We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, poor hotel”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #286 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Ideally situated with a 2 minute walk to time square which was great for What we needed. I dont usually Do hotel reviews, However the room we ordered was a queen
Bed, when we Got There we got that, yet we were in a connecting family room, which would have been great if our
Family were adjoining yet, they
Weren't and we could hear our neighbours; talking, and going to
The toilet! The radiators
Awoke us on numerous occasions throughout the night, and the carpet did not meet the wall in the room and I would say that it wasnt clean either. I complained about this and they did move us. The heating system however is old and this WILL wake you up throughout the night, we Were Told By the staff that in all Of the rooms you will hear this, I would describe this as whooshing sound for approx 5 mins and then a Banging of the radiator with a wrench.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraeclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 2,798 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

I believe this was our 3d or 4th stay at the Hotel St. James and things are looking pretty run down. Not only that but the elevators are still sheathed in moving quilts as they were the last time we were there. Although it was very cold outside, our room on the 12th floor was unbearably hot and the window air conditioners had been removed in October. All this said, we might possibly stay there again because the location is so good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank BerylV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

stayed here overnight and was very pleased.
the location is perfect as a friend and i attended the theater on 45th st, which happens to be the same street as the hotel. many restaurants and attractions in the area also.
the receptionist, Joey, was a pure delight as he attended to our registration. the lobby was welcoming, as was the sitting area to the rear of the lobby. no breakfast is served, but you're in NYC and there is a plethora of dining experiences to be had.
i understand the hotel has gone through renovations and our room 210 was very clean, NYC size, which is not very large, and quiet. the beds were very firm:) and the one window afforded bright light, with no view.
considering that when one travels to NYC, the time spent in the room is not lengthy, so for the price, location and cleanliness....it's a winner!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doubletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's steps to and from your Broadway shows from this value hotel. There is no ice machine in this hotel but you can get ice from the restaurant next door. A bag of ice there was huge for $3, but I am told they will also sell cups of ice. The box spring on my husband's bed was completely shot but the beds were perfectly comfortable anyways. Renovated baths.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a little noisy, even with the window closed in November, but my husband a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I travelled solo in October 2013 and this was a perfect location to base my stay.
The rooms at the St James are basic but have everything that you need. They are secure and clean and quite large.
There are plenty of places to eat just steps away from the front door.
St James is budget friendly

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekjm_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

On arriving at the hotel ( 3.00 in the morning ) we walked into the hotel to be greeted ( NOT )!!!!!!!! , the man behind the desk never really greeted or acknowledged us and we felt unwelcome from the moment we arrived . He told us we were the last to arrive , gave us our room keys and walked away , leaving us to find our rooms and get our luggage in . I normally wouldn't have minded this but I had knee problems and was on crutches at the time so a bit of help would have been appreciated . We had booked two rooms , one for 3 adults and one for two adults and a 8 year old.Our room looked fine but basic . ROOM 1 , kept awake by the constant drone of the air conditioning fans that were from the deli next door . the next morning we complained and were moved to the front of the hotel . we were asked if we would mind some road noise and this was preferable to the constant droning. we didn't expect the level of noise at the front of the building , we were in room 802 . The double glazing might as well be a net curtain for the amount of noise it stops. At 2.00 we had refuse men and delivery trucks beginning their daily routine and they didn't give a damn about anyone who might be trying to sleep with their banging and shouting as well as blasting their truck horns to gain access for delivery's. The bedrooms only had venetian blinds which didnt cover the entire window and the bathroom only had frosted glass with the loo in the window so we were on show to the offices opposite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eezyrydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJamesManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St. James, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Eezyrydaz,

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry that you didn't feel welcome upon arrival. It's customary for our agents to greet guests whenever they enter the hotel (and quite frankly I seldom see an exception to this, though I have seen guests not hearing the greeting on many occasions, specially after long flights, or if they are busy bringing in luggage). We will make sure to remind the staff to be more vocal to prevent this.
However, you do mention that they tried to engage in small talk with you, but it must have been interpreted the wrong way.

The hotel is a small 2** hotel. We do not have a bellboy to help out with the luggage, but there's a luggage cart in plain sight by the desk which guests can use to help themselves with the transportation of the luggage (the other 4 adults you were travelling with could have given you a hand putting the luggage on the cart). Since there isn't a bellboy, guests are indeed in charge of finding their room in our 1-corridor-only, 15-room per floor layout with signs along the hallways indicating the directions of the rooms.

Our rooms are very aptly described as basic. We are aware that we do not offer (nor charge for) any luxury, but we do provide the basic hotel facilities and services, and keep everything clean. We have also just undergone renovations in all the bathrooms and furniture, and we are now in the process of upgrading the carpeting of the whole hotel (which is complicated since the hotel is almost solidly booked on a daily basis and we need empty rooms for a couple of days to change the carpets, and when we finish, we hope to upgrade the hallway carpeting (which is less important to our guests' comfort).

Admittedly, New York is a very noisy city and the middle of Times Square has a positive and a negative side. The positive is that you're in the middle of the most active part of the city. Everything happens here at every hour. The bad part is that everything happens here at every hour... so there's noise being made all the time.
Our windows are double glazed to prevent as much noise as possible, but if you're used the peace and quiet of small cities, you still can hear the noise.
I would like to tell you that we will work on it but the truth is that we have consulted with several insulating companies and short of covering the windows with cement, there is no solution (and I'm paraphrasing one of the contractors).
And yes, despite signs all over the city banning honking, drivers couldn't care less... that's the same in Midtown, Downtown, Harlem, Williamsburg, or anywhere in NYC, but that's also true in any major city/.

The physical properties of double frosted windows make them ideal for bathrooms because unless you're pressing yourself against the glass, there's no way to form a coherent picture with the scrambled and diffused light that leaves the room through the window.
We know that our bathroom's frosted windows protect our guest because when we installed them we tried their effectiveness ourselves, and because someone in the office building across the patio would have complained by now, after 7 years, if they could see even the hint of a leg (amongst the groups that rent the offices is a vocal studio that hosts church choruses' classes. I am positive we would have heard a parent complain by now).

We apologize for the noise and will work on adding curtains to the rooms (which is a project that's been on the backburner for a while now, but reviews like yours may help us sway the owners). The curtains may help a little.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great little hotel less than 5 minutes walk away from Times Square. The staff were very friendly and the free Wifi was an added bonus. The rooms weren't very big but that's to be expected for a city hotel. Overall I couldn't complain and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#266 of 470 in New York City
4,171 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#190 of 470 in New York City
2,131 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 470 in New York City
7,941 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 470 in New York City
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing