We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winning Stay Again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Marks Hotel
Ranked #387 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Winning Stay Again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is my forth visit to St Marks since 2007! This place is consistently clean and always value for money. Location is fab. Stayed in the suite which consisted of two adjoining bedrooms each with their own ensuite bathroom. Bargain at $200 a night!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fatshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    177
    118
    37
    37
See reviews for
63
166
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just came back from a very plasant 10 day New York trip with my girlfriend.
Our stay at the St. Marks Hotel was a real treat. We had a queen room at a very fair price (U$ 150) that was very clean with towels changed daily.
The only real problem with our specific room was that it faced the internal area of the building and the exhauster from the bar/restaurant downstairs would leave a very strong and unpleasant smell of greasy cooking throughout the entire room. Because of this, our only option was to keep the windows shut at all times with the AC on and even then some of the smell would eventualy come into the room, but no big deal. Maybe next time I'll request a room facing the street.
The staff was very professional and courteous, specially Sammi, who was always ready and happy to help our every need.
As everybody has already mentioned, there's no elevator, but I couldn't care less about that.
All in all, highly recommended and for the price, it's a no brainer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FabioVBezerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had 6 nights here. The hotel is in a great location, close to subway, bars, restaurants,etc. It was also very clean. However, we had problems with our hot water and toilet. The toilet didn't flush half the time and we had to keep asking for someone to come and look at it, Which they did, but it was never fixed properly. Hot water was temperamental. Quite frustrating, staff tried to help but never really got the job done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

St. Marks is a very basic, but clean place to stay in Manhattan. Checked the bedbug registry and this place came back negative. Very well located in the East Village and within walking distance to the Lower East Side. We had a queen bed with private bath. The room was tiny, but that's the norm for Manhattan. The bed was made up only with sheets, not even a blanket or bedspread. We called and asked for a blanket, which was clean and promptly delivered. Very few amenities in the bath, not even kleenex. It is noisy, but all of Manhattan is noisy. Didn't really bother us, we slept well. I would stay here again but my wife would not. As long as your expectations are for something basic, it would be hard to beat the value of the St. Marks.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ziggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay. There were three of us and we had a two room "suite". Yes, the room is basic. However, it was very clean and larger than I had expected. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the area and especially The Bagel Cafe and the bar downstairs. So much fun to enjoy a beverage/snack at either of these spots and watch the world walk by. Subway stops are close by and lots of good resturants close by. The only draw back to me was the lack of an elevator. A small issue for such a nice room and great location. We plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kgintennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a good stay at the St. Marks.

Pros : Good location, very close to subways, restaurants, bars, etc...
Price is fair for NYC.
Clean.

Cons : They only take cash.
No elevator.
Bathroom and the room in general was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

For $170 a night it was an excellent deal. The room was basic but surprisingly clean, small flat screen tv and bathroom was small but absolutely clean. Area is NYU territory so you will see college kids (bars, hang outs, etc.) but If you cannot tolerate the "college students" lifestyle then choose another hotel. I am in my mid 40's but I was once young and free :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarYelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#359 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#426 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Property: St. Marks Hotel
Address: 2 Saint Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003-8092
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing