We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hostel - don't get tricked”
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #365 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stay away from this property which is marketed by booking.com as a hotel ***. It's not, service, facilities, size of room and comfort is more akin to a hostel. If that's what you want, book a hostel in NYC and save some bucks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Likmi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi, we are truly sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay here at TriBeca Blu hotel. As one of the fairly new hotels here in NYC our intensions are to be the best that we can and are working towards that goal. We would hope that in the near future you will consider staying with us again.

Guest Relations
Brian Urraca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for SoHo Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 417 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you travel for tourism in NY, this hotel is perfect! Do not read the bad reviews... Yeah, they are important for someone that is on business there and really want a luxury hotel. Otherwise, this is the place for you! Very well located, lower Manhattan, 15 minutes walk to WTC, 10 minutes subway ride to Times Square (Q line), subway station literally 2 steps away from the hotel entrance, very safe neighbourhood even for a walk at 11:00PM, extremely clean rooms (indeed very small - but who needs space when you are in NY to visit, not to spend time in the hotel room) with everything that you need, great helpfull staff, everything for a low price for a Manhattan hotel. The only problem there is the noise from the street, we stayed at the 8th floor and still the noise was loud, I am a light sleeper and even though I had earplugs I could still hear the noise. But if you visit a lot during the day, you will be so tired in the night, that the noise won't even matter. We really recommend this hotel and for sure we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose rooms at 7th, 8th or 9th floor. They say the noise from the street is diminished on upper lev...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter_ATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hello! We are so happy to hear about your stay here at TriBeCa Blu Hotel. Our location is one of the best for your regular NYC Tourist, very easy to get around this Big Apple subway station right outside our door steps makes it even better. We really are looking forward to seeing you again. Take care

Guest Relations
Brian Urraca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a business traveler who stays in one major hotel chain exclusively, I was not expecting much from a non-branded hotel. I chose the property based on location and price. They were much less expensive than the hotels I usually stay in. I was treated with kindness and hospitality from every member of the staff and the manager went out of his way to turn me into a return patron. He was successful. I will be returning time and time again. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from jun 17th to 19th for over 200 usd/night. Although the location is good, the metro is in front of the hotel and Chinatown and Little Italy are walking distance. The room is renovated and clean. However i got a very tiny double room where there was no storage place so that there was no possibility to unpack the suitecase. The window on the 3rd floor was not soundproof (this is New York...), the bed was large enough for two small persons and only 1.90m long and all but one receptionists were the most unfriendly personnel I had in a hotel for a long time. The price was dedinitly overcharged for quality of services. You should only book this hotel if you are not given another choice.

Room Tip: Stay at another place
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoxidaRenens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are very sorry to hear about your stay here at TriBeCa Blu. As one of the most recent hotels in the area our goal is to be the best we can to make our entire guest feel just at home. Just steps away from the Subway station (yellow line) makes our location one of the Best in NYC that’s what we achieve. We really hope you give TriBeCa Blu a second chance in your next travels to NYC.

Guest Relations
Brian Urraca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay for the second time at the TriBeCa Blu. The location is so so so good, subway stop right outside your door, and walking distance to SOHO, Brooklyn Bridge, west village and east village, as well as little Italy and Chinatown. The hotel is always so calm and quiet, perfect place to relax after a day exploring the big apple. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, the beds are so comfortable! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are excited to hear that this is your second stay here at TriBeCa Blu hotel. Being so close to so many areas like SoHo, Chinatown, Little Italy just to name a few makes our location one of the best in NYC. Only a few steps away from the Yellow Subway line makes it even better to travel around the Big Apple. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Guest Relations
Brian Urraca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to Soho, which is what I was looking for.
The staff were particularly friendly and made our stay very enjoyable and pleasant.
We were in New York for two weeks and by the end, it just felt like home.
The hotel is clean with all the amenities you would expect,
Highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillylyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseUrracaGM, Guest Relations Manager at SoHo Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at TriBeCa Blu. just walking distance from SoHo, TriBeCa, Little Italy, & Chinatown makes our location one of the best in NYC, trains right outside our door steps to take you anywhere you would like in the city. That’s what makes TriBeCa Blu Special. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. See you soon!

Guest Relations
Brian Urraca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 468 in New York City
137 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#400 of 468 in New York City
27 reviews
SoHo
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo
#354 of 468 in New York City
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,321 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#266 of 468 in New York City
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $109 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing