We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and hard working staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful and hard working staff”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and son and was due to leave the day after Hurricane Sandy hit, but due to flight cancellations ended up staying until Friday 2nd Nov. The Hotel was still without power at this point and we had already arranged to move to another Hotel until our delayed flight home on 5th November. If we had known that power would be restored on the Friday night we would gladly have stayed as the room in Hotel we moved too, which was in the same price range, was nowhere near as spacious or as comfortable as at the Dumont. Also the staff at the Dumont where much friendlier, helpful and always had a smile on their faces, even during the testing times before and after the Hurricane hit. The manager and staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible and keeping us informed of what was happening, which was difficult without power, phone lines, internet. etc. We were particularly grateful for moving us to a lower floor just in case the generator gave up the ghost. We were originally on the 37th floor with fantastic views of the East River and Downtown Manhatten, but dont think we could have coped with having to walk up to 37th floor without a lift. On the Monday afternoon (29th oct) Mr Spector and his staff opened up a room on the 3rd floor with an X Box and Table tennis table for the kids and coffee/tea for the adults (which was replaced by wine and beers later on). This was very much appreciated and kept the young ones amused and gave the adults chance to relax a bit. All the time during our stay we could not fault any of the staff, from the chambermaids, maintenance staff, doormen, concierge,front desk staff to the management, they all worked extremely hard in what must have been testing times for them all, making sure we the guests were put first. All the staff are a credit to the manager and hotel. We would not hesitate staying at this hotel on any further trips to New York.

Room Tip: Request a room with dual ascpect views of Est River and Downtown - Superb Views from Higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Bob P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Affinia Dumont during your recent trip to New York City and for taking the time to provide this generous review of your time with us. I’m thrilled to see that, although you faced a significant challenge with the changes to your travel plans due to Hurricane Sandy, you felt safe and comfortable at our hotel. I also appreciate your extremely kind words about the staff here at the Affinia Dumont. We do have an extremely hard working team and I’m glad to see that our efforts paid off with the level of service we were able to provide to you and your family.

Thank you again for this great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Dumont the next time you visit NYC!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,505
    300
    112
    49
See reviews for
1,875
1,309
173
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having been homeless since Hurricane Sandy, we have stayed at numerous hotels over the last two weeks, one of which being the Affinia Dumont. The hotel has everything you need to feel like you have a mini home in the city...including a full kitchen in your room and laundry facility downstairs which was a huge plus for us.. We really enjoyed our stay while here. I will say the rooms are a bit dated, but they are well taken care of, the beds are very comfortable, the TV is new, the bathroom has been renovated, and the space is fairly large by NYC standards.. so it is still very nice. The location is excellent being a 10 minute walk to grand central, and 2 minutes from the nearest subway...the barking dog restaurant downstairs was also excellent for a quick brunch/meal.. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear LadyLux,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this great review of your recent stay with us. Although I’m sorry to see that as a result of Hurricane Sandy you experienced challenges getting home, I am glad that during your time here at the Affinia Dumont you felt like you had a home in the city.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and are happy to see that you won’t hesitate to return. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel under better circumstances soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Murray Hill is an area with lots of recent college grads and young professionals, and the area reflects that, with many services, restaurants and stores. We like that neighborhood feel rather than the jam packed, touristy Times Square area. The Affinia Dumont is conveniently located on 34 Street, very close to the metro, with anything you could need close at hand.
The hotel is very unassuming in appearance, with a small lobby and a tiny one person concierge stand, with few of the tourist publications one would expect. Yet the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, offering suggestions and directions cheerfully. If you want a big hotel with lots of amenities you won't find them here. But if you have a good idea of what you want to do and where you want to go, the great staff will help you.
Personally, my priorities when visiting NY are: a large room, light (I hate looking out the window at a wall), a comfortable bed, a refrigerator, and updated furnishings. I found all of that and even a kitchen at the Affinia Dumont. However the kitchen, unlike the rest of the "suite" was woefully in need of renovation. Our room was on 34 street and it had a nice, long view from the 12th floor, but if you stay on the higher floors the view is superb. There is lots of street noise but the hotel has complementary ear plugs.
The bed was very comfortable and they offer six different types of pillows - a nice touch of luxury in what I would otherwise describe as a good three to four star hotel. This is definitely not a solid four star hotel, given the condition of the kitchen and the lack of a restaurant, bar or gym on site (although you do get access to one). Also the one concierge had very limited availability from what we could see.
Since we didn't need much help planning our activities, we were happy to have a comfortable, spacious room to return to at the end of the day. And we appreciated the kitchen. There is a CVS across the street that sells not just toiletries, but also food and beverages for snacks and light meals. We also found a fabulous deli restaurant called Sarge's on 2nd Avenue.
All in all a good place to stay for the independent traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My sister in law came for her 40th birthday and what a wonderful reception we received, even in the midst of sandy.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more. We've stayed in New York before and thought we couldn't better the last hotel which was the Beacon. But we was wrong. This hotel go the extra mile, even during the hurricane they tried to make us comfortable even though they hadn't been home or seen their families for days. The managers were always on hand and tried to ease our worries.
Thanks Affinia - we will be back, but to celebrate in style - minus any hurricanes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Emma M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! I am so sorry to see that your sister’s birthday celebration was caught up in the midst of Hurricane Sandy. I appreciate your extremely kind words about our staff and will be sure to pass them on to the team. Our main priority during every stage of the storm was to keep our guests as safe and comfortable as possible. I’m so glad to see that, although it was a difficult situation for everyone, you experienced the positive effect of our efforts first hand.

I look forward to welcoming you and your sister back to the Affinia Dumont soon for a hurricane-free 40th birthday celebration re-do!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've been there just after Hurricane Sandy so unfortunately I have experienced some issues related to the lack of electricity (such as dark room, no elevator and room on the 27th floor...) for a couple of day, but the hotel is pretty good, with a very big and confortable room, and the location is perfect, right in the heart of manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Affinia Dumont in late Oct. The hotel is well placed for sightseeing with easy access to Empire State, Chrysler building, Times Sq. etc easy subway links too from station just one block away on Park Ave. We normally stay at sister hotel (Affinia Shelburne) but last time they could not seem to accommodate us in the room we were assured would be available and left a rather sour taste, so decided to try the Dumont as we like this area. I'm really glad we made the change , the staff, including the manager are exceptional, they dealt with an initial complaint with the allocated room efficiently and quickly resolved the problem ( which I feel in all honesty was due to booking.com and not the hotel) .
As there were 4 of us we opted for a two bedded one-bedroom suite, it was large but a bit dark in living area due to long narrow shape of room, just a small niggle though. Beds were equivalent of U.K. King size and very comfortable.
Nothing was a bother to the staff, extra towels, pillows, hangers and most essentially to us Brits, tea bags! arrived almost instantaneously.
Where they came into their own was when Hurricane Sandy was due to hit. We were kept informed with newsletters pushed under the door. Alex( the manager) organised a get together on the evening the hurricane was due to hit, there were games available for the children and free drinks for all , we all really appreciated the gesture and met some really lovely people whom we would usually not have had the opportunity to talk to. When the power did go out torches were issued quickly and staff made sure everyone was safely escorted to their rooms.
Our flights were cancelled so we had to extend our stay again no problem . Unfortunately the power was not restored and the hotel had to evacuate most of the guests ourselves included, oh how I wished we could have stayed hotel we booked into the Park Central was a lot more expensive and not even 10% as nice as the Dumont but that's another story !
I would like to thank Alex Spektor and all his staff for making our stay enjoyable (pre-Sandy) and as comfortable as possible after the storm, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even if we did have our own" ugly naked guy" across from our room!
Don't forget to try the hotels "Cinema" restaurant on the corner of 3rd ave, best steak I've had in years ! Barking dog pub was good too. Hope to return here some day after we've gotten over the trauma of Hurricane Sandy.
Hope the hotels all up and running again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Bdu,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide this generous review of your stay during the week Hurricane Sandy hit New York City. Although it was an extremely difficult situation caused by widespread power outages and flooding damages of a magnitude we could never have imagined, we did our very best to manage every stage of the storm. Our main priority was to provide every guest with as safe and comfortable of an environment as possible and I’m glad to see that you experienced the positive outcome of our efforts.

Our entire staff appreciates your kind words about our hotel and service. We’re glad to see you made it home safely and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Dumont for a storm-free and even more enjoyable stay soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My stay at Affinia dumont was beyond expectation! Really helpful desk, good location close to everything and reasonably priced for NY hotels. Room were clean, good size rooms, good bathroom etc.
Internet not too fast, but well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeppeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear JeppeSJ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this great review of your recent stay here at the Affinia Dumont. I’m thrilled to see that our hotel exceeded your expectations! I’m also happy that you found our Front Desk Staff helpful, our large guestrooms very clean, and our central location close to everything you needed.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Dumont the next time you visit New York City!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,908 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing