We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woogo Central Park : go for the location, fight for a good unit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woogo - Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woogo - Central Park
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Woogo Central Park : go for the location, fight for a good unit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

It is my first option in New York for location, first of all, and rates.
I love the area and I take use the red line (1,2,3) and get everywhere in minutes from the 72nd stop.
Units come with a furnished kitchen, tv, and private bathroom, so you can shop at Trader Joe's, Faraway or even Zabars' and keep hundreds of dlls in your pocket if you want to cook and relax at home, or even have a great deal at Gray's Papaya ¨(check the recession special...): but if you shop and don't look at prices, you could even spend more than ina restaurant when going for cheese, import food, etc.
Close to Central Park and Broadway, what else do you need?

A good room : this is when you have to start a decent fight with the person in charge and try to give a look at as many units as possible till you won't recognize the unit as shown in the pictures.

They will also ask a 100 Usd deposit , charged at your credit card upon arrival but canceled when you alredy left (I dind't like it) , and will take a copy of your credit card and your Id (I didn't like!).
But charges have been as agreed.

All together, I would recommend it when booking via their website.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuyResidente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    91
    45
    31
    74
See reviews for
48
73
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Let me start by saying this was an amazing trip especially being from Orange County CA, it's a great city, very different from our hometown. My boyfriend and I decided to spend 4 nights and 5 days at Woogo and for the price why not? The only thing I found great about Woogo was the location. It was very close to central park and times square not to mention in a safe area. now where do I begin with my bad review.. First of all the people in the front desk on the first floor are very unfriendly when u go in to the check in the office is a dump. The elevators are pretty old then just when u think the worst is over you walk into your room and find the windows don't close, there is a very bad smell in the sheets the restroom is small and dirty, no cable, the towels are so rough and tiny as if they were meant for children, u never see an employee so good luck getting new towels or room service. And if you are not convinced yet we had bites all over most likely bed bug bites we were itchy through out the day and night. Stay away

Room Tip: Ay a little more and get a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Xeniaarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you have low expectations in the dorm apt. furniture, iron, but no ironing board, flat screen TV but no remote, heater, but 'it don't work', toilet paper, but only a half roll, a 2 burner stove and only 1 of the 2 burners works....if this doesn't bother you, you'll be fine! The location can't be beat-lots of great restaurants and shops around, Metro a block away.....and it's cheap! Try it once, then treat yourself to a nicer place the next time.

Room Tip: penthouse has great views, a balcony and it's quiet sleeping....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptowngirl1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

where do i start? I'll start with the pros first, the list is shorter but honest:

This an apartment suite with basic essentials. Two girlfriends and I shared a bedroom bachelor room with a pull-out sofa. It has a simple kitchen with all the Ikea dishware and utensils. Simple hot stove with microwave and working mini-fridge. I was impressed with how clean the bathroom was. There is decent closet as well for your coats and shoes. Plenty of clean sheets/materials and drawers for yoru clothes. Everything is clean enough and it's perfect when you're on a budget vacation. It is right by one of the subway stations on the upper west side. Location is perfect to get to anywhere you need. I love this location because it is right by central park and this area is clean, convenient and quiet. We personally wanted to stay around from the busiest parts of nyc and we didnt mind a bit of travel. Taxis are always available around this area including plenty of places to eat. Anything you need or want you must ask for yourself or go to the main office directly on the second floor. The front door/foyer is wonderful and it's a nice small place to hang out if needed.

Now, for some reason, our room had a difficult heater/ac. Perhaps the previous tenants messed it up or it has not be looked at in a while. A repair man did come up to our room to try & fix it but he said it would not be an easy fix. Other rooms were filled so we just HAD to deal with it for the rest of our trip. Luckily, we were outside throughout our entire trip and the ac still worked. the only problem was that it was noisy and the earplugs didnt help with the sleep. They usually have enough essentials and they are usually quite polite and respectful. It's only their services that need work. Any little thing you need, whether it's toilet paper or towels, you must go to them directly. anything we asked for we had to ask twice, especially if it was over the phone.

would i come back? Not to this particular place. I would look somewhere else a bit cheaper or with better services. This is not a hotel so i had no big expectations. The location is truly fantastic in my opinion and that completely made my trip comfortable.

Room Tip: try to get the higher rooms facing south to get a better view. if you're not facing south, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi-AMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Don't expect much. The exec studio apartments reminded me of a college dorm apartment. All the furnishings are all from Ikea and the sofa cushions and arms are filthy. We spread out a bed sheet on the sofa before sitting on it. The bed was hard but had clean sheets. The bathroom was also clean but the shower stall was falling apart. The water from the faucet was brown for a few minutes before turning clear.

If you're in high school or college and just need a place to flop after getting sloppy drunk, then this is a great, cheap, safe place that keeps you off the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

A friend from work and I went to NYC for a get away. The booked the Woogo Tempo because it was close to the park and I like the Upper West Side. I paid extra for a bigger room, and when we got there they were sold out of the bigger rooms, even though I paid in advance, we were stuck two guys having to share a double bed. Our view was great of the Ansoma building a huge Gothic amazing upper scale condo stucture next door, which hosted Continetal Baths years ago in the cellar ) ok the Better Midler/ Barry Mandilow thing sorry.) So with our tiny room with a dirty microwave and tiny sink pending to be the "kitchenette" we managed. The computer access box did not work even though we also were charged for it.The bathroom was small, needed an upgrade, and there was no room to even walk around the bed, it was really bad. IT was a neck stain to watch the tv which loomed ontop of a shabby high top dresser a foot from the side of the bed. You litterary had to exit the bed out of the end not the side!Our luggage was stored until check in , thrown in a closet with everyone elses bags, no tags or tickets, just which one is Yours! wow. very nervous. An elevator that was in need of repair, and all of the customers were complaining about everything. We laughed it off, but I really should have booked something else. I was embarrassed I was hosting my friend's first trip to NYC! my gosh. The subway was right outside our door feel the shake, and Central Park we could walk to, but it was a very dark lit street at night, and the staff changed shifts so much, no one knew that we were actually guests. No security to speak of, anyone could have just walked in. It was not that cheap either, I have since found other hotels that are much better. They have gone through a bit of a reno, when we were there there was drilling and scaffolding all up the front of the building and stairs. They could have given us something for inconvienace, but they Really did not seem to care or even speak English. Not even a smile, and it seemed if you had a question at the desk, they were eating something and ignored you. Not impressed. The lobby decor was also hiddeous, even my unwordly friend laughed at it. WE did see a couple shows and rented bycyles in the park, and enjoyed spring. I did not like this Hotel.

Room Tip: there is nothing you can do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is an older property, but served my purpose. Needed this area, and the location at Broadway and 73rd can't be beat. Close to shops, food, and subway. I was with another couple so room became reasonably priced when we split the cost. We were able to get a 1 bedroom rate on a two bedroom apartment. They only have a few of these (with no sitting area) which is better than taking a normal 1 bedroom with pullout couch in living area. The two bedrooms each had TV. Kitchenette was helpful. Couldn't check in till 3 which was annoying, but we could leave our bags. On check out told them we need to leave our bags for about 2 hours, and they wanted $5 each...I complained and they let us just leave them. Not luxury, but would likely stay there again. Note that the name of the "hotel" is not listed outside, so when you pull up to the address it can be very confusing. You go in, find the elevator and take it to the 2nd floor room that serves as check-in/office.

Room Tip: I had room 820, which was fine. (two bedrooms at one bedroom rate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caratstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#47 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,174 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#166 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,154 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#107 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#289 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woogo - Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woogo - Central Park

Property: Woogo - Central Park
Address: 240 W 73rd St, New York City, NY 10023-2700 (Formerly YourStay Central Park)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 194 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woogo - Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upper west side - one of Manhattans most desirable residential neighborhoods. This luxury building has just been totally renovated with top amenities & high standards. Walking distance from Lincoln center & central Park, this building has variety of Facilities to offer. It is home to wonderful shopping and a variety of fabulous restaurants. Within a few blocks from The Museum of Natural History, Lincoln Center, Movie theaters, Central Park and Riverside Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Woogo - Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woogo - Central Park Hotel New York City
Woogo Central Park Tempo Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing