We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #109 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great value and beautiful views”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a corner skyline suite on the thirtieth floor with a lovely view of the Chrysler Building and Midtown East.

It was great value, at a little over 200 dollars a night on a weekly rate.

The room was extremely functional, with a solid work area and comfortable bedding.

There were a few concerns.

1. The internet is twelve dollars a day and unreliable. There were times where after paying, it simply didn't work. The reception acknowledged that they were having problems with the internet, and kindly waived the fee, but I think it should be both free and reliable!

2. Location. After my first visit to New York, I'm more of an uptown guy. With that said, if you are tight on time in New York, this is very central. There are good food options (particularly Korean Town) nearby, but its just not an atmospheric area.

3. Noise! The room was noisy. The heating caused a rickety noise coming out of the vents (I think associated with expansion of the metal), and the sound proofing is pretty average.

Overall, this is comfortable and affordable with a few issues.

Room Tip: Go with a Skyline Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear John_Tillett,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont during your recent trip to New York City and for taking the time to provide this review. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the views of Midtown Manhattan from your Junior Skyline Suite and that you found the layout of your guestroom to be extremely functional.

I also appreciate your feedback about the areas, particularly with our internet connection, where there is room for improvement. We take your feedback seriously and are dedicated to continuously improving the quality of service we provide to our guests. Thank you for this valuable feedback.

I hope to welcome you back to Affinia Dumont soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,844
    1,516
    302
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,888
1,318
174
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend in January with our 10-yr-old son. We wanted to see all the famous buildings so we spent the extra $20 per night on a high floor room with view of chrysler building. Well worth it! Corner junior suite skyline view on 36th floor. We made and ate all breakfasts in our room and saved money that way. Also lunch on two days (came back to hotel in between sight seeing). The kitchen has stove, oven, toaster and microwave, utensils, dishes, silverware, dish soap and dish cloth, but no salt, pepper or condiments. Hotel is very close to 33 & park subway station. Deli almost next door to hotel and drugstore/supermarket across the street.

Helpful?
4 Thank pacificiris
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing this great feedback of your family’s recent stay at Affinia Dumont. I’m thrilled to see that your 10 year old son enjoyed the views of the Chrysler Building from your Skyline Suite and that your family was able to benefit from the full kitchen in your guestroom.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you visit New York City!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A few friends and I stayed at this hotel in Dec/Jan 2012/13.

We chose the hotel as it had good reviews and was the only hotel available within our price range that could accommodate two rooms, each with two double beds.

Having had one bad experience in a NYC hotel, I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel pretty much was what it said it was! It's definitely nothing fancy, but if you're looking for a nice, good value, quiet hotel, it's definitely worth a try.

Our room had plenty of space (and surprisingly a full sized separate kitchen), the beds and linen were the perfect hotel beds! Very comfortable. There was also NO noise whatsoever from the street, hallways or walls. I prefer hotels with glass showers rather than shower curtains over a bath, but that's just being super picky.

All of the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Friends staying in another room had a problem with their heating, and were immediately moved to another room and the manager paid them a visit to personally apologise and check that their new room was all good, so I think that is a great example of their service. Donald on the door was a friendly face to see everyday and one of the girls on the front desk gave us tips about which Woodbury Common services were cheaper and better. So overall, we were really happy with the service from everyone.

The location was perfect - walking distance to the major midtown attractions - Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Square, Bryant Park, Gramercy Park, etc. Cab fare to most other areas of the City that we visited was great. I'd also suggest a walk to the end of 34th St to catch the ferry to Williamsburg - really cheap, easy and nice being on the water rather than in the subway.

Guy & Gallard was a favourite quick , cheap breakfast spot just across the road.

Overall, a pretty good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank -Chanelle-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were spotless .The location was great. Anything we needed the concierge was there to take care of from dinner reservations to cab service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jflrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jflrt,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont and for taking the time to provide this review of your excellent experience. I hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here in late November for a weekend. The room was huge, complete with a kitchenette; which is always a nice-to-have. (Sadly, we were too busy to actually cook there, but it was nicely stocked with pots and pans) The location is great; lots of shops and restaurants around. If possible, ask for a room on the back of the building; 34th Street is a very busy street and the noise may be bothersome for some. The staff was always very helpful and very cheerful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzie_Bear2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Ozzie_Bear,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review of your recent stay at Affinia Dumont. I’m so happy to see that you enjoyed our large guestrooms, cheerful staff, and central location in the Murray Hill Neighborhood. I look forward to welcoming you back to New York City and the Affinia Dumont soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed late dec, 2012- had a great stay, room was good size for a family of 4. Were able to store our bags on the last day since we had a late flight. Close to good restaurants- went to Cinema when we arrived and had a great meal. Also really liked Labonne Soupe and Maria Pia. Went to a Nets game too, easy access to trains from hotel. All in all- great trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jason C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this great review of your recent stay at Affinia Dumont. I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed our large guestrooms, central location, and our close proximity to many of the city’s lines of transportation.

I hope to welcome you back to the Affinia Dumont the next time you visit New York City!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Affinia Dumont for over two weeks for our daughter's leg surgery. The extended stay rates were reasonable, the room was spacious with a kitchenette and separate bedroom and the local restaurants were great. When we returned to the hotel after the surgery, Donald the doorman noticed my daughter wobbling with crutches and immediately arranged for us to borrow a wheelchair, which helped tremendously. In fact, they actually bought two new ones for us and future guests! Adel (spelling?) the doorman was also attentive and kind. Cons -- 34th Street has noisy emergency vehicle traffic with loud sirens that woke us up. No business center, but they will print documents for you in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Visitor759,

First and foremost, I want to thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont during your recent two-week stay in NYC following your daughter’s leg surgery. I’m so please to see that, although it must have been a difficult time for your family, our staff was able to make you feel as comfortable and cared about as possible. Our doormen Donald and Adil are fantastic and I will be sure to pass your kind words along to them.

Thank you again for providing this great feedback. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Affinia Dumont soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#69 of 468 in New York City
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#78 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#48 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing