We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful budget accommodation.”
Review of 102 Brownstone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
102 Brownstone
Ranked #38 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My partner and I stayed at 102 Brownstone for seven nights. This was our first visit to New York.

We stayed in the Chalet Room, which is about the same size as a standard hotel room, with a small private shower room (no bath), plenty of storage for clothes, an iron, hairdryer, TV, DVD player, microwave, fridge, a couple of mugs and dishes, and a few knives, forks and spoons. It's certainly not luxurious accommodation, but it's not without its charm, and it's a comfortable place to crash after being on your feet all day.

Plus points: Cheap, comfortable, two minutes to the subway, pharmacy and supermarket right across the road, ATM machine just around the corner, busy community feel in the surrounding location, you get your own external key so don't need to be in by a certain time, landlady leaves you to your own devices so plenty of privacy.

Minus points: Lots of holes in the bed sheets which wasn't a deal breaker but seemed strange because the rest of the room was well looked after, no view out of the window except on to backyards and adjacent apartments (but if you're out all day it doesn't matter), we had to ask for fresh towels and for the room to be cleaned (but cleaning was thorough when it eventually happened and the holes in the sheets disappeared), bit stingy with the toilet roll(!), no coffee-making facilities.

All in all, a comfortable budget hotel, well worth the money, and well located for easy access to the city, but don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Thank you for a lovely stay, already recommended to friends
Me and my daughter had a great vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I received a friendly welcome from Lizette upon arrival at 102Brownstone, there was complimentary wifi - that actually worked 100% of the time! The cafe room was spacious enough for me and the bed comfortable and clean.

I liked the details:
In the bathroom -complimentary toothpaste and lotions
In the bedroom -plenty of clothes hangers, iron and ironing board, microwave, fridge freezer and obligatory free coffee

There wasn't a view to speak of (a back yard) but let's face it, you're not in New York to stay in your room all day right!?

The area
Mention the name Harlem and your friends take a deep breathe and warn of dangers lurking in the shadows, I have to say I felt completely safe at all times even when returning home via the subway late at night. Just act responsibly and don't advertise your new camera or state of the art electrical equipment and you'll be fine (the same as most of New York actually). The 2&3 subway is two streets away so you can be on your way to the action in downtown New York in under ten minutes.

Get the unlimited metro card and you'll pay $8.25 a day - good value if you want to explore the city and aren't staying 5 days or more.

Overall I would recommend 102 Brownstone to anyone who is independent and happy to venture out a little further from the heart of Manhattan and save big bucks when compared to typical midtown hotels. Good value - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I had read reviews on how wonderful this place was and only a few poor reviews. I decided the good reviews outweighed the poor ones and e-mailed my reservation on May 20, 2010. I called back and spoke with a gentleman with a French accent who told me he had received my reservation and that I was "on the schedule". When my credit card had not been charged according to what was specified on the reservation form I called to see if there was a problem with my credit card and less than two weeks before my trip I was told that they had never received my reservation and that their establishment was completely booked, but that if anything opened up they would give me a call. The young lady I spoke with was cordial or I would have given this place a terrible review. It seemed like a nice place to stay and I would have liked to stay there, but found a less expensive alternative with a full hot breakfast 10 minutes outside the city with shuttle service to Times Square. I read at least one other review where 102 Brownstone lost another traveler's reservation as well, in the same fashion. It was very stressful to try and find a place to stay that met my same budgetary needs less than two weeks before my trip, but thank goodness I did!! 102 Brownstone needs to keep better records!! I thought all the good reviews outweighed the bad ones until this happened to me.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jnrguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My friends and I spent three nights during the Labor Day weekend there, and fell in love with the place. We had two adjoining rooms and a private lobby: everything was nicely decorated in a warm, inviting and cozy style.

Our rooms were equipped with microwave, bar fridge and some utensils: and a supermarket within walking distance meant we could keep freshs snacks and breakfast. The beds were large and comfortable, and the shower was spacious.

The hotel is within walking distance of the 2 and 3 subway lines, and a short walk away from the Northern tip of Central Park.

While some parts of the rooms showed wear and minor damage, it was overall a great stay.

Make sure to BOOK IN ADVANCE! While we did plan on our trip on a busy weekend, we made reservations all the way back in March or April, and ours were the only rooms left.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I found this hotel on this site and contacted them direct. It was located in an area close to what I needed. The host was very accomodating but at the same time offered plenty of privacy. She greeted us warmly and was happy to see us. The apartment was very clean, had enough room for the 3 of us and was exactly as pictured. I would stay again and again. I had no problem getting to where I needed to go, check in easy, check out easy. Loved it! May daughters (adults) loved it also.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noireevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I was afraid that this hotel was not good. But my apprehensive was set. The hotel not big, but very cozy and nice. The manager was very kind and tried to help us in all things. The position of the place is very good: not far from subway and Central Park, but enough removed from touristic places so it is very quietly nightly.
The one minus - not enough clean. We stayed there for 10 days and the linen wasn't changed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#277 of 470 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#290 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 470 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#403 of 470 in New York City
735 reviews
Harlem
Efuru Guest House
Efuru Guest House
#39 of 78 in New York City
78 reviews
The Missing Lantern
#42 of 58 in Brooklyn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 102 Brownstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 102 Brownstone

Address: 102 W 118th St, New York City, NY 10026-1809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you seek an exhilarating New York experience stay at 102Brownstone.In a beautiful private apartment or elegant private suite you canenjoy the city with all the comfort, convenience and privacyof home. The accommodations are designed for the senses andthe warm ambiances contribute to the sense of retreat.• Luxury queen sized beds• Complimentary High speed internet service / Wi-Fi• Full kitchens and Jacuzzi tubs in the apartments• Microwave and refrigerators in the suites• Cable television / DVD player ... more   less 
Also Known As:
102 Brownstone Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing