We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the location and price”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for the location and price”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is seriously a block away from Time's Sqaure. Everything is so close - there are a million and one resturants within feet of each other.

The hotel itself is a little dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean. The location is extremely close to Time's Square - so you do hear everything. The walls are a bit thin and the water pressure isn't the greatest, but for a place to stay in NYC, it's a great deal. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can - get a room farthest from Time Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissafromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    1,303
    527
    152
    140
See reviews for
710
956
125
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was excellent. It entirely lived up to its pre-stay description. The staff were welcoming and friendly and answered our advance questions by EMail promptly and accurately. I would absolutely stay here again (and again) for a great value Midtown hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel St James is just what you expect it to be - not fancy, but certainly clean and adequate. Rooms were fine, shower was hot, clean towels every day, and a nice, flat screen TV, plus, windows that open! I took a group of 18 seniors to NYC for 3 days and this was perfect for our base camp - close to everything, subway stations near, 5 minute walk to theaters.... The room I shared with travel companions had 2 double beds - plenty of floor space. All of the rooms for our group were certainly of average size - no small rooms.

The rate was an exceptional value - and they didn't charge extra for more than 2 people in a room (a rarity in NYC). The location was PERFECT!

There are 2 small elevators that worked fine - and a vintage old stairway that is located next to the elevators - our youthful members would dash down it (and up it a few times as well ) This is a small, European style boutique hotel.... don't expect a mega Hilton experience,
The lobby was small but very accommodating - the front desk staff were friendly and helpful - a pleasant, gathering space at the back of the lobby worked great for bringing breakfast over and visiting before we took off for the day.

Next door are 2 delis that were great for breakfast, snacks, drinks (Cranberry Deli had delicious breakfast options)... and a Starbucks was across the street and down the block a bit.

We would definitely stay here again.
If you prefer luxury hotels and snazzy amenities, this isn't the place for you. This is for a practical, no frills stay - and it's perfect for that!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if you have a preference for rooms - they were so helpful to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikermom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We liked it very much, just 2 minutes to time square. Short walking distance to many sightseeing locations and central park.
The room was clean, the employees were really friendly.
The deli shop next door has good meals and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent, only a minute or two away from Times Square. The staff were very friendly especially Joey at the front desk. My room was large and clean. The only problem was the shower in my bathroom, it was always rather cold even when I had it set on the hottest setting and the water pressure was awful. But in saying this I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadedoz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is located within a short walk to Times Square. The room was spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was air leaked into our room through a window. The first night was quite freezing cold. Later, our maid stole my pillow to block the leak!!. And that's called a fix. (It did help)

Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby within walking distance. I really do recommend this hotel if you seek anything with reasonable prices and great location.

It is not that bad though. I and my friends stayed here for 5 nights. We really like this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Check R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for almost a week. The location is fantastic. Only a minute away from Times Square. There are lots of good food places all around the hotel. The bathroom, bedding and towels were clean and a cleaner came in every day.
The corridors and stairs are a bit shabby but the rooms are fine.
We had a room at the back so although the view was terrible, it was quiet at night.
The rooms are warm and have no air conditioning but we left our window open a little and we comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSausage1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing