We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home in NYC with an extremely comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A great home in NYC with an extremely comfortable bed”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms and a central (mid/down town) location at Manhattan. Having tried the Soho House Berlin last year, we thought about trying Soho House also in New York, and we were happy that we did so.

We had a “big” room and the rate for such a lot of space was significantly lower than others that we checked. The huge bed was extremely comfortable, and so was the rollaway bed for our son. Next to the bed was a good sitting area, a small dining table and on the other side a great lounging chair and a desk. The large bathtub was just opposite the bed. In the bathroom there were double sinks and separate rooms for the loo and the very good shower. Lots of great Cowshed products to use during our stay and also fluffy towels and comfortable bathrobes. Plenty of storage space for our luggage (and we had a lot with us). Mini bar really well stocked.

Not so good was the air condition (very noisy and we did not figure out how to turn it off without calling technical assistance) and the TV (technical difficulties at some times, was being fixed but then suddenly it did not work again). I also would have preferred a larger bathroom with the bath tub in the bathroom instead of next to the bed, even if it was a fun thing.

Our room was in the 3rd floor far away from the elevator and we found it to be quiet. Of course some noise from the street some times, but this is NYC. We slept really well.

We did not eat many meals in the hotel, but had one breakfast, one dinner and some room service snacks. All tasty food and quickly delivered both in restaurant and in room. Friendly personnel.

Housekeeping was excellent, but they forgot our rooms at turn down a couple of times which should not happen. Also only some days they made up the rollaway bed.

Concierge and front desk very friendly and helpful, but one noticed that this is more of a club for members than a hotel, we some times did not feel recognized as guests and were asked to check in several times, also after having stayed there many days already.

Location brilliant, in the Meatpacking district close to restaurants and quite a number of nice shops, and a short taxi ride from the rest of the city.

We would stay again and recommend the hotel in spite of the issues we experienced. It is a nice home for us during our holidays in New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODuckworth, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Musken,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write and provide your feedback. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Your comments have been taken on board and will help us continue to develop our services for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Oli Duckworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    44
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
23
98
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently had dinner at Soho House as a guest of a good friend I was visiting. He became a member while living in London, and now makes a lot of use of NYC's Soho House with his wife and two young kids (they love the roof-top pool and movie afternoons!). He took me up to the roof showing me around and it was crazy. (Cinco de Mayo was as good an excuse for excess as any, I guess!). We then went down a flight and had dinner at a great window table, sitting in over-stuffed-almost-shabby chairs. The menu was limited but nice, the food was good, and the waitstaff very friendly and knowledgeable. There was a poker table at one end of the dining room with a very interesting looking game going on. Some of the players, a mix of women and men (some with small plates of food), looked like they'd been playing for quite awhile! Soho House is an interesting, laid back club...some of it affected and studied, but some of it genuinely unique and fun.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Soho House and we couldn't be happier with our stay. The Soho House is unique because it is a private club. The location is superb. The rooms are beautiful and furnished with every imaginable amenity. The food was delicious and the buffet brunch was by far the best we had experienced.
The pool area was fantastic and felt an european flair.
I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at SH New York. For a short stay/biz trip it is fantastic - you don't need to go anywhere else! Rooms so well equipped that means you can pack super light. Probably the best in-room personal bar I have seen at any hotel. Only frustration was the Nespresso machine was broken, but morning coffee was only two floors away. Great venue, good food and drinks. Must go back on vacation....

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Classy design. Great location. Fantastic waiting and backroom staff. Very good food. Good drinks. A little overpriced. Then sunk below the waterline by some (not all) absolutely conceited - verging on the deranged - staffing front of house. There may a be certain psyche that needs to be abused and alternately (fake) loved by bi-polar wannabe beautiful people but if they could stay in LA, Dubai and Moscow that would be great. Then we can have classy mature and self aware front of house staff. Boom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

this jewel of a property is located in the heart of the meatpacking district. restaurants, lounges, shops, walking tours, people watching, are all right there. the soho house has an amazing staff which cares deeply for its guests. the rooms are sensational: well appointed, so comfortable, great bathrooms, great electronics. the sixth floor area is a great place to be with friends and colleagues, and offers excellent food and drink throughout the day and evening. in season, the pool is great. i personally enjoy massage at the cowshed.

i stay at the soho house regularly and am never disappointed. i recommend it highly.

Room Tip: rooms 1-10 have recently been renovated and are amazing.....but..all of the rooms are amazing in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here over my birthday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Ideally located near great restaurants, shops and right beside The High-line, which was a pleasant find. Staff were attentive but not intrusive, rooms were loft style, stylish without trying too hard. Enjoyed a couple of long and lazy brunches reading the papers. Great breakfast buffet. Didn't find it pretentious in the slightest in fact very laid back, informal and relaxed. Roof top pool is a real gem offering great views over the city both day and night (gets packed!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,808 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#165 of 467 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Property: Soho House New York
Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing