We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #289 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at the Sohotel just for one night and I chose it because it was next to the office where I had a job interview.
Rooms are really cute and nicely furnished, I loved my comfy bed and double pillow.
Water and candies to welcome guests.
Clean and safe, next to chinatown and cheaper than most hotels in NY

I would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    483
    212
    80
    119
See reviews for
319
259
69
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

After reading the glowing reviews I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. Initially I tried to book the room on a third party site; however, my employer does not allow this type of billing. I called immediately to the hotel and was assured I would get the rate. As his request I called the following day and was assured that I could have the quoted rate. I called back at the request of my travel office, to confirm booking and rate as I am leaving on Friday. I was told by a young woman there was a problem with the booking and I could rebook to get the original rate. I was told to call back to confirm it with her. I called back she was off and the young man told me he would send her an email. I needed to call back today to get an answer. Guess what? No response. When I called back today, the young man was snarky and abrasive. I have yet to speak to a Manager. I am consistently informed there is no supervisory staff available at night. If this is how you're treated before the arrival, what happens during the stay?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here during a crazy winter storm. The location was good as it is close to the subway and of course Chinatown and Little Italy. It was a little difficult to find initially, but once we got our bearings we were fine. It does not look like a traditional hotel from the outside which may confuse people. We had a large room with 2 queens and a single, which was perfect for our group. We were celebrating my goddaughter's 16th birthday and it afforded us the opportunity to bring 4 of her friends without having to rent two rooms. The room was a bit plain and nothing fancy, but it sufficed for our needs. The bathroom on the other hand was awesome. Very modern, clean and spacious.

I wanted to surprise my goddaughter by decorating the room with balloons and cupcakes prior to check in and the hotel promised to call me when the room was ready. I spoke to two people who assured me that this was doable, but unfortunately I never got the call and was a bit disappointed that I couldn't make it happen.

We had another incident where housekeeping walked in the room (after knocking a few times with no response) and scared the girls. Apparently they have a turn down service, which is nice, but when housekeeping walked in their response to us was "we're just checking on you." It was a little creepy and unnerved the girls a bit. We mentioned it to the front desk staff, who were apologetic and after explaining to us why they were coming in we felt much better about the situation.

Overall I felt it was a great value, very clean and friendly staff. They have take out menus available which I thought was brilliant and allowed us to order pizza for our pj party. We had a great time and it served it's purpose. Would I recommend? Yes, but know there are other hotels with just as good a value, but in our effort to try something off the beaten path, we landed at the SoHotel. And it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlemstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great location. Friendly helpful staff.

The room was very small so as the bathroom. and looks like it hadnt been upgraded for a while.
I couldnt sleep because of the street noise.

i guess is a good place for short stay if you are planning of some big nights out in town. Where location is of priorty and forget about sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for several days last year for a family vacation. The hotel is clean and cozy. Although the room is a little small and you can hear a little noise sometimes during the night, the location of the hotel is excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay50_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here over Christmas from the 23rd to the 29th of December and had a lovely time. There was four of us in my family sharing two queen sized beds. The rooms were on the small side, but the beds were large and so comfortable. The presence of a celing fan was also great as I often find hotel rooms stifling hot, this was comfortably warm. The Tv was great to watch in the evenings and the bathroom was lovely with gorgeous smelling lavender products provided.

There is complimentary hot chocolate, tea and coffee provided at reception and the decor of the hotel is gorgeous. It is very boutiqe style with lovely chandeliers and zebra print arm chairs.

The staff were always very helpful and our room was cleaned and fresh towels were provided everyday.

We had breakfast in a nearby deli twice and it was delicious and great value, so we didnt mind too much that they do not provide breakfast. We loved Little Italy and ate out in Pesano's on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncalieri, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This Hotel is in the heart of Little Italy and very close to Lower Manhattan.
The rooms are clean but a little bit small. The room service is very good, and the people are friendly.
The mainly problem was the noise from the road that was too high. Unfortunately, they do not provide breakfast.

Room Tip: I do not recommend to book rooms on the first floor on Broome st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#278 of 468 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#354 of 468 in New York City
467 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing