We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Phenomenal value for NYC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #384 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Phenomenal value for NYC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

For $170 a night it was an excellent deal. The room was basic but surprisingly clean, small flat screen tv and bathroom was small but absolutely clean. Area is NYU territory so you will see college kids (bars, hang outs, etc.) but If you cannot tolerate the "college students" lifestyle then choose another hotel. I am in my mid 40's but I was once young and free :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarYelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    157
    106
    36
    37
See reviews for
56
155
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've been to new york multiple time as well as stayed at a couple of hotels. So far this is a huge upgrade from prevues hotels I've stayed, the plus, it's in the heart of the east village, great shops, restaurant, bars and dives, the room is clean standard room with a bathroom. The negative, if you get there before 12 pm, your room is not ready until 2, when you take a shower, your gonna wait a bit long to adjust the right water temperature while your naked and freezing to death in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatdudehector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we had room 11, first floor (actually not the ground floor, as one has to walk up stairs from the street entrance to reach the hallway lobby. No credit cards accepted. Two double beds, little room to walk, no closet. small bathroom with touchy shower (very hot or cold, tricky to adjust). Only amenities were a TV, phone, shampoo, soap, and clean, very white towels (large and small, no washrags). It's clean enough, not cosy. For a night or two, it's fine if you're looking for the best price in town. Very near subway entrance. Lots of taxis around, too (NYC taxi fares went up 20% the first week of Sept. 12, so I am told). St. Marks has a bar on the ground (street level) floor that's popular and noisy at the weekends. No elevator in the hotel. St. Marks is good for the young. Good for ones looking for one of the lowest prices in town (buyer beware, you get what you pay for). Take earplugs.

Room Tip: No elevator. Not a lot of room for baggage. Tiny bathrooms. No in-room coffee maker or water heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aberdeensooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a bunch of friends. I think we got the suite which the reservation email referred to as the "deluxe double" - so there was a little inconsistency there, and it was also a little vague regarding the details of what a "suite" or a "deluxe double" gets you. What we ended up with, was a 2 double, 2 bathroom room.

Note that during the week there is construction near by - you won't be able to sleep in due to the noise.

The room itself was pretty adequate. For the price in NYC and for the location, you cannot really complain. The hotel is within walking distance from several metro stops and IN Japan town with a 24hr grocery store on St Marks St and plenty of pizza and other food near by. The truth is, the room had very little by way of flat surfaces. We made due without it, but it drove me crazy. I didn't have a place to put my cup of water! Again, these are minor things, when all you need is a clean place to sleep in the busy city. As well, the toiletries were not so great, so I would recommend that you bring your own (or if you forget, then walk down to the 24hr walgreens). Also, if you're sensitive to air conditioning, then you will not like this hotel. The window units are used, and it's difficult to get the right setting. Bring a small blanket and you'll probably sleep better.

I gave this hotel an average rating because the hotel itself is average. I've stayed in 4 star hotels in Manhattan, near times square and in the financial district, and I would recommend this hotel over the others solely based on its location close to many metro stops and great food! It is clean, but a little old. There are zero amenities, but the location is what saves this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider all your options by asking for the rates for all the rooms available that would suit your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peachtree1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was expecting them to charge by the hour by the looks of the place. This is just an amazing location with a real east village feel but it's tiny rooms, seedy guests, hallway bathroom, and no reservations necessary. I'm thinking it's used for unsavory purposes more than for tourism.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingkrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I can't agree more with other reviewers here about the Hotel's great location (my fave spot in NY) and the room (clean and airy with window overlooking the bustling street). But I wasn't fortunate enough with the staff. The men at the reception were okey but rather indifferent. Perhaps the busy summer bug? I stayed with my partner here for two separate nights only as emergency (we didn't like our bnb) before we moved to another. There was a rather unpleasant incident (someone literally burnt his/her bed) which sent us hurriedly to the streets at wee hours - firemen everywhere and the sirene! And none of the staff apologised or said something about it. But all in all, we'll come back if we have to simply and purely for the location, the room and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clean rooms, one block from the subway, in one of the best neighborhoods in New York for only US $120.00 (one twin bed and a bathroom). What else could you ask for? Maybe an elevator and credit cards accepted? But then it wouldn't cost so little (for New York standards).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ricardo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#370 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#375 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Property: St. Marks Hotel
Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing