this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank byryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 427 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. The hotel is very easy to find. We used the details on there website and found it with no problem at all. The location was excellent we thought. Canal street tube station is on the hotels door step and this seems to be quite a main hub with many connections etc. good position between uptown and downtown, which made both accessible fairly quickly. We went to a Brooklyn nets game at the Barkley Center one night, on the way back we got the train as usual, we managed to pick a trail(luckily) that went direct to canal street and did not stop at any other stops on route! This was excellent service. Again, this back up why I think canal street must be a main hub for trains.

On arrival, the reception staff were very welcoming. We arrived early and weren't sure if our room would be available but it was so we were very pleased about that. The room was tiny as I'm sure you know from the rest of the reviews. The bedroom is very very small, it done ok though. There was nowhere to leave our bags etc so we were constantly living out of our suitcases and tripping over our stuff, which is quite annoying but hey, it's NYC!,the bathroom was adequate size- no complaints, it was small but had everything that you need and we could use everything comfortably. The room was very clean, no complaints at all.

The reception was manned 24 hrs and day and felt secure. We happily left our valuables in the hotel. We have been to other places before and would have a lot of trust in places. We stayed on the 3rd floor (I think) our room looked out on to canal street and there was not much notice heard from the street. We had excellent nights sleep.

Check out with the hotel went smoothly too, the staff were lovely. There were very nice and helped us out with maps / directions when we were leaving to go out each day.

The hotel is right beside china town - outside the hotel to the right about 500m. Soho is also a couple of blocks in front of the hotel which was ok for some shopping.

Hopefully, I return to NYC in the future and if I do I would most definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes canal street is noisy . I stayed on second floor and then fifth - higher definitely better. But with earplugs not a problem. The heating is strange and it's hot but we left our window open during the day and if the bathroom has a window that at night as well. We had a twin and there was a small wardrobe and we had two big cases open as well. Beds really comfy and bedding good. Perfect location to walk to soho , little Italy, Chinatown and financial district ( century 21 ). Seven 11 round corner for essentials and lots of other delis etc nearby. We asked re the airport and they were upfront re the car being more expensive but you get a local driver who avoids rush hour main routes . We got to jfk peak rush hour in under an hour. Overall we would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I can not believe this hotel has 3 stars. We had the smallest and most expensive hotel we have ever had in NY. There is no place for your clothes and no room on the floor for an open suitcase. How can that be called a deluxe room? The cleaning during our stay was non-existing. Only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

TriBeCa Blu is a no-fuss hotel on Canal street. So not having room service, a mini-fridge, or cable didn't bother me. The rooms are tiny as well, but it was just me so that wasn't the end of the world.

The disconcerting incidents came when I learned that they regulate the air temperature and you can't adjust it. It was set at 77 in November which was very warm. The room did have a window, which I had to open for air flow, but then I heard the street noise all night.

The tipping point was when I called down for a taxi to the airport and the clerk said they charge a $25 fee to call a car. That and they charge 20% extra if you want to pay by credit card.

How ludicrous. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirstytraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

You know that when the hotel has earplugs with the hotelname on, ther is som noise in the room. All rooms front Canal street, which is noisy 24/7. Either sleep in the noise or bring/ask for earplugs.

The noisy street als means the location is interesting on the corner of Canal street/Broadway. Close to chinatown and little Italy and also walking dintance to downtown Manhatten and Soho. Metrostation is right outside the door.

The room was not spacious, but clean. Main problem was noise. Tha halls outside the room, need som maintanance.

Service was for the mort part very friendly. It's a small hotel, With only one in the reception most of the time. One of the 3-4 different People we met working at the reception, was not very friendly or helpful. A pity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#394 of 470 in New York City
33 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#298 of 470 in New York City
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#411 of 470 in New York City
154 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#375 of 470 in New York City
278 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#185 of 470 in New York City
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $100 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing