We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can live with the trade-offs it's a great hotel”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #253 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Sohotel three times in the last 12 months. Twice in a 3-bedded Regency Plus room and once in a 2-bedded Regency room.

As others have noted, this hotel is all about the trade-offs:

You get a really low price, comfortable bed, good sized rooms, free wifi, clean en suite bathroom, helpful people at the front desk, lots of availability at short notice and in a great part of Manhattan.

The costs are the hassle of walking up flights of stairs, street noise, not much storage in the rooms, no room service, no spa, no gym, no pool, no restaurant, no bar, no garage.

I've always found it to be a great trade-off and will continue to return for more enjoyable stays

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChessAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sohotel, Manager at Sohotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to NYC!

Warm Regards,

The Sohotel
info@thesohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice Hotel really clean, great value for price, good service, friendly, trendy and really close to chinatown, little italy and a few blocks from the subway that bring you to everywhere in Manhattan. I will absolutely recommended this hotel if you like the urban and traditional Soho style of New York...there is downtown Manhattan waiting for you... :) Extra tips: take the new york pass for 2 or 3 days if you will stay just few days in New York, you will get transfer every where in Manhattan by sightseeing and tickets for all the principal attractions like..Empire State, Rockefeller, Madame Tussauds, 9/11 memorial, MOMA, Natural and history museum. Read more here (www.newyorkpass.com)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine7535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

no, no views of the sweeping NY skyline BUT awesome bang for your buck and if you want the real feel of NYC this is the place...awesome places to eat on every corner..walking distance to some of the best shops...clean, clean, clean!!! have the windows open right now enjoying the sounds of the busy street life and the smell of pasta blowing into our room...life is good here!! don't miss this one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great spot! Beautiful, clean boutique style rooms. Amazing, knowledgeable & friendly staff . Very close to little Italy, Chinatown & SoHo. I will definitely stay here again. This is the kind of place you feel lucky to find & stay at while traveling!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabeatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a great option for a group of 5 and they provided. Two double beds and a single bed was perfect. I was delighted by the room and bathroom size. No frills meant going without a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, pool or fitness center. However we had free wi fi (they provide the access code) and you could always pick up a cup of coffee or tea in the foyer. We didn't hear outside noise from our room, however, our room was above the hot water furnace, so we heard that. And, as with most hotels, the air conditioning/heating unit was noisy. I always bring an eye mask and ear plugs for a good night's sleep. The staff was great, every single person we encountered was pleasant, staff and guests alike. Heck a little respect and a smile, even in the city, goes a long way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For the price and the location this place is pretty good. We were a group of 4 friends staying here for one night on a weekender in NYC. There's lots of exploring to do in the area and you'll get to see parts of New York you wouldn't normally if you stayed in Midtown.

There are really no frills to speak of. Don't expect to be blown away by all kinds of wonderful amenities. The rooms are pretty small, but at the same time, not tiny. Don't expect an elevator. Don't expect lavish surroundings and don't expect a hotel that will easily cost twice the price.

We didnt really use our room for much more than sleeping and getting ready. There's not much space but just enough. The bathrooms are actually pretty nice, and bigger than most of us expected. The beds are OK and I had no complaints about the sleep quality. And it was clean. We didn't particularly notice too much noise either - and we stayed on a Saturday night.

Overall, we found this place to be a bargain. It's not an elegant and opulent place but you're not paying an excessive amount either. It's a great option when you're on a budget (as we were). If you don't mind lugging your stuff up stairs and a bit of a cramped space, this place will be just fine for you. Oh, and if you need help, they do have a porter to carry your bags (and you can store them after checkout until your flight/bus etc).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

(note: this trip wasn't a couple like most of our reviews, but 4 guys doing a baseball road-trip)

We really enjoyed our time spent at this hotel - from them bailing us out on the Tuesday before we stayed by letting us store our bags for the day, to accommodating our "no guys want to share a bed for 3 days" request and squeezing 4 beds into the one room! It really was a beautiful hotel (great decor, friendly/helpful staff) that i would recommend to anyone. We would definitely stay with you again when I come back to New York, bringing my wife this time.

A special thanks to Chandra, who went above and beyond to mail me my sandals that I had left behind - absolutely fantastic customer service - thank you!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank tpicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#231 of 469 in New York City
400 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 469 in New York City
740 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#186 of 469 in New York City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#264 of 469 in New York City
1,301 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#373 of 469 in New York City
483 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing