We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, with European Style in great neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #262 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, with European Style in great neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel has great rooms (a pity has no wardrobe), the beds are really comfortable and the bathroom is ok. The location is great as Soho is a great place, but it is 7 blocks from the subway so if you are carrying heavy luggage must consider it.
Also there is no elevator so must ask someone of the hotel staff to carry it up. Last thing there is no breakfast but there are great choices around

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WadieBadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    451
    195
    77
    112
See reviews for
283
251
63
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Just back from a 10 day stay in this fantastic NYC boutique hotel. The location is really good on the corner of Bowery & Broome right in the midst of SoHo, China Town and Little Italy. With very easy access to the 6, 5, 4, A,C,E J & Z subway lines. The neighbourhood is really lively with plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, take-out and convenience stores all within walking distance. The area is also completely safe at all times of the day and night.

We are a family of five (14, 12 & 9 year old kids) and room 227 on the first floor was very spacious with plenty of room for us and our luggage as well as the daily shopping !! The two double and one single beds in the room were very comfortable and despite being directly above a late night bar and facing the street the room was remarkably quiet and the air con extremely efficient. The big bathroom was also very good for our large party. And the free WiFi was great news for the kids...to keep all their devices running !!

Staff were very helpful and friendly and the free coffee and tea in the lobby from 7am each morning made up for the annoying American trait of no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. They even printed my Yankees tickets for me after I sent them an email with the link!

I would recommend the Sohotel without hesitation for adult travellers as well as families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DONTSTOPNOWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was much better than the dodgy place we stayed at beforehand. I love the Soho area so that was a massive advantage, plus the furnishings were cute and kitschy and we had our own small room and bathroom. The only downside is they don't have any elevators if you have massive suitcases like we did, but the staff will help you with your bags (you feel kind of guilty though cos it is an older dude who struggles them up the stairs for you). Overall happy with my stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for one night. Well the price is little bit pricey but its New York!! Location is great, its near the travel tour that we booked. Decoration in the lobby is great and staff were really nice and helpful also. you get free coffee and tea in the lobby. Free wifi including in the rooms. I booked double bed queen, beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean also. There is no elevator in the hotel but staff help us. The bad: the A/C very loud, and we can hear our next room (wall pretty thin) ;).

Room Tip: ask room with less A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Librabeyourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very clean hotel with bright upbeat rooms with character. Wonderful, friendly staff. The bathroom was immaculate with c.o. bigelow toiletries, not what I would have imagined for the price bracket. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The hotel was perfect for our needs. The hotel is right on the edge of the bowery and steps away from little Italy and Chinatown, not soho proper. There isn't an elevator and coffee/tea facilities are in reception and not in the room. The area is a little noisy at night, there is a popular bar next door. We simply turn the air conditioner on low, and had no problems sleeping.
If these factors are not detractors, you will love the hotel and the savings!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location with easy access to multiple subway stations. Rooms weren't huge but were big enough for what I needed. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would have no issues recommending this hotel to any friends looking for somewhere to stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We love the Village, SoHo and Little Italy but have never found a great place to stay that we could afford - til now. Room was very clean and a decent size...with handy touches that make hotel stays easier- long counter top, lots of hangers and outlets and terrific toiletries. Staff was lovely, Internet worked perfectly, public areas cool - and the price was great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimMcMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#239 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#330 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#13 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#97 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#231 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#57 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing