We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Some renovation please...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #100 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
warsaw, poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some renovation please...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked two one bdrs suites for our families. one was on the 7th, another on 9th floor.
Both were dark with dirty windows and no view. Therefore, except sunny days, it was quite dark inside. The dark furniture did not help.

I felt like our rooms are in a need of renovation, espacially kitchen furniture (I was afraid the kitchen door cabinet will fall down on my head), and wardrobes.

No free internet.

We stayed 6 nights paying per suite $400/ night.
I regret I did not choose Afinia Manhattan which had better price and renovated rooms!
However, I made my decision based on great tripadvisor reviews. It was not a good choice this time unfortunately.
Pro: location is very good indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnieszkamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear agnieszkamac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
The Affinia Dumont is a boutique all-suite hotel located in the heart of the leisurely Murray Hill neighborhood offering tremendous value on our incredibly spacious suites as well as complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby. We thank you for your feedback and will utilize it as will continually strive to improve product and service. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,587
    1,380
    273
    98
    41
See reviews for
1,673
1,204
152
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very good choice. Excellent location, almost all staff really nice and helpful, comfortable room (I had a great view of the Chrysler Building also!) The only thing that really bothered me was charging $15/day for internet access, which I think is totally unfair given the price paid for the room and the overall quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Carlos S,

Thank you for your review. I’m happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially our lovely location, our friendly and helpful staff and our super comfortable suites. While Wi-Fi in the suite is charged, our Wi-Fi in the lobby is complimentary. We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel with very friendly staff! Huge rooms, comfortable bed and the "best sofa bed" my kids have ever slept in! The property was spotless and felt almost new.Terrific midtown location and walking distance to many sites!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Debra S M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with your kids and found our spacious suite with the pull-out sofa bed very comfortable. And our location is simply perfect whether it is for a family or business travelers, we are close to everything NYC has to offer. We hope you will choose the Affinia Dumont for many more trips to NYC.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of New York, but within walking distance of Empire State Building. The staff at all levels were very polite and efficient. The concierge was very helpful and tried hard to get tickets for shows we wanted to see. The lobby staff were also very helpful too. I found Juber and Gaby went that extra mile to ensure our holiday and stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Also because of the location of the hotel, you actually see how New Yorkers really live and work and is not dominated by tourists, yet it's within walking distance of subway and Empire State Building.. If I were to go back to New York, I would book the same hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Parmanand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Parmanand M,

I am so excited you stayed with us and enjoyed the Affinia Dumont, our location and our friendly and helpful staff. You are absolutely right, we are not in the middle of the tourist center such as Times Square; we are more in a neighborhood of New York City however, everything you want to do and see is walking distance or a short cab ride away. We absolutely pride ourselves on our staff and the exceptional customer service they provide every day. I will be sure to mention your review when I speak with them. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Searched for a affordable hotel suite in NYC near subway for a weekend visit. Affinia Dumont was just what we desired offering spacious rooms with complete kitchens. I'm sure we'll visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Donna C,

Thank you for your review. Well if you were looking for something near a NYC Subway, you definitely could not beat the Affinia Dumont’s location which is just about a block and a half away from the #6 Subway on Park Avenue and 33rd Street. We, too, hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charandfamily
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I just stayed here July 9-20th and have to say it was great value, and a great location. Comfortable clean and central. Very nice staff too, especially Juber! I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children, as the room had 2 queen beds, a fold out couch and a kitchen. Perfect for families!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear charandfamily,

I’m very happy to read your review and feel you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. And what compliment to already recommend us future guests-we highly appreciate such wonderful gesture. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont for a lengthy trip in New York City; we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located. It is 5 minutes away from subway station (which is only one station from grand central! Can go to everywhere easily) and 10 minutes away from Empire State Building and the world's largest Macy's. There is even a 24 hr Duane Reade next to the hotel.
The staff were all very nice and helpful. We arrived before the check-in time so they allowed us to place our luggage in the luggage room. When we left, Juber, a friendly staff, helped us to arrange transportation to the airport.
The room is spacious and clean, with a mini kitchen and a ginormous flat screen hd tv!
The only downside is that they don't have free wifi in the room. It can be quite crowded in the lobby at night because it is the only place with free wifi.
I love this hotel a lot and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ynmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ynmw,

Thank you for your great review and comments! The Affinia Dumont has the most lovely location – we are close to everything you would want to see or do in New York City, but we have none of the madness of the typical tourist areas such as Times Square. When you are done with all your sightseeing, it’s nice to be able to retreat into a homely neighborhood where you can take an evening stroll to dinner and not have to deal with the crowds of people. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#123 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,174 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#113 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Chelsea
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
#258 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#59 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#118 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing