We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Suited our needs perfectly while in NY!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 82 New York City B&B and Inns
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Suited our needs perfectly while in NY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in the McKenzie Suite which was on the 4th floor. It was an actual New York 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishwasher, toaster, dishes, silverware, glasses, cups, just everything you would need for your stay. We truly loved the neighborhood on the upper East Side right by Central Park. We stayed for 3 days and wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and other tourist attractions. Everything was just a cab or subway ride away. While the Stay the Night is old, that is what attracted us to it. If you want modern and all the amenities that come with staying in a hotel, then stay at a hotel. We knew we were going to be on the 4th floor with no elevator, but those stairs are really steep. Robin said he would put in an elevator right after we left!!! Ha, Ha! He was just joking of course, but seriously we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazy4mel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    17
    19
    12
See reviews for
41
56
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spoke to Robin at Stay the Night a week prior to my wife and I's visit to NYC to see an off-broadway show for her birthday and was offered the Barnes Suite. I provided my credit card number and was told I could not arrive for check-in until after 4 pm the day of our stay. We planned accordingly and spent the day touring the city. Upon arrival at 5 pm, we were told that our room was already occupied, that Robin had no record of our reservation or conversation, and all other rooms had been booked months in advance. Due to the 'mix up' and our show being only a couple hours away, we were forced to pay double our budgeted rate at the only hotel we could find (via smartphone) with availability. The last-minute forced change of plans lead to us arriving 20 minutes late to our show.

I would highly recommend any traveler booking with Stay the Night to require Robin to provide you with a confirmation number or email to formalize your reservation. I overlooked this step because of the seemingly intimate and casual approach to the reservation process when I spoke to Robin over the phone. I'm not sure if anyone else deals with reservations, but it appeared to be a one-man shop which suffers a bit from a lack of organization.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, Manager at Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
I never heard of this guy. I searched for a record of any conversation with him when he showed up- I never received an email or phone call from him, never received any of his credit card information, nothing, The guy just showed up out of the blue demanding a room that had been booked for months prior to someone else. Our reservation process is very thorough. Upon requesting a room, we place a temporary hold on the room until we receive the credit card information. We then send a copy of the bill to the Guest for them to look over, at which point (and not before) the reservation is set. Two weeks prior to their stay, we send a confirmation email to ensure that everything is going ahead as planned. In the event that I never receive the credit card information, I make several attempts to contact the guest before I cancel the hold on thed room. This guy simply never made a reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I booked a staycation here a few years ago and it was adequate. The room was dark and slightly shabby, but it was spacious and had everything we needed.

Pros
- Spacious
- Safe and quiet neighborhood
- Large window with view into the garden

Cons
- Furniture was somewhat shabby and slightly musty
- Broken tiles in bathroom and didn't feel very clean
- At night the room is very dark. The lighting is very low.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatelmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I just stayed the weekend here with my daughter and a friend. We absolutely loved it. Friendly and accommodating people, superb location, and rooms that exude character. If you need sterile, sound proof accommodations this is not for you. But I will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krc320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, VT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The guest rooms are nice, and the suites are spacious and fully equipped wigth fridge, microwave. kettle, iron, t.v., clock, telephone.

You can't do any better for those prices in Carnegie Hill.

Room Tip: The suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteGainsbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was desperate for a room under $125 in Manhattan over Veterans' Day weekend. Priceline had not even a one star for this price - including Brooklyn! Other websites had fleabag hotels that reminded me of the Bates Motel. Then i learned about Stay the Night via BedandBreakfast.com. I called and STN had a room for $75/night ($89.56 with tax) on the East side of town at a great location near the Met museum. This is a rooming house with NO SIGN on the front door - more like a speakeasy than a hotel. You have to call a cell number and meet the "super" (Frank) who will check you in. I booked Room One - and there were a couple catches: this was a 4th floor walkup with shared bathroom. Big deal - NOT. I was able to check in early (thanks, Frank!). I left my bag and Frank carried it upstairs so that when I came back a couple hours later it was safely tucked away. Room One was way nicer than the photo - it has a loft, coffee maker, desk with mirror, awesome cable TV service with many channels, and fridge. It is no smaller than rooms in the pricey NYC boutique hotels. Plus, it faces a courtyard with the sun streaming in and total quiet! Mattress was quite firm but I still slept fine. Linens were basic but neither threadbare nor dingy. Room and bathroom plus hallways were both very clean by NY standards (I grew up there). Self-checkout was a breeze. Frank is on call via cell phone if you need assistance. I am not sure Room One would be a great choice if you have loads of heavy luggage, but for me with my single light carry-on bag the 4 flights were quite manageable. And the savings were priceless. :))

Room Tip: Make sure you know which floor you're on. Prices vary and the other rooms and suites are more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCsquasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in the Madeline room - a wonderful, spacious (could appropriately call it huge) room with a king sized bed (that can be split into two twins) with a small refrig and microwave. Nice remodeled bathroom. It is a charming and (for New York) quiet room. Location is superb as it is walking distance to many great museums including the Met and Natural History and only 1/2 short block to Cental Park. Given current prices for hotels iyr room was reasonably priced. The owner was very helpful as we planned our visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#304 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#355 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#256 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Yorkville Suites
#34 of 82 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#30 of 82 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#20 of 82 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 E 93rd St, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128-0634
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanently closed. Thank you for the many great years! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing