We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soho and close”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #291 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean but very small but considering the price to value and location who's comiaming. The front desk is on the second floor and the folks are very helpful. The heat worked great and the WiFi was of average speed. I'll come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARLR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for Sohotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel building is old with no lifts and since it starts from the first floor I would suggest those with knee problems to avoid it. Besides this there is no other draw back. The rooms are small but comfortable and if you have any problems the staff is happy to help n adjust you.
The location is very good. Very close to the shopping area broadway street with good restaurants around it. There's an Indian food joint just steps away from the hotel. The food is very good.
The best part is they have free tea n coffee service in the morning in the lobby so it's easy for the early drinkers who don't have to go in search of their first cup not to forget free wifi.
They even help to carry your luggage up.
I would say you r getting your money's worth or more.

Room Tip: You can have a look at the room you r getting or ask for the bigger rooms,new ones.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pucha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel had good lacation, but very simple service in the hotel. Big minus: no genarator !
So very poor in crisis: total black out for two days after Sandy. Every Hotel should have generator to giev light and perhaps even hot water?....

Of course not I am not coming back to this hote ever, but prhaps when time goes by, I forget the black cold nights there after Sandy

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kurviska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We paid for our room upon arrival and then saw our rooms after and were horrified. The room was minuscule. There was no window! Only a tiny skylight and I would estimate the room was about 7/8' x 9/10' (not including the shower room). For £200 a night it was NOT value for money!
We went to reception to ask to be moved, but they said there was no alternative for that night. We then asked for a refund, as we would rather have chanced trying to find a room somewhere else. Someone else was also complaining at the same time - they had twin beds with the headboards back to back as that was the only way they would fit in the room!
The staff were nice and eventually after asking for the refund, they moved us, but I still don't think the room was value for money and the shower was like the plastic type you get in static caravans!
Location was great though, but it's on the edge of Soho and closer to the Chinese quarter. No bar in the hotel, but a great bar downstairs, next door.
Overall jut check your room before you pay any money. Good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank NYtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You enter the hotel by walking up a stair. There you have the reception/sitting area where there also is free coffee and tea for (almost) the whole day.The staff is friendly and helpfull with everything. Our room, at the end of the hall to the right, was very small (I think almost all rooms are like that). It had a very small bathroom, but everything was clean. The houskeeping comes every day (!) to make up the bed and give clean towels. Some had wi-fi in their rooms -we had not, but the hotel also says there is wi-fi in the lobby area only. The hotel lies in a few minutes walk from a lot of nice restaurants/ bars and shops and there is a WholefoodShop just 5 minutes away where you can by good food for breakfast etc. Did we get value for the money? Yes, I think so!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahlia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
1
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice room for a family of 3. Excellent and helpful service. Rooms very clean and beds great. Some notice from street but not more than one could expect. Subway stations within walking distance.

Not a five star but value for money.

Jan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#366 of 468 in New York City
479 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 468 in New York City
676 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#376 of 468 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $182 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing