We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Review of Veatery

Veatery
Ranked #4,747 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am sad while I write this good review. I had dinner there last night and a sign was posted that they will close on October 20 for renovations. I hope this isn't a euphemism for closing forever because the food here is terrific. We had Shrimp Wonton soup, a shrimp summer roll and spare ribs. All their food is delicious. All the menu items are reasonably priced and the service is friendly and efficient. I really, really hope they will reopen. The sign said that they will reopen under a different name in December. My fingers are crossed that they do. I will miss this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“awsome curry!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

they have great food. i had the curry tau hu, a vegetarian curry with mushrooms, bamboo and lotus root. very very good.
i dont like the place inside so much so i had it to go. the spring rolls are very good also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EsaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We had food delivered from this NYC restaurant this week & we're awaiting another delivery tonight. We loved the shrimp summer rolls and sweet & sour shrimp soup. We loved our main dishes and Pho. Delivery comes quickly and it's all very delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Veatery”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good foods, atmosphere, and service in Midtown.
Authentic Vietnamese foods, reasonable prices, good decor/atmosphere, and great service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thaophan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vietmanese”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I frequent this establishment, the food is outstanding, service is very good. There are not many Vietnamese places that are reasonable, service oriented and outstanding food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZflyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veatery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Veatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing