We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for where you are”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #282 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok for where you are”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I agree with the last review, its not good and its not bad.
between 6th avenue and 7th avenue on 45th street just a couple minutes from times square.
We were on the 6th floor room 601, the room was quite small with a queen size bed, one bedside table, one chair and a chest of drawer.
There was a radiator that you couldn't turn off so the first night it was a bit to hot but after that it didn't matter as we were so tired, we were out of the room for 14/15 hours each day.
The room was clean and tidy as was the bathroom.
Overall our experience was a favourable one for the price we paid £462 for 3 nights.
The place could do with some decorating especially the carpets, also it would be nice if there a coffee available in the lobby.
Would we stay here again? probably if the price was right. This was the 11th time we have stayed in New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveperkins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    1,324
    538
    158
    144
See reviews for
728
985
128
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here with my mom on my first trip to NYC and I guarantee if I ever come back, I'm staying here again. The staff was great, but I wouldn't recommend the concierge. Our room was always clean, and had plenty of room for the both of us to move around. Right next door is a delicious deli, we ate breakfast there every morning. The deli also has an atm with a reasonable sur-charge. Time square is less than a five minute walk down the street. A Starbucks is just across the street, and the subway is just a few minutes away. The location can't be beat, and the price was awesome! It's nothing fancy and the beds aren't the softest but it was perfect for us. A nice place to sleep and maybe take a short break in the afternoon to plan the evening. Also, they have a locker room by the lobby and it's only $5 for the day per locker, which is perfect if you don't have to leave town until the evening but need to check out in the morning. Absolutely LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor in the back. No outside traffic noise so we could keep the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location slap bang next to Times Square. Room was clean, but being on the inside there was a very noisy electric motor somewhere (possibly next door), so I had to wear earplugs. Lobby basic as was the service. I was surprised to find when i asked to put my PC in the safe they put it on a shelf in the office! Not really impressed with graffiti in the lifts. A small amount of tidying up and this could be a much nicer hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geoff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I was a bit leery about booking this hotel over the internet. My husband, my adult son and I traveled. It was perfect. It is was a block away from times square, so it was within walking distance of many, many attractions. What we could not walk to, we could take the subway to. The hotel entrance and lobby is nice, and there was always somebody at the front desk. We got a room with two queen beds, and the room was very nice. 4 people could stay in this room comfortably. It was your basic hotel room, but it was SPOTLESS! It was so clean and we stayed there 3 nights with wonderful cleaning each day. The price was really, really good for such a clean place right in the heart of NYC. The people at the front desk were friendly. We were on the 8th floor and the only time we had difficulty with getting an elevator was during checkout time on Sunday morning due to the traffic. Our room had an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, alarm clock and TV. It was noisy at night which was PERFECT, because if you visit a big city and want to experience a big city, then hearing a big city is part of the experience! Beds were comfortable with 4 pillows per bed.

Room Tip: We were in room 802, it was spacious...as far as NYC hotel rooms go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan45667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A little old could do with a lick of paint and some new carpet thats actually fitted !.. but room was a good size plenty of room for shopping bags !! The location couldnt be better , 1 min to Time Square.Our only complaint is ..and its a biggie is that there are no safety deposit boxes either in the room or at reception so you have to bring all yr cash,cards ,passport and valuables with you when leave .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for LOCATION and reasonable price - look no further! This hotel is close to everything in Times Square. Theater, food, shopping, it's all close by! It does not serve food but two businesses directly next door do, and at reasonable cost. It is not billed as a hotel with extra amenities, and lives up to that. The room was clean and housekeeping kept the room tidy. Our room stayed warm, so we cracked the window to let in some cooler air. There are renovations "in the works" according to the management. I agree with them, some window treatments and fresh carpet would add to the overall decor. If you're coming to NYC to stay in a posh hotel with room service and a bellhop this is not for you. If you're looking for reasonable rates and basic lodging, because you're in NYC to sightsee and take in the city, give this hotel your consideration.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 76543travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
2,081 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#361 of 467 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 467 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 467 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing