We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Deserves Six Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #97 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I Deserves Six Stars”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Dumont for five nights recently for the second time in two years (lucky us), and so glad we did. There are so many fine positive points to comment on, where do i start. Firstly and foremost the staff are second to none. Friendly, wow they treat you like family, and I don't believe it's put on. Nothing is ever too much to ask for and they really do seem to pride themselves in what they do.
The rooms are just great. We were fortunate enough to get a high floor room with magnificent panoramic views of that amazing metropolis below and into the heart of the skyscrapers. The rooms are quite spacious and having a kitchenette was just wonderful and more than handy for bringing snacks home. The beds were great and a lounge room that closes off from the bedroom was a bonus. Just downstairs you have the Murray Hill market for all those supplies or snacks you may require. Very handy and very reasonably priced.
The Dumont's location is sensational, just a couple of blocks from the Empire State and a couple more blocks up and you're at Macy's and just a short stroll from that Time Square. Plus the subway is right by in walking distance, that connects to everywhere.
A special thank you to all the wonderful staff but i must mention Donald and Juber on the front door who greet you back like old friends and give you a laugh,,, and of course to Steff at reception for being ever bubbly and friendly. But a big thank you to the wonderful Candace who is a thorough professional at her job and always make sure every little thing is 100% catered for, for us the guest.
If i was the manager i would give them all long contracts and not change a thing. It was a fantastic five days spent in New York we will all remember fondly for life.
Thanks so,so much you guy's,,, we'll be back !!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with views of the Chrysler Building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,832
    1,502
    300
    112
    48
See reviews for
1,873
1,309
173
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good in all items: comfort, cleanliness, service, gentle staff, wonderful beds and pillows, practical kitchen, 1st class bathroom. In only do not give a 10 because the wifi is not free (considering the high rate of the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here with three friends on a girls trip. I had stayed here with my family two years ago and liked it so much then that I recommended it to my friends and they were not disappointed. We had no complaints at all about the hotel . Particularly liked the kitchen for early morning tea/coffee although my espresso drinking friend found the coffee supplied too weak. That would be our only quibble though and we were so happy with comfort of beds, size of rooms and location. What really makes this hotel special is its' staff.Hurricane Sandy caused the power to go down and the water to go off while we were there but the staff did everything they could to be supportive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we were appreciative of this. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: corner suites more spacious and have terrific views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I chose this hotel after trawling through Trip Advisor reviews and it did not disappoint. I totally agree with all the positive comments of the previous reviewers. Location is excellent; staff couldn't be more friendly; rooms are large (by NY standards!) and very clean; the bed was super comfortable; any street noise becomes just a background hum, but in any case is all part of the New York experience! The kitchen is a very useful feature (and it's easy to pick up provisions at the corner deli day and night) for those times when you want to just fix a light breakfast or lunch. Luggage can be left at no extra charge until you need to leave for your flight which is also much appreciated.
If your finances allow then DO choose a Skyline view - it's worth every penny! The view is stunning, especially at night when the lights come on. You feel like you are in your very own movie!
I left just before Hurricane Sandy hit, but the hotel was making plans and keeping guests informed which is reassuring.
If I ever return to NYC I will definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Skyline rooms are well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Woo12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a kind review of your recent stay here at the Affinia Dumont Hotel. I’m so pleased to see that you enjoyed the spectacular views from your Skyline Suite, that you found our location to be convenient, and that our staff could not have been more friendly.

I’m also especially pleased to see your comments about our team’s preparations for Hurricane Sandy. We did our very best to keep all of our guests as informed and comfortable as possible during the entire process, including the days leading up to the storm which you experienced first-hand. I’m happy to see that you made it home safely before the storm reached the New York area and that you plan to visit us again the next time you’re in NYC. We look forward to having you!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights in October 2012. Objectively this is what we observed and experienced.

Pros:
1. Excellent staff -friendly and helpful
2. They will hold your mail for you before you arrive for free
3. We had a standard double room which included a kitchenette.
4. Large and clean standard room
5. Can have adjoining rooms as well.
6. OK location depending on what you want. If you are spending most of your time shopping along 5th avenue then perhaps a hotel closer there would be better but then having said that, it is not too difficult to reach the shops from where we were. A short walk to Madison and then a bus uptown is within easy reach. If for sightseeing, the subway and buses are nearby.
7. Good price if booked in advance. Reasonable for NYC standards.
8. Convenient eating places around.

Cons (Nothing major)
1. Rooms are perfectly adequate but a little tired looking. I think they might be going through a refurbishment though.
2. Noisy street. Although we were on the 28th floor, we could still hear the street noise because there is no double glazing in the windows. Not too bad depending on how sensitive you are. Earplugs are supplied (!) though. Worse when there are sirens obviously. I haven't stayed in other hotels so can't compare noise level.
3. Air con was noisy but we had this off most of the time so no issue with us.
4. Adjoining rooms. This can be a pro or con. Pro if you are travelling with other friends or family but con if you have a noisy neighbour. We had neither.
5. No shower cap says my wife.
6. No free wifi in the room. Free in the lobby.

Would I stay here again? Yes if travelling with family because of the kitchenette for fussy eaters and adjoining room if necessary. If I travelled just with my wife again, I would look for another deal closer to 5th avenue. This would probably be more expensive so we will then have to weigh convenience with expense.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed several places in NYC, the last a large historic hotel which had an awe-inspiring lobby and bar, but everything above the lobby floor disappointed. When we arrived at the Affinia Dumont, the lobby was small but adequate, the staff most helpful, but best of all the room was large and comfortable. Even with a Queen bed, there was room for a couple of chairs, a desk and chair, and much room to move around. Also there was a full kitchen! By far, this was the best hotel ever at a most reasonable price (by NYC standards). We are fairly critical travelers (in a polite way), but this was truly a find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in NYC for the past several years, and I thought I was pretty settled with the Hotel Mela near Times Square as my accommodation of choice (location, location, location!) - even though the rooms can get awfully small if you don't negotiate a lot at the front desk. But now Jamie W. and I have a new favorite - the Affinia Dumont in Murray Hill on 34th near Lexington. It honestly provides the best value we've experienced in Manhattan - a really large room with a kitchen, desk and all the pillows you want for an average of around $200 per night for four nights over the Memorial Day weekend. Really a great deal for a four-star hotel all things considered (Saturday night's the killer at $330).

The location was great for us since we were just a couple of blocks from the 6 line, and there's always the Lexington Avenue bus - or as Katharine Hepburn told Spencer Tracy when she was drunk with champagne at an office party in one of their comedies, the "Mexican" Avenue bus. No serapes though. Besides, it's actually not that far a stroll to Grand Central, Times Square or Union Square, and it's good for you to walk up and down Manhattan anyway. But you can also find good budget places to eat close by as there were a lot of ethnic eateries all along Lexington. There was even a weekend street fair for six blocks of Lexington when we were there, so nearby eating options were not a problem.

I thought the hotel staff was polite and attentive. They were also quite patient if you happen to have stayed up too long the night before. Hey, we were vacationing in the city that never sleeps after all. King of the hill, top of the heap. Moreover, they accommodated our early morning arrival by taking our bags and letting us use the large restroom in the back to change our clothes before coming back for our real check-in that afternoon. The king-size bed was comfortable, and I was not kidding about the pillows. They actually offer quite a menu of different density pillows which they deliver to your room right away.

The compact kitchen turned out to be handy for the fruit salad I would assemble for us in the morning from the Murray Hill Market right on the corner. Best of all, we never had a problem with noise even though the hotel was filled with large families judging from the chaos in the small lobby. I've given a NYC hotel five stars only once before, and it was for a heavily discounted room at the now-prohibitively expensive Distrikt Hotel near the Port Authority, but this time, the rating is fully warranted. We'll be back, and now I know to ask for a higher floor to get that spectacular view of the Chrysler Building.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed_Uyeshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,895 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing