We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #262 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Rooms were very small but I guess you expect that in New York.
We were on the first floor with a window but some rooms have no windows ( but are slightly bigger) and there are other floors with no lift so you have to be careful with your room choice.
The staff were really friendly and the location was great. Near all the Soho shops and cafes and Little Italy and also close to two subway lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomboycott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    457
    204
    78
    115
See reviews for
294
253
65
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My daughter wanted to stay in Soho, so I chose this charming little hotel & we loved it. Yes the rooms are small - as most rooms are in NYC, but it was friendly and beautiful. The location is fabulous, within easy walking distance to subways and many attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed here twice. It's more expensive than we usually spend on a hotel, but very reasonable for NYC. The rooms are very small, but clean. And it's in such a great location that you won't be in the room much anyway! This is our go to hotel in NYC. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for four nights, and overall we were happy with our choice. It’s in a great spot in between SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown, which means there are lots of cool spots within walking distance—and it’s much quieter than, say, Times Square area. However, there was a bar located directly below our window on the second floor, and on the Friday night it was extremely loud in our room. The air conditioning unit helped drown it out, but not completely. Noise from outside was not an issue any other time during the week. The walls are also extremely thin, and we could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms around us, including people walking around, moving luggage, and a couple ‘enjoying themselves.’ Sigh.

Sohotel’s staff were really nice and helpful any time we required assistance, and there is also free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms, which many NYC hotels make you pay for. The beds were also incredibly comfortable, and the décor is very trendy throughout the hotel. While the price tag was high considering the size of the room and limited amenities, NYC is extremely expensive and we found Sohotel to be one of the more affordable spots.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely hotel and a great location...quite even though there was construction going on. Loved the decor..fun color scheme,funky furniture,and beautiful exposed brick. Nice hotel bar attached..though we didn't eat anything there,had a nice drink at the end of the night.Comfortable beds and clean. Definitely going to use this hotel every time I am in the city!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is situated ideally in the interesting Nolita and close to the Underground, to SoHo. Little Italy and China Town are just around the corner. There are many good restaurants and interesting shops. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are very good. The staff is very friendly helpful. We also appreciated the free coffee and tea in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my daughters second stay and my first. She rebooked based on good value for money and it's downtown location. The hotel itself is significantly historical dating back to the early 19th century hence the absence of an elevator and the smallish rooms. I like the fact it still retains much of its historical features which add to the charm of the interior. The staff were friendly and obliging the rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#334 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#94 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#251 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#128 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#376 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing