We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #251 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

4/5 stars because there isn't an elevator and because it's hard to rank anything excellent. But, read on, it's a great stay! Its clean! Like so many other reviews state - it's clean. In our opinion, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, as well. Of course, unless you are in new digs, if you look hard you're going to find something. But, again, clean and comfortable. And, the staff was very nice! We only had one luggage piece, but the staff will take your stuff up to your room. It's in a great location, too! Near Grand St. where the restaurant Nam Son is - anything on that menu is delicious. And, near Little Italy, near, Soho district where you can shop or check out an art gallery and it's just a nice walk up the to the Village. Around the corner is the orange line subway station on Grand St. Definitely recommend this stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    444
    191
    76
    111
See reviews for
274
248
62
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My time spent at this hotel was great. The staff was extremely helpful. Junior and Kaleel are great staff as were the others, they were always willingly available to help and very outgoing, very inviting. The restaurant staff and food was AMAZING. The only thing I would change is the fact that there are no phone's in the rooms to call the front desk. I enjoyed my stay very much, beautiful decor as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Room was ready even though we arrived a little early. Front desk was very pleasant as well as everyone else. We even got a free upgrade without asking for it. Room was very nice, clean and pleasant. The bathroom was very spacious and clean as well. This was a great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Rooms were very small but I guess you expect that in New York.
We were on the first floor with a window but some rooms have no windows ( but are slightly bigger) and there are other floors with no lift so you have to be careful with your room choice.
The staff were really friendly and the location was great. Near all the Soho shops and cafes and Little Italy and also close to two subway lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomboycott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My daughter wanted to stay in Soho, so I chose this charming little hotel & we loved it. Yes the rooms are small - as most rooms are in NYC, but it was friendly and beautiful. The location is fabulous, within easy walking distance to subways and many attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed here twice. It's more expensive than we usually spend on a hotel, but very reasonable for NYC. The rooms are very small, but clean. And it's in such a great location that you won't be in the room much anyway! This is our go to hotel in NYC. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for four nights, and overall we were happy with our choice. It’s in a great spot in between SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown, which means there are lots of cool spots within walking distance—and it’s much quieter than, say, Times Square area. However, there was a bar located directly below our window on the second floor, and on the Friday night it was extremely loud in our room. The air conditioning unit helped drown it out, but not completely. Noise from outside was not an issue any other time during the week. The walls are also extremely thin, and we could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms around us, including people walking around, moving luggage, and a couple ‘enjoying themselves.’ Sigh.

Sohotel’s staff were really nice and helpful any time we required assistance, and there is also free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms, which many NYC hotels make you pay for. The beds were also incredibly comfortable, and the décor is very trendy throughout the hotel. While the price tag was high considering the size of the room and limited amenities, NYC is extremely expensive and we found Sohotel to be one of the more affordable spots.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#235 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#339 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Chinatown
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#64 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#93 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing