We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #112 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Affinia Dumont many times over the past several years. We keep coming back for the large rooms, inexpensive rates, great location, and extremely friendly and pleasant staff. My last stay was with my husband and 11-month-old baby. The housekeeping staff even cleaned my baby's dishes! The concierge was even kind enough to let us check out late without any extra charge so we wouldn't need to wake our baby from her nap to check out. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sam G,

Thank you for providing this excellent review of the Affinia Dumont and more specifically, our incredible staff. I’m thrilled to see that you’ve been staying with us for the past few years and that your most recent stay was just as enjoyable as ever. On behalf of all of us here at Affinia Dumont, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,843
    1,516
    302
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,888
1,318
174
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is a find in NYC. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that was great for both work and entertaining. There was a small kitchen that was equipped with a full size frig and an oven as well as a microwave. The bed was comfy and everything was clean. There was even a Herman Miller chair at the desk. The only thing we found to be missing was a small table and chairs to eat at. Although the desk was large enough to use as a dining table there were not chairs to go with it. This is a great hotel, at a great value in a great location and I would recommend it to anyone coming to the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Michisw,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont and for taking the time to provide this review. I’m thrilled to see that you were able to utilize your One Bedroom Suite for both business and pleasure and that the full kitchen in your guestroom came in handy for preparing meals. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a little gem tucked away on East 34th. An unpretentious facade and lobby reveal spacious, clean, well-appointed rooms, fast elevators, supremely comfortable beds and the nicest staff you'll find in the city. They clearly put resources where it counts--gracious, helpful front desk (thanks again, Paul, for helping us make our train!), meticulous cleaning, and furnishings that create a warm, inviting, quiet retreat from busy midtown. Location is excellent for walking and great dining is never more than a couple of blocks away. A Dunkin Donuts next door is perfect for slipping out in the morning to get a great cup of coffee--and they are one of the friendliest DDs in town, too. I will definitely be back--it was a great value and everything I wanted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margalo399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We choose this hotel for the large rooms with kitchenette.

Our vacation's week have been faboulous...

We recommand Affinia Dumont for many reasons. This hotel is clean, quiet, personal at desk is kind and the room very confortable .

We Love New York and Affinia hotels!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toukette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Toukette,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont during your recent vacation in New York City. I’m so pleased to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back to Affinia Hotels soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have a family of 5 and procrastinated for weeks and weeks over which hotel to choose when staying in New York as this was my first time. We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and can only praise the staff and the hotel in general. The rooms are clean,warm and very big for New York standards and the bed very comfy. We had a skyline view room and view was breath taking!! Jerba and Donald who are the doormen were very informative and always wanted to know how our day was. The kids loved talking to them each day about what they had done. Even though this hotel is a little out of the main area ie Time Square it is only around a $7 cab ride (including tip) to most major attractions around Time Square. The subway is right there on 33rd street and there are plenty of options for dining around the hotel. I enjoyed going back to this hotel everyday as it was quieter and less busy area!! We did have a few minor problems but the hotel fixed them very quickly. Well done Affinia Dumont I will definitely be recommending your hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColletteP_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Collette P,

First and foremost I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at Affinia Dumont during your recent 2 week stay in New York City. Our One-Bedroom Suites are perfectly situated for families of up to 6 people and our full kitchens are ideal for guests who plan to use the guestroom as their own apartment in the city. I’m so glad to see that after weeks of trying to decide which hotel to use, you chose Affinia Dumont and our large guestrooms, views of the Manhattan skyline, and friendly staff exceeded your expectations.

I also want to thank you for recognizing a few of our doormen, Juber and Donald. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto them. On behalf of all of us here at Affinia Dumont, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit New York City.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Friendly staff met us upon our arrival and checked us in efficiently. After e-mailing the general manager requesting a high level room this was accommodated. The room was large and well laid out with all the amenities that you could need. Rooms was spotless and kept that way throughout our stay by the cleaning staff. The hotel is in a fantastic location and we will definitely return on our next visit to the big apple. Thank you to Alex and all the team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonlesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jonlesg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this fantastic review of your recent stay at Affinia Dumont. I’m thrilled to see that you enjoyed your spacious and clean guestroom, our friendly and efficient staff, and your impressive view of the Manhattan skyline. I’m also especially pleased to see that you plan to return to our hotel the next time you visit NYC. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three days here in a one bedroom suite which was well designed, extremely clean and very reasonable. From the moment you walk in the door the very well trained staff are helpful, accommodating and very professional. Any request was dealt with immediately an properly on the first try. Centrally located in Manhattans Murray Hill district this is a total winner. My wife and I travel throughout the world and the Affinia Dumont has just become the default NYC hotel. Thanks to the entire staff and especially the Front Desk, Housekeeping and Paul Yorio for a wonderful stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barryejohnson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Barryejohnson,

First, I’d like to thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont during your recent 3 day stay in New York City. I’m glad to see that our hotel has become your favorite in the city and that you enjoy the layout of our spacious One-Bedroom Suites, the professionalism of our well trained staff, and our central location in the Murray Hill Neighborhood.

I look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the Affinia Dumont soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,743 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#145 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#78 of 468 in New York City
982 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#47 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing