We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice good value hotel”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #225 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel was good valueonly $195 for a five person room in August. It was just 5 minutes from times square. It was in a pleasant area. There was free wifi. Breakfast was not a optionbut coffee was offered in the morning. The rooms were small but you were in new york city. The bathroom had a hairdryer shampoo conditioner and shower gel which was a nice touch. The room was immaculate. However it was very hot and we weren't aware of the air conditioning untill the morning. The first views of the hotel were shabby but there was a sign up to apologise as they were refurbishing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepony756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We needed to stay for just one night - a Saturday - and everywhere was extortionate - Sohotel offered welcome value, while heralding a degree of hip style. Unfortunately there was some refurbishment going on so the outside didn't look it's best. The room was on the small side, but very comfortable with air con, a fan and a marble shower room, with great toiletries. The staff were extremely helpful and carried our (heavy) case up two flights. The Randolph bar next door had a vast selection of craft beers - with a hip vibe to go with it. We made the most of what the east village had to offer, as the hotel is within easy walking distance of happening bars, clubs and the famous Katz Deli. The hotel also provides a car service to JFK at a competitive rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Front desk and all employees were helpful and very polite. We could walk to Little Italy and Lombardi's Pizza which is a plus in my book!! (Don't ever want to be too far away from Italian food!) Lots of little cute shops and pubs within walking distance. It is near the fire station which I guess makes it safe but you do get some street noise, especially if there is a late night emergency. But other than that, for the great lower price, I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raleightwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Three of us checked into a Regency room and it was more than adequate. The beds were super comfortable; the room was beyond clean and we loved the decor. Everyone who worked there had a smile on their face and were always willing to help. We had no problem with noise and we were facing Broome Street and were on the first floor. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was a most pleasant surprise for the price that we paid. It just was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moondanceforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Location is absolute great. Good subway connections. Very vibrandt hood. The hotel is nice and the service really good. Its not a high end luxery hotel but meets the exspected standarts for the price. Standart Rooms are small but cosy and beds are good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rejsefyren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff was super friendly - the decor was awesome to look at in and out of the room - very quaint yet very edgy..... awesome place. And great location! We had the room behind the check in desk, which only had 1 room next to it, and it was not noisy at all. The room itself faced the busy streets of downtown manhattan but we hardly ever heard a peep - great experience overall.

Room Tip: We had the room behind the check in desk, which only had 1 more room next to it and though it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay in Little Italy. Room was clean and beds were comfy. Rained one morning and staff gave us umbrellas to use. Parking garage around the corner was 29$ for 24 hours. Nice convenience store right across the street. Great location, not so busy but right down the street was plenty of shopping and subway block away. Will definitely go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissylee663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#217 of 471 in New York City
409 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#161 of 471 in New York City
975 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#254 of 471 in New York City
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 471 in New York City
782 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#247 of 471 in New York City
609 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#372 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $121 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing