We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Marks does it again.”
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Marks Hotel
Ranked #397 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“St. Marks does it again.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My second stay here and I'd be willing to say it was even better than the previous one.

As usual the crew (especially Sammi) was incredibly accommodating, helping us with our every need.

The rooms, as it is well known, are on the small side, but nice and clean, with good tv and very decent bathrooms, although this time our shower was a bit erratic, switching from freezing cold to steaming hot in a matter of milliseconds. That will be taken care of, I hope.

Apart from this, another winning stay and I'll keep coming back for the good service, fair price and AWESOME location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FabioVBezerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    179
    119
    37
    40
See reviews for
64
167
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
401 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

What best about this hotel is location, very easy to find, easy to take subway to anywhere in Manhattan. It is very easy to find places to eat in that area especially Asian foods. Very cheap in such location. The room is not best, but livable, with sufficient facilities. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Yet the rooms are simple and a bit small, the location is amazing, just in the middle of animated streets.

We've got a 4 bedrooms on the court (not the street). The bad point the lack of space for the luggages.

I would still recommend this hotel for those who are ready to share a bit of comfort against a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

+ very, very friendly and helpful crew
+ hard to find chipier (only hostels)
+ clean but very old and "grey"
+ the area is young, eclectic, energic and interesting... so you dont stay in the room!

- very basic comfort
- noisy
- room was incredibly small
- tiny bathroom
- TV didnt work
- wifi costs like 5$ a day

if i come to NYC again, i spend a little more $$$ on hotel but in that same area

Room Tip: if i come to NYC again, i spend a little more $$$ on hotel but in that same area or i take a queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evgueny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Funny, walked by this place a thousand times and never gave it a second thought. A friend came to town and said he was staying here and decided to join him. What a great place! The room was small but clean as can be. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was up to date. The front desk agent was very friendly and welcoming. Many shops and restaurants nearby and the subway is just steps away. It's not luxurious but it is great for a no frills stay. i would definitely recommend this place to anyone. One thing though. It took a while for the shower to get hot. Don't give up...it does get hot after a few minutes! I would stay here again, no doubt.

Room Tip: We had a street side room but it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogi Mirim, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed there in the beginning of June, 2003. The rooms are simple and clean. There were just a bed, a table, a TV and a place to keep our suitcases and clothes, unfortunately there wasn't any fridge. The room and bathroom are small, but it's enough to spend the night. The price is one of the lowest you can find in Manhattan and the reception staff is very helpful and offers a good service. The location is wonderful: plenty of restaurants nearby (mainly asian), subway station, grocery stores... you can not miss drinking a juice and eating a hot dog in the Papaya King just accross the street. As most things in NY, this region of the town never sleeps, so you may notice some noise coming from the street at night (it can be a great opportunity, too: enjoy it). If you have a lot of heavy luggage, notice there is no elevator and you may have some difficult in bringing them up and downstairs. If you're looking for something good enough, cheap and central, that's the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zibordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stay here every year its a great location right beside the metro line
Hotel is clean and the staff are great
The rooms are a little small but for what u pay and the amount of time u spend in them its not a problem they are also very warm
It can be noisey but u get use to it after all its New York
There are loads of bars around and also a 24h deli under neath the hotel .
So to sum it up Great Hotel Great Location and Great Staff ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMMY2011-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#360 of 468 in New York City
244 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#430 of 468 in New York City
117 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#389 of 468 in New York City
40 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Property: St. Marks Hotel
Address: 2 Saint Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003-8092
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing