We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #281 of 468 Hotels in New York City
marco island, us
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We love the St. James. The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff is Great. Joey at the front desk is friendly, helpfull and very welcoming. Great location a block from Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teq k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    1,313
    533
    155
    141
See reviews for
717
973
126
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The reservation was made on line and in advance. Highly recommended as the hirelings very well located and often full. The room was spacious for three persons. The bathroom could be a little bit newer to follow the level of the bedroom. Near two cafeterias opened 24 hours and very special location b

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianagrechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Located only a block from Times Square - close enough for convenience, far enough to be quiet. The hotel is currently being renovated, the carpets in the hallways are worn, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. King-sized bed, lots of room (rare in a NY hotel), excellent air conditioning (important in June-July in NYC). Free WiFi in rooms, but sometimes very slow. Bathroom a bit old-looking, but lots of hot water. Price was fabulous for the location. Staff very friendly. No safe deposit box beyond keeping your passport at the desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived there was a very nice man at the lobby. He was very helpful and nice. However one bad employee was very rude and wasnt there to serve customers. We didnt get our luggaces from our flight, and we asked him if those had arrived and he just looked around and said that havent seen those, and made very clear that we were disturbing him with his job (which was customer service). Too bad that this guy is working there cause he made the whole experience bad.

The room was ok, well what else can you expect from hotel that cheap. Our room was in 9th floor with a view to other building/street. Other couple we travelled with had a room on 3rd floor with a view to office so they coudnt keep the curtains up. The noise in our room was the same window open or closed, you could hear everything from the streets.

Best thing about this hotel is the location and price. And that one nice man in the lobby.

We stayed here for two nights in early June, and travelled as two couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PikloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJamesManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St. James, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Piklo,

Thank you for your review.
I apologize about the service you receive. I'm not sure exactly how the gentleman at the front desk made you feel uncomfortable, but we will investigate.
However, when delayed luggage is delivered from the airport, we usually leave it at the desk, or in the manager's office, or we leave a note at the desk regarding whether it has been taken upstairs to the room, so the reaction of looking around for either the luggage or the note was appropriate to the question.

Again, thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and help us improve.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Older Hotel that could need renovation, but excellent location next to Times Square and fairly priced. My Room was ok and clean, only the air conditioning was quite loud. Free WiFi in every room. Would come again ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bernd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I travelled to NY in Jan 2012 and stayed here for 5 nights as I was wanting somewhere close to Time Square. It is the perfect location- about a 100 m walk to time square and all the shops/restaurants and theatres. I had read on Tripadvisor before I visited that the heaters were extremely noisy- and that is correct.

I arrived early in the morning after a red eye from LA and was VERY happy to be given my room. I went to have a nap before heading out and the sound of the heating was so so loud I thought it was broken and I would wake up engulfed in flames. It is so loud and sounds like it is broken- so not very reassuring at all!! The rooms were fairly small (I was travelling by myself so it was fine) but from what I hear most hotels in NY are very small. Those working at reception were very friendly all the time and helpful as well.
The best thing about the hotel is definately the location- a couple of pubs on the same street and 2 minutes from Time Square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been trying to recall any positives about this hotel and apart from the location, that is about it. My daughter & I have stayed in many hotels over the years & this one ranks as the worst. We arrived, having spent the day coming from DC, and the evening receptionist was really abrupt with us. He kept on telling us that we had booked for two rooms (one which had been booked 10 months ago, & seeing as we hadn't decided to visit New England a few months before we arrived, it certainly wasn't ours). He wouldn't let it go - he kept on and on. He didn't understand that we have a common English surname and it was a complete coincidence. We then went up to the room in a stuffy lift with padding (this was so you couldn't see the graffiti which has been done to the lovely burnished wood beneath). We had a double room with an internal view of the air shaft and the pigeons, with barely enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was small but liveable. It was ok though could have done with a thorough clean. The bed was aged and creaked if you dared to get into it. We weren't disturbed by the road noise but we could hear everything the people were doing in the neighbouring room (and I mean everything). Beneath the TV was a dresser so we were able to unpack and there was a hanging closet along the hallway within our room. Oh and I don't like an envelope left on the side of my bed which says "this is for the tips for your maid". My tip would be - clean the room properly, dear.
I wouldn't describe this hotel as "European" - I would say it is a typical aged cheap city centre hotel.The main public rooms downstairs were so gloomy. There was a lounge area to the rear where they obviously used to have a bar also. With some TLC this hotel could look good but it all felt very weary. Yes, the location was brilliant but that was reflected in the cost of the accommodation - in another city instead of NY, this hotel would cost at least half of what they're charging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJamesManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St. James, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Suzy,

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry to hear your stay with us was not satisfactory. We are currently in the process of changing several of the features of the hotel (new furniture and carpeting, for example). We will review who took care of cleaning your room before your arrival and see how we can improve the performance. Our apologies.

Regarding the possible duplication, we want to apologize for insisting, but it's more complex than what it seems. Sometimes -more than one would think- we have seen unintended duplicate reservations through online agencies and many times the guests do not even know that the agency duplicated it, and may get charged for it, that's the reason we are alert about this possibility, for your very own security and protection.
In this specific case, it wasn't only the last name (as a hotel with plenty of international guests, we are rather used to both common and uncommon last names); the second reservation had been made for the same amount of nights, for the same type of room, through the same online agency. The least we could do is make sure there had not been a miscommunication between you and the agency.
Although we do apologize if the agent insisted, the hotel does encourage the staff to look out for these mistakes.
Actually, you may see that some months ago, we were given a scorching review of a lady because the agency duplicated her reservation and when we brought it up to her attention and helped her cancel it, she blamed the hotel.

New York rooms, generally speaking, aren't the biggest, and our hotel being a budget hotel, does not have any larger suites. However, it has been noted by previous guests, veteran visitors of New York, that our standard rooms are typically as big as the standard rooms of surrounding hotels (and some of them, even larger).

We do agree that in any other city, the hotel would be less expensive. So would any other NYC hotel if you transported it outside of NYC, of course. However, we are about the only budget hotel in the middle of Times Square and we make sure that our rates stay accordingly reasonable.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,063 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
861 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#363 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,129 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,968 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#109 of 468 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing