We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - And That's It”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #280 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location - And That's It”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Hotel St James has a great location near Tires Square - but the nightly rate is very expensive for its shabbiness and lack of amenities. Not even a clock in the sparsely furnished room! No desk. Hallway and room carpeting was threadbare throughout and worn through in many areas. The shower water pressure was weak at best. Ill-fitting room doors allow hallway noise and light to disturb your sleep. The advertised free WiFi does not exist, and when asked, staff told me there must be something wrong with my computer. Air conditioning is an open window - with street noise.
I do not recommend this hotel - an extra block or two walk from Times Square will still provide close access to the sights with better amenities and a better price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottagegirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,332
    538
    158
    145
See reviews for
732
990
128
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hotel St. James is only one block from Times Square, which makes the location the best feature of this property next to the reasonable price. The room size was good and clean though a bit shabby. There is no breakfast, but there is a Starbucks down the block. The front desk knew who we were upon arrival. There were at least three Irish pubs nearby and a deli right next door. However if you want luxury and views, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: You can ask for a quieter interior room away from the street, but there will be no view except of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I could not have asked for anything more. Rooms are large IMO to other hotels I have stayed in before (at almost 2x the price). Staff is very friendly and the concierge service reserved me one of the best seats I've ever had to a Broadway Show. I'm already looking at returning to NYC and staying here. Yes, the elevator has covering on the walls..but I don't really care what the elevator walls look like! Hotel has a great location and is close to the theater and the subway. They have upgraded their system so they do not have the old key drop off system anymore, but I was glad I got to do that back in the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupsmom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This Hotel is centrally location in Times Square. You are in walking distance
to just about all of all your popular attractions. The are reasonable price Delis
just steps away from the Hotel. You don't have to worry about losing your keys
or forgetting them in your room because the desk keeps your keys for you. They
stay open 24 7. The rooms are small but comfortable and the staff was vey friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ervin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love tis hotel it is so close to Time Square.
It is very clean even though there was building works going on but you would not have guessed.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
There is a deli next door if you need anything for the room.
This hotel is just what it says on the tin no gimmicks !

Room Tip: There is no pool or restaurant but this is stated when you book but for New York you don't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am going to choose my words very carefully.Location is terrific, Staff very nice and polite at alltimes.Answered all questions very attentive.Room was good , beds comfortable, wished we had coffee in room.But the Deli next door had some excellent EATS.Bathroom I could not fault plenty of hot water and fluffy towels.We stayed a week and came back every day to a nice fresh room, Well done housekeeping.BUT this Old Hotel needs a facelift immediately its tired, Torn carpets on corridors fading wallpaper torn.Come on guys give this old Queen a jewel of 45thstreet a makeover ASAP.Make your staff proud again to be part of St James.

Room Tip: Back of house may be quieter city centre hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gslondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent hotel. Everything's clean, the room is big and it's one block from Times Square. The hotel also accepts shipments from online shopping with no surcharge.
Recommended to everyone goingo to New York City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earhuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#182 of 467 in New York City
2,088 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
906 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 467 in New York City
4,038 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing