We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #281 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked room on 12/4 for a stay from 12/28-12/31 (checked out the morning of 12/31). Paid $1232.58 for a room that was dirty, no mirror, no cups, broken window blinds, disgusting stains on the carpet, elevator that didn't work, unpleasant housekeeping staff, etc. Was a huge ripoff, holidays or not! We've stayed in cheaper hotels that are much better. Nothing we saw in the hotel looks anything like what's on the website. False advertising! Will never stay here again and won't recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    1,313
    533
    155
    141
See reviews for
717
973
126
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and it was great. A 2minute walk to time square, free wi fi. And a great deli to eat next door everything you need, very clean and tidy and great value for money. And walking distance at most attractions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Looking at the previous reviews I was happy to accept average rooms for the price it would've cost as the location was unbeatable and as I was taking the boyfriend to NYC for a surprise birthday so budget was quite small!
As the rooms were on the cheaper side, I did payout slightly more to get a king size room (room 514) and the space was really big! Worth it so you don't feel cheated out of a decent stay.
The room was clean and decor was comfortable. There was a jaccuzz enabled bath tub which was handy after all the walking but the shower temperature ranged frm Luke warm to piping hot so wasn't the best experience.
The room came with an adjoining room that wasn't part of our party and you could hear the TV and every cough etc but to be fair we were so knackered from the days out / jet lagg we didn't have trouble falling to sleep.
Overall the hotel is good (I don't care of the state of the lifts - least they had them!) and the hotel decor (it's got character!) but only purely for location, it's a 2 min walk from Times Square, 10mins walk from Empire State Building, 20mins walk from Central Park and lots of close subway stations to get you to Brooklyn bridge and Statue of Liberty quite easily.
Only real thing I want to say that goes against the hotel - the staff. Conceige and hotel reception guy are useless, really dull & not quick to offer help. They shouldn't be in the tourist sector! On the flip side I got to meet the legendary Joey that people talk about - he is so funny and upbeat!
Recommend the deli next door - was there every morning, in for lunch and dinner once

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

While we weren't expecting the ritz for $170 in Times Square this was a little bit of a shock even after reading all the reviews. The pros, just one, can't beat the location. The cons, cable wasn't working, which we aren't in NYC for but with two kids it would have been nice when we were in the shoe box, which is also number two, so small. The toilet clogged, barely any hot water, there was actually watered down hand soap in the "conditioning shampoo" bottle. The elevators are like coffins, the beds are like bricks, I could go on and on. We have stayed in many hotels and resorts, we stayed here for the location and just somewhere to crash while we were doing the Christmas thing in the city. We have stayed at two Sheraton properties in Times Square and wish we had gone back, it wasn't worth saving $50

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adp627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days back in April, the room was clean and tidy and cleaned every day.
We weren't there for the hotel, we were there for the City. If you want a hotel with a room you want to spend a lot of time in then this isnt the place for you. It's NYC!! It's just off Times Square, nice Deli next door and the two Irish bars a few doors down are great.
The hotel does look a bit worn out but for where you are and for the amount of time we spent in there, it was clean and a good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although our expectations were not high as we prepared for our stay at the hotel, we were further dismayed by the broken elevator (at least the tiny freight elevator worked - we were on floor 10), overall dinginess and apathetic service.
The room was clean and as others have posted, next door to the Cranberry Cafe and a terrific Irish pub, but it brought an otherwise wonderful trip to the city down a notch. Do not expect helpful information from the concierge or front desk.
If you are truly a "its just a place to sleep" kind of person, go for it. Otherwise, beware.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,063 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
861 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#363 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,129 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,969 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#109 of 468 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing