We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for the price”
Review of Algonquin Hotel

Algonquin Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average hotel for the price”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in early June. The location of the hotel is fantastic. 5-15 mins walking distance from all the major attractions in the city. Check in at the hotel was quick and they let us check in early as per our email request. We were given a room on the top floor (12) it was a extremely small with literally no room to move round once you have laid out your luggage. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. The A/C was was very noisy and barely working which made it very difficult to sleep as it was baking hot during the days we were in NYC. The staff in general were pleasant and quite helpful. The resturaunt and bar are very highly priced so we opted not to dine there. Location is key for this hotel everything else is average and overpriced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kunal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    25
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay! Would come again!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently renovated so the place was spotless. Cannot complain about anything. Staff was attentive and very helpful whenever we needed it. Like other reviews, we avoided the bar and restaurant because of the high prices. Diner next store is great for breakfast at 1/3 the cost. Saw Matilda once.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights.
We were 2 adults and we've got the king size bedroom.
You can't beat the location of the hotel. It's the best you can get in NYC.
A block and a half from Times SQ, half a block from 5th Ave.. what can you ask for more in NY??
The lobby is kind of dark and reception area is very small. The front desk is really a desk.. Kind of a counter with very little space to walk through to the elevators (2 of them).
They have nice bellboys out & inside the hotel, however we had a bad experience with a young bellboy literally throwing our luggage one on top of the other into the taxi that took us to the airport.
When I didn't tip the guy, I heard him saying some "nice" words while we were in the cab.
The room (on the 4th floor) was excellent! Decent sized room for NYC hotels. Enough space for walk around the room and not to feel claustrophobic..
LCD TV, safe, walking closet, small seating bench, docking station for iPhone/iPod (iPhone 4-4S), complimentary bottle of water (2 of them) and earplugs (you will find them in the drawer). You will hear anyone shutting their door on you floor and I guess this is why they give you the earplugs..
Bed is very comfortable and we enjoyed it very much.
On our second day, it was supposed to rain, so we asked the bellboy for an umbrella. It was provided with no problem, but as a luxury hotel, we were expecting to get a nice sized umbrella for 2 carrying hotel name on it and not a $5 one..
Other than that, there is a Starbucks coffee stand right next to the elevators, and you can arrange yourself a cup of coffee until 10AM.
If you have no breakfast in your deal, you can go next door (turn right when exiting the hotel) to a local dinner and get a nice NYC style breakfast for under $12 PP.
Bottom line.. Hotel is great, but improvements on some small things will make it perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gosisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel with history ...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit at the Algonquin. It is in a perfect location and has been recently remodeled. My only complaint is the loud noises in the morning, but I suppose that is why they give you ear plugs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for just one night recently. The room was quite small, but comfortable. The room was newly rehabbed and very stylish. The lobby was fantastic - very comfy and welcoming. The front desk staff seemed a little preoccupied both times I dealt with them, but the bell staff and the concierge were great. The location was perfect for us. I got a great deal on hotwire (just luck!), but I don't know if I'd pay full price, although I really liked a lot about it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonquin Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Algonquin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing