We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this Affinia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #97 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Liked this Affinia”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have stayed at several Affinia hotel across New York City, but this particular one was a good find. It was near my destination and had all the things I expected in a good hotel stay, ie.great bed, comfortable lighting, quiet room, no partying guests. and a very helpful desk. I will choose this particular hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,502
    300
    112
    48
See reviews for
1,873
1,309
173
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First of all, I arrived super early, but was able to have an early check in after a rough night of travel. I was expecting a regular hotel room -- nothing fancy. However, I opened the door to a 1 bedroom apartment! The place was huge, very clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. You have a kitchenette with a dishwasher! The staff are all super friendly, helpful and as informative as they are able, I make that statement because I was given the impression that not all front desk staff had the same knowledge when it came to my WiFi connectivity issues. You have to ask about WiFi connectivity. It's not offered at time of check in and I had a very frustrating time about it until I asked. Apparently there's a code you need to enter to get the full WiFi experience. Unfortunately, I didn't bother to ask until 3GB over my cell phone data plan had been used and a lot of frustration on being able to stream or properly check my emails. So make sure you ask about the WiFi code to save on the frustration.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was surprised at how high this hotel ranked (4.7 on hotels.com at the time I booked) among real travelers. While the front desk staff was super lovely when I checked in at 11:30 p.m., I was stunned at how outdated the rooms were. They are clean, for sure, but, WOW, are they outdated. And even though the room is clean, the dark dated rug and window coverings make it feel dirty. The 80s track lighting doesn’t help. The kitchen is clean, but, again, SUPER OUTDATED, making it feel kind of icky. And the sink in the bathroom in room 2006 is a s-l-o-w drainer. Draino and/or a hair unclogger thingamajig is needed. And sometimes in the middle of the night, somebody or something is racing around on the fire escape outside; idk what’s happening out there, but it was loud for periods of time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxjeffjen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Affinia Dumont for 2 nights, and everything was great. Don't hesitate to stay here!

As other reviewers mention, the rooms are bigger than most NYC hotels. The room was clean and modern, and the bathroom had everything we needed (except I'm not a fan of the soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers in the shower). We lucked out big time and were assigned a great room on the top floor. I was originally disappointed that all of the Studio Skyline Suites had been booked, so I reserved a standard room instead and requested to be placed on a high floor. Request granted! Our room had a great view looking downtown at lower Manhattan, far above any of the night time street noise. All rooms also seem to come standard with a small kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, etc), although we didn't stay long enough to make use of it.

The hotel is in a great location in Murray Hill, just a couple blocks from the subway station at 33rd St and Park Avenue. This obviously makes for easy sightseeing in either direction. Murray Hill is also a good neighborhood with lots of bars, restaurants and little cafes. We had a quick dinner one night at the Thai restaurant next door (which was very good), and Pie Face on the corner has good coffee drinks and bakery items. And just like everywhere in NYC, there's a Duane Reade drug store across the street for any items you may have forgotten.

The only (minor) knock against the hotel is the lobby/lounge area is small. This made for a rather crowded happy hour, but hey, it's hard to complain when free drinks are involved! Overall, we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back again on a future visit.

Room Tip: They were able to accommodate our "high floor" request that was made when reserving a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaps21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I think this hotel offers great personal experience. Equally the staff is EXCEPTIONALLY helpful. I appreciated the soap dispensers much more than small travel sized bottles in other hotels. It makes it easier to use for people who don't like to travel with soaps etc. The FREE wine hour is a fantastic idea, absolutely fantastic. The rooms are MASSIVE for New York city, and this alone makes the hotel absolutely the place to stay. The Murray Hill area is great. The only problem I had with the hotel was the annoying blowing noise of the heater going on at random times, and the fact that even on the 21st floor, I could hear noise from the exterior. However, these are both commonplace in New York, at the Hilton on 6th Ave, and the Mariott Marquis Times Square (which are both much noisier given the busier area). Overall, I would recommend this hotel over and over again. It is impossible today, to stay at a hotel with staff that is so caring and attentive - the larger hotel chains just don't pay as much attention as they use to. Also, I cannot stress enough as to the size of the rooms. Each room is equipped with a kitchen, some may use it, some may not, but either way its great to have a fridge to cool some water or white wine in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Affinia Dumont in Murray Hill is top notch. Clean rooms, new flat panel, wall mounted TV in BR. Spacious. Staff was awesome. Great boutique hotel in the middle of everything we needed. 5 star experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Waynesworld129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our heater was broken the first night, causing our room to dip down to 60 deg F. After a visit from maintenance, the room never went below 80 deg F, even w/ thermostat set to "off". Staff didn't seem to care about resolving the issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,891 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing