We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back again in a heartbeat!”
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #371 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will go back again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Tribeca Blu from Aug. 23-26, 2013. I must say, you should need to know your main purpose of why you are in NYC. If you are looking for a romantic setting or have small children, this hotel may not be suitable for you. Our main purpose was to explore Manhattan the best we can in 3 days and I'm glad to say we did. The hotel met our expectations, the room was clean but small however, the bed was extremely comfortable and that was an important factor in order for us to get a good night's sleep. Yes it is very noisy outdoors which you can clearly hear when in the room - but we didn't mind the city's hustle and bustle - after all, you are in Canal Street!

This hotel is located just 5 steps away from the subway, fast food restos (McDonalds, Burger King, Subway, etc.), Chinese Restaurants, clothing stores, banks, coffee shops and just a block away from Little Italy. For the price, great staff who were all very friendly and helpful to us and location, we will go back here again.

Tip: Tribeca Blu to LGA - you can take the N train all the way to Astoria and take the M60 Bus (took about 1 hr. and 15 mins). Next time we would take a taxi at Astoria to LGA (or vice versa) which will cut down the transit time to 50 mins. Originally by cab from LGA to the hotel, it took us 45 mins @ $50 (with toll) + tip. By subway + bus ($15 total).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    173
    78
    35
    29
See reviews for
45
167
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My stay at the Tribeca Blu was fine, except for one thing, the air conditioning. The location was great, very convenient for getting around the city. We checked in late in the afternoon. The room was a little warm, so I lowered the thermostat while showering and changing for the evening. When we returned to the room later that night, it was absolutely sweltering. I called the front desk and spoke to Ernesto, who said something about the a/c being controlled by them. That another room had called earlier complaining that it was too cold so they turned it off. Honestly, I have never been in any kind of hotel in which each room does not control its own temperature. I asked for another room, and was told that the hotel was full. I called several more times, and I asked Ernesto to come up to the room to see what I was talking about. He promised to come but never did. I fell asleep waiting for him. We awoke in the morning to a hot, stuffy room, again called the front desk, and heard again about how the hotel controls the air conditioning. I heard this again when I asked the front desk when checking out. Seriously? I will be contacting Customer Support about this. It made what should have been a great stay, an uncomfortable experience.

Room Tip: A higher floor may be quieter. Make sure you verify that the A/C works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phrozen799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is seriously one of the worst hotels. It's a huge rip-off. Reservation/booking process was misleading because they hadn't charged me yet, although they asked for my credit card. NO AC. Room can fit just the bed, and you standing right beside it. Bathroom filthy. Front-desk is rude. Street is always noisy due to traffic; rooms have no sound-proofing.

Pay $20-50 more and go somewhere better like the Tribeca Grand. TRUST ME.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemo9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel this week-end. Honestly, this wasn't our first choice, but we had a problem with our booking in another hotel and we were offered an executive room at the Tribeca Blu Hotel instead.

First of all, I have to say that there is no problem with the hotel itself. Our room was pretty spacious, modern, and clean. The bed was comfortable, though the pillows were a bit hard to my liking. The hotel is also well located and really close to a subway station, and the staff is very nice and helpful.

That being said, however, we did not have that good of an experience, and that is why I can't rate this hotel any better. Canal Street just below is REALLY noisy, and every single room of the hotel give onto the street. We had a hard time sleeping because of that (horns being aggressively honked at 3 in the morning, shouting traffic agent at 7 in the morning on saturday, to name just a few examples). I mean, unless you are a very sound sleeper or if you don't mind sleeping with ear plugs, you shoudn't go there. We won't go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel met all our expectations. It is near Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho for shopping. The subway is literally 10 steps away.
Our room was very clean and the people at the reception were very helpful. Not the mention we rate of our room was very reasonable.
Canal Street is very busy so be sure to ask for a room in the upper floors. We were at the 9th floor so the noise did not bother us that much.
We will stay at this hotel again should we visit New York in the future and have no problems recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelh321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I lived in the city for 15 years but hadn't been back for quite awhile. Brought some of the family and we had a suite (two rooms) on the top floor. The rooms had unusually high ceilings, brand new furniture and amenities (flat screens, for example) and everything was either new or not even worn in yet. What we didn't expect was the view looking west, which was simply spectacular. Probably not available in rooms on the lower floors, so think about requesting the top floor. The only drawback (space is at a premium in big cities) was no closets and no hooks or hanging areas for jackets, coats, etc. We managed.

The management will probably get that sorted out because the people at the front desk were all friendly, helpful and had a terrific attitude. They knew the area well and made some helpful suggestions. In keeping with the prices, this is a no-frills hotel. No restaurant, no room service, no concierge but the lobby was spacious and almost elegant.

Canal Street is what it is; noisy, dirty and crowded with an assortment of people, animals, street sellers, panhandlers, alien beings and (at night) creatures of the night - the usual downtown New York scene. It's not dangerous because it's too crowded but it is a bit of a chore to get to the subway (1 block) or other mass transit. The chances of finding a cab, much less an unoccupied cab, are low. Traffic is a big issue and there are garages but many will be full. You can park on the street but you shouldn't take the risk. The whole area is a challenge but it is one of the most diverse and fascinating parts of the city. Art galleries and new restaurants of every type are all within two or three blocks. You can buy almost anything in the entire world at a discount nearby. It's a great adventure and worth a visit. We'd go back in a New York minute.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor or the highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTA102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
#353 of 468 in New York City
108 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,280 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#375 of 468 in New York City
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#354 of 468 in New York City
467 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#431 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 468 in New York City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Property: SoHo Garden Hotel
Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing