We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow highly recommended - great location - great atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #304 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow highly recommended - great location - great atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is an expensive hotel/members club but if you are going to do it - do it this way. There are only 20 or so rooms and there are no words to describe the quality and detail. Equipped to an incredible standard. Baths in the middle of the room etc... All rooms provide all the cowshed products which are beautiful. Great location in mid town so ideally suited for both downtown and uptown - walkable.
Roof top bar with pool - but travelling in December wasn't tempted with the pool - although heated !!!
I would most definitely recommend soho house. They organised limousines to and from the airport , flowers in my room for when I arrived as it was my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    44
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
23
98
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights recently and cannot fault the place. Friendly staff, excellent food and lovely surroundings. The bed and bath were huge and the mini-bar was well stocked and classic. A big recommendation to the house cocktail as well, I now have serious withdrawal symptoms! Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is just a the perfect place for staying in NYC, we stayed for three nights in one of there BIG rooms!, the room and hotel is very clean and well kept, the staff are so polite and helpful, such a change from the normal british service!
The hotel is in a good location in the meatpacking district, its quiet and easily accessible by the subway or cab.
The food is great, good sized portions and so tasty.
Go to this hotel, its a real treat, spend the extra and enjoy the whole NYC experience in style

Room Tip: Go for the big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Marvellous. Had big room....lovely. Quality of end is spectacular. Soho House have nailed quality when it comes to the bed! We were on 3rd floor and it isn't noisy on this floor and the rooms have all been refurbished, friends were on 5th and moved to our floor as it was noisy....they were right under the bar area and said they could hear the conversations people were having in the bar when they were sleeping. They phoned reception and the staff moved them instantly.....so great service. Love the cowshed products. Person in the room next to us on our first night were like it like rabbits....sadly the walls aren't soundproofed....be warned! If I was trying to give some constructive comments, try and avoid rush hour bath times as the hot water tends to become closer to warm water.....would I come back and stay here again. Most certainly....!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has just been refurbished and it is a quiet floor. Try and get your room on this floor. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyPrimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Vincent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a great time at the Soho House. Very friendly staff and fun bar. We loved the High Line and it was great because we could walk around and do lots of stuff and come back to rest. The only thing I would say is that I hope the animal skin furniture is faux:) But the bath tub was sensational.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverShadow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just got back from Soho House NYC and had a great stay. I got caught up in Hurricane Sandy and the staff at the hotel were fantastic throughout.

I had room number 3, a Playhouse, which was one of the newly refurbished rooms on the 3rd floor. The room is enormous, the shower and bathroom excellent and the overall decor very cool and comfortable. A special mention also for the housekeeping team - they changed the sheets daily and made it feel as good as new every morning.

As the hotel was down town, it lost power in the hurricane. It was a couple of days before we could move to an uptown hotel and in this time the staff did an amazing job of keeping things going. On the night after the hurricane there were about 15 guests left in the hotel and the staff cooked up an amazing communal meal of steaks (cooked over an open fire) with loads of delicious side orders and salads and lots of bottles of red wine. We weren't charged for any of it. I bet that didn't happen in any other NYC hotels!

In summary - if you want the best sized rooms in down town NYC, great service, cool decor and a staff that really do care about their guests then this is the place for you.

My only negative is that my room had terrible sound insulation. I could hear most of what went on in the rooms on either side and the room above clearly had a wooden floor and so there was a lot of noise from people walking across it in heels. This stopped the experience being as relaxing as it should have been and is hopefully something they will address in the ongoing refurb.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have been recently refurbed and are furthest away from the bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurgerB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gorgeous hotel. The bar and restaurant are fantastic, cocktails wonderful, tasty breakfast. Beautiful rooms, clean, stunning and comfortable. Rooftop pool great. Location fantastic, really buzzy lively district with lots of great restaurants and bars. Downside - very noisy at night. New Yorker's seem to continuously honk the horns of the cars regardless of what time it is so most nights we were kept up by noise from outside. Very annoying when you have paid a lot of money for a hotel. I presume the windows were not sound proofed.
Service was generally great but with a few issues i.e. I stayed there for my 21st and my parents had arranged a bottle of champagne to be waiting in the room - no. My hairdryer broke and I had to request a replacement three times before it arrived. When we tried to question the noise levels at night we were told there was nothing they could do, basically to grin and bear it.
Overall it was fantastic but there are a few issues that need to be ironed out I think.

Room Tip: To the back of the hotel, try not to overlook the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDourneau, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Katie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that we do not take your service and noise complaints lightly and I will be sure to relay your concerns to our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in future.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Pierre Dourneau,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,811 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#124 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#85 of 467 in New York City
620 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#165 of 467 in New York City
1,405 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Property: Soho House New York
Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and TravelUp so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing