We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not pricey, pretty nice boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #251 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not pricey, pretty nice boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

It's a good hotel - not great, but not super expensive either. All staff were super helpful. Construction project was a bit annoying but that can't be helped. Rooms are small but that's NYC. Location is on the edge of Chinatown and there's a fantastic park (Sara D Roosevelt) two blocks away that is a great slice of life and a good spot for running/walking. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anyabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to report that our efforts to improve our product will be completed withing the next weeks. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    444
    191
    76
    111
See reviews for
274
248
62
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel just before Easter and we found it to be great value for your money. Granted, the rooms are small but when you are in NYC you do not want to spend too much time in your room anyways! The staff were really friendly and you get free coffee and tea in the mornings. There is no elevator in the hotel and they are currently undergoing some construction, but that did not affect us in any way. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our staff could provide you with excellent service. We are glad to report that our efforts to improve our product will be completed withing the next weeks. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Courtesy, clean, close to everything. You can find everything in soho, but if you have to move somewhere, it's easy! The hotel is cute, design, people is nice. International guests, any age. No elevators, but they will bring up your luggage. I hate elevators, so for me it's not a problem at all. Sure I'll come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninabee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We think our walk-up hotel is charming, Don't you? Plus, We have a wonderful staff who is here to handle all baggage :)

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

5 of us stayed in this hotel over the Easter holiday. We had a great stay the staff were so friendly and helpful it really made our stay. Having no lift wasn't a problem as we had help with our luggage infact they carried all of them for us. Location is great, there is traffic noise but what do you expect staying in a city like NY. Wifi was great, coffee in the morning in the lobby was much appreciated. Would definitely stay here again we got to do so much in 5 day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmDev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to report that our efforts to make our rooms quieter is almost complete! We are currently in the process of installing high-grade sound resistant windows throughout the property. They also look very beautiful!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Had family room for our family of 5. Room for this number of people was a bit on the small side, but the staff were so friendly and helpful. Cheapest place we found with a family room in the location we wanted and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumwith3kidstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our Superior Family rooms for five are pretty unique to NYC and we are glad that we can give the option for Families and Groups. Our goal is to give as much value as possible.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is value for money esp in the peak season.
Main points - convenient location, near 2 main subway lines, CLEAN modern new bathrooms, comfy bed. I liked the toiletries and toothpaste PLUS complimentary bottled water.
Friendly staff. NO lifts, small rooms. The linen was clean but there were minor stains. The room was serviced daily but maybe with the construction going on downstairs - there was dust ++. Free Wifi was good. I would recommend this place for the price, location and bathrooms. MAKE SURE u try to get top floor and Broome st side rooms, i reckon the lower floor and Bowery side would be a lot noisier.

Room Tip: Top floor. Broome st side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auckland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our value and location is definitely the best in town and we are happy you shared this with others.

We are glad to report that our efforts to improve our product will be completed within the next weeks. We are almost complete with installing brand new high grade sound resistant windows in every room. They really do the job! As you know, NYC is quite loud but this will reduce the outside hustle and bustle immensely!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in April 2014 over the Easter period. We choose it based on price ($1200 for 5 nights ) its location bordering on Little Italy and Chinatown and being reasonably close to subways.

We were initially disappointed upon arrival due to being put in a long and narrow 6 ft wide room with two single beds, despite having booked and paid for a standard room with two twin beds thinking we would have a larger room as shown on the website. The font desk staff however were sympathetic and after a chat with the manager we were moved to the correct room, which, whilst suffering some street noise, was satisfactory and had a good bathroom and the most comfortable beds and pillows.

This is a boutique style Hotel and is tastefully decorated, but do not expect too much in the way of amenities. The lobby and lounge areas are basic and there are no breakfast facilities, but there are plenty of good local restaurants so no problem there. There is no bar in the Hotel but there is The Randolph right next door, but it doesn't open until late afternoon. The free Wi Fi was OK and the flat screen TV was good.

A point to note is that there are no lifts or elevators so beware if you are on the upper floors and there are no safes in the rooms.

In generally it was a cheerful Hotel with helpful and friendly staff, and is centrally located for lower Manhattan.

Would I stay here again? - yes I guess I would.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand what room you are getting and note that the back rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerhouse100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#235 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#339 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Chinatown
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#64 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#93 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing