We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and perfect location.”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #283 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good and perfect location.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here in November for my birthday with my fiancee and for the money you can't go wrong. Granted it's in need of a little modernisation but the guy on front desk (Joey) is a legend and was full of local knowledge and couldn't be more helpful, even printing off are return tickets for us to make things quicker at the airport.
The location itself is perfect, you are literally a two minute walk off Times Square but far enough away to get a good nights sleep.
And there is also a brilliant market on a Sunday right on your door step which is not to be missed.
Looking to go back in the near future and will book this hotel again without question.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and although it wasn't huge, it was more than practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTom140513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    1,322
    538
    158
    144
See reviews for
728
983
128
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. In need of re-furbishment is an understatement! Staff weren't helpful, tiny rooms, no space to walk once our suitcases were in, shower dripped water. Horrific and v expensive!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easygoing1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Near Times Square, very good. The air condition was very old. A very good service at the desk. No breakfast, but was not a problem. Nearby are very goog diners. A good place to stay some nights cheap in NY.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Knut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

While this hotel certainly isn't glamorous, and the view from the rooms in the back are non-existant, I wouldn't hesitate for a minute to stay there again on our next trip to NYC.

The location is unbeatable - 1 minute from Times Square, the rooms were small but clean and very comfortable, and the inexpensive rates left more money to sightsee, shop, etc.

We found the staff here to be very friendly and helpful. Although the rooms did not have have coffee, nor did the lobby, there was a great deli next door with really good coffee.

Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the back unless you don't mind the view of a print shop out your window....and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrysears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel St. James is very, very close to Times Square, probably about a 30 second walk. Subway stops are scattered all over the place.

Staff are friendly, rooms are spacious. The room we had smelt of damp, although we weren't there long enough for it to bother as too much. Competitive prices for New York, it's expensive either way! Rooms were cleaned every day, or if we didn't want them cleaned, they would empty the bins. Hotel St James could do with a renovation, as it's looking a bit dated. Apart from that, not a bad place to stay, and to be honest, location and safety are the main things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights as part of my 40th birthday celebration. My mom, sister, and I shared a room with 2 double beds, and my aunt/cousin shared a room with one double bed.

Our room had a remodeled bathroom. The entire bathroom was clean, and there were plenty of towels for us.

The beds were comfortable, and there were no gross comforters on them.

The air-conditioning worked well which was a bonus considering how hot it was outside.

The room also had a spacious closet; we had plenty of room for three women's clothes.

Our favorite staff member was the over-night/early morning gentleman at the desk. He was very pleasant and enjoyed joking around with us every morning.

The location of this hotel is perfect for tourists! We were just two blocks from Times Square and close to Rockefeller Center.

Negatives: the hotel is older. If you do not like the boutique style, this may not be the hotel for you. It is a bit loud at night; however, the noise didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Unless I am going somewhere where I am likely to spend an enormous amount of time in my room (like a romantic weekend), I tend to look for a good price on a hotel that is clean, no frills, and in a good location. That is just what this was.

We were right in the heart of NYC, felt completely safe, and had a good nights sleep. That is all we needed to have and it was at a great price and was clean and friendly. I would absolutely recommend this hotel if what you want is a great location and a clean, comfortable room at a good price and you don't need all of the frills of having room service, valet parking, and a bellman.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imamama4three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 466 in New York City
2,080 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#357 of 466 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 466 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 466 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 466 in New York City
4,011 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#255 of 466 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing