We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Marks Hotel
Ranked #408 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at St Marks Hotel in September 2012 with my sister for 9 nights and both LOVED our time spent here. We always walked or caught the subway, didn't catch a cab once. This street is so amazing, most of the time we didn't venture far off. Wonderful cafes, including a couple of 24 hour ones (if you need something to soak up that alcohol, there's pizza and maccas around the corner). The guys at the front desk were always there to help you whenever you needed to. I will recommend St Marks to everyone I know and will not hesitate to go back there again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Outstanding price - clean - friendly staff
Close to subway
Not near "tourist" favorites - if you know the trains, the price trumps the distance from Times Square, Central park etc.
Pizza/Breakfast shop on first floor is good too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Clean rooms, clean sheets, great location, friendly staff and a great price. My husband and I went with friends and this hotel served its purpose well. We were out all day and just went there to sleep....it served its purpose well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I love st marks hotel .it was great experience for me and my family .location is excellent .the price was great .. close to everything you can ask for ..rooms are small but very clean .nice staff (thanks Sammy for making our stay nice and easy ) if you don't like noise ask for interior rooms .overall very good hotel .definitley I will stay there again .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy_md18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great stay room was cleaned every day staff were great and helpfull we stayed in room 30 two double beds which is directly over Rays pizza shop which is 24hr great if you feel peckish at night it can be a bit noisy with delivery trucks but other than that its a great place to stay subway is only one block away .We will be going back here again and it is Bed Bug FREE

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAMMY2011-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is my forth visit to St Marks since 2007! This place is consistently clean and always value for money. Location is fab. Stayed in the suite which consisted of two adjoining bedrooms each with their own ensuite bathroom. Bargain at $200 a night!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fatshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just came back from a very plasant 10 day New York trip with my girlfriend.
Our stay at the St. Marks Hotel was a real treat. We had a queen room at a very fair price (U$ 150) that was very clean with towels changed daily.
The only real problem with our specific room was that it faced the internal area of the building and the exhauster from the bar/restaurant downstairs would leave a very strong and unpleasant smell of greasy cooking throughout the entire room. Because of this, our only option was to keep the windows shut at all times with the AC on and even then some of the smell would eventualy come into the room, but no big deal. Maybe next time I'll request a room facing the street.
The staff was very professional and courteous, specially Sammi, who was always ready and happy to help our every need.
As everybody has already mentioned, there's no elevator, but I couldn't care less about that.
All in all, highly recommended and for the price, it's a no brainer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FabioVBezerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 471 in New York City
874 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#350 of 471 in New York City
415 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#402 of 471 in New York City
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 Saint Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003-8099
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing