We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #325 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gorgeous hotel. The bar and restaurant are fantastic, cocktails wonderful, tasty breakfast. Beautiful rooms, clean, stunning and comfortable. Rooftop pool great. Location fantastic, really buzzy lively district with lots of great restaurants and bars. Downside - very noisy at night. New Yorker's seem to continuously honk the horns of the cars regardless of what time it is so most nights we were kept up by noise from outside. Very annoying when you have paid a lot of money for a hotel. I presume the windows were not sound proofed.
Service was generally great but with a few issues i.e. I stayed there for my 21st and my parents had arranged a bottle of champagne to be waiting in the room - no. My hairdryer broke and I had to request a replacement three times before it arrived. When we tried to question the noise levels at night we were told there was nothing they could do, basically to grin and bear it.
Overall it was fantastic but there are a few issues that need to be ironed out I think.

Room Tip: To the back of the hotel, try not to overlook the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDourneau, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Katie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that we do not take your service and noise complaints lightly and I will be sure to relay your concerns to our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in future.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Pierre Dourneau,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here as a special treat for the last night of our holiday in New York, the idea was to spoil ourselves for one evening. It was a Friday night, so the hotel was busy, but generally our experience was good, unfortunately only marred but the noise pollution.

The Good Points
- The staff are excellent, polite, friendly, helpful - you can't ask for much more, you're generally treated like royalty during your stay.
- Our room (on the recently refurbished 3rd floor) was beautiful, a huge bed, very modern fittings including a fantastic shower and roll top bath. Lots of mod cons - Ipod Dock, large flat screen tv, well stocked toiletries and mini-bar.
- The restaurant / bar on the 6th floor had a lovely feel to it, ample staff and well fitted out. The food was reasonably priced (mains around $20) and was served very promptly.

The Bad
- We were told on arrival that our room had recently been refurbished, however it's almost inconceivable that no one considered the location when refitting the windows, the noise from outside the room all night was pretty unbearable and kept us awake until around 4.30am. I know, I know, what should I have expected? We were there on a Friday night, the location is near loads of restaurants and bars, of course it's going to be noisy. But, the real nightmare was the large queue of taxis on the street outside our room honking their horns for hours on end (something that is gladly illegal in the UK!). It got so bad that it was almost comical. I know this is not the fault of the hotel, but if they are reading this I would strongly recommend fitting some decent double glazed windows to counteract the racket, surely this is advisable!

I guess that a lot of people use this hotel for it's position and go out all night in the surrounding area, so by the time they get back to their rooms it's already really late and the noise isn't such an issue. But, if like us, you want to spend time in the room when you've spent so much on it, then the noise will bother you for sure. I can't speak for what it's like on weekdays, but give this a miss on a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisAmablin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDourneau, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your post. I am truly sorry about your most recent Soho House NY experience. I take feedback like this very seriously and will be sharing it with the rest of my management team. That said, our front desk is available 24 hours a day to look into any noise complaints you may have.

I look forward to welcoming you back and please let me know if I can be of assistance with any future arrangements.

All the best,

Pierre Dourneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Arriving off a long flight from the UK I was pleased to discover I'd been given a free upgrade to an excellent 'big' room which was bigger than the apartment i used to rent in new york. A very comfy and funky room, friendly staff, a great bar, superb location and great choice of foods at breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownNutOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed at Soho House New York in May 2012 for a long weekend and I think it is safe to say you definitely get what you pay for!
Yes it is not cheap but the service was outstanding, the rooms were amazing and as for the power shower and cowshed toiletries...I could have stayed in the room for the whole weekend!
Breakfast was a buffet (complete with proper New York bagels!) and was excellent. Staff were always happy to help with directions and dinner reservations.
The rooftop pool is fab and made us feel very SATC.
If I could stay here everytime I come to New York I most definitely would! I will be saving for the next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nothing much to say about the Soho House... Everything was absolutely amazing from the warm welcome by Pia to the quality of the amenities, comfort of the mattress, atmosphere of the rooftop bar.
The room was the most original and beautiful ever with a gorgeous bathtub in front of the football-field-sized bed, powerful Bose sound system and funky amenities.
Breakfast was an experience and the candy lover that I am loved the candy bar of course.
I would eventually recommend extending the restaurant menu as after 3 meals there, I felt like I knew everything already and was not excited to try anything else, despite the delicious dishes served.
I don't even know why people would go anywhere else than in this "house"!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_LA602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Soho house earlier this year and i must say that for the price i was extremely disappointed. Especially with the room that we had on the library level - it was extremely small and cramped, definitely not what I was expecting from a Soho House.

The staff is very helpful and did recommend some great places to eat out, they were also sure to check we were members each time we entered the premises.

Breakfast is average, nothing special on that side. Sleep quality - make sure you bring yourself some ear plugs because you can hear people walking in and out of the elevators all night and helping down the corridor.

I wouldn't stay in this Soho house again, it would be good to obtain membership if we lived in nyc for a few reasons, its really nothing special though.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room next to an elevator, you'll never sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDourneau, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback as we are always striving to improve the service at Soho House NY. The Meatpacking District is a trendy area featuring night clubs that are very popular with hotel guests and members alike. That said, our front desk is available 24 hours a day to look into any noise complaints you may have.

I hope you had the opportunity to unwind by our rooftop pool or retreat to the Cowshed Spa where we feature a wide range of body care and beauty treatments. In addition to our Continental breakfast spread, our full breakfast menu is available to order, so I hope you will reconsider joining us for a meal.

Once again, we are grateful for any suggestions you may have. Please don't hesitate to contact me as we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Pierre Dourneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was a guest of a member of Soho House NYC club. As a result, I enjoyed the benefits of well mixed drinks on the uber cool rooftop deck on a hopping evening in the Meatpacking district. A very memorable experience, and one I relished, and will relish in memory.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Worldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#218 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#176 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 470 in New York City
1,041 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $275 - $1,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TravelUp so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing