We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for a girls weekend in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #251 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for a girls weekend in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for four nights, and overall we were happy with our choice. It’s in a great spot in between SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown, which means there are lots of cool spots within walking distance—and it’s much quieter than, say, Times Square area. However, there was a bar located directly below our window on the second floor, and on the Friday night it was extremely loud in our room. The air conditioning unit helped drown it out, but not completely. Noise from outside was not an issue any other time during the week. The walls are also extremely thin, and we could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms around us, including people walking around, moving luggage, and a couple ‘enjoying themselves.’ Sigh.

Sohotel’s staff were really nice and helpful any time we required assistance, and there is also free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms, which many NYC hotels make you pay for. The beds were also incredibly comfortable, and the décor is very trendy throughout the hotel. While the price tag was high considering the size of the room and limited amenities, NYC is extremely expensive and we found Sohotel to be one of the more affordable spots.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    453
    198
    77
    112
See reviews for
288
251
65
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely hotel and a great location...quite even though there was construction going on. Loved the decor..fun color scheme,funky furniture,and beautiful exposed brick. Nice hotel bar attached..though we didn't eat anything there,had a nice drink at the end of the night.Comfortable beds and clean. Definitely going to use this hotel every time I am in the city!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is situated ideally in the interesting Nolita and close to the Underground, to SoHo. Little Italy and China Town are just around the corner. There are many good restaurants and interesting shops. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are very good. The staff is very friendly helpful. We also appreciated the free coffee and tea in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my daughters second stay and my first. She rebooked based on good value for money and it's downtown location. The hotel itself is significantly historical dating back to the early 19th century hence the absence of an elevator and the smallish rooms. I like the fact it still retains much of its historical features which add to the charm of the interior. The staff were friendly and obliging the rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Really not like the pictures. Not worth the price. Bathroom looks like a basement bathroom with black mold around the shower. No standard amenities, like phone, iron etc. rooms smell like head sweat.would not reccommend to stay here. for not too much more you could stay at way better hotel in NYC

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dokoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and the service and staff was excellent. The room was very clear and up to date the pillow and bed was very comfortable. The location was very convenient and right downtown. We would definability stay there again.

Rehana
Toronto

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel because the room was spacious and newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rehanaazeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. It represents good value for money and is well located with numerous restaurants, including Little Italy, and many bars close by. The hotel is basic but friendly with a high percentage of foreign guests. For anyone wanting to sample NYC without paying a fortune this represents an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caplink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#332 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#242 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#14 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#72 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#102 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#209 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing