We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in what you want!”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Seminole, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's all in what you want!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is great, great deli next door, great Pub a few doors down.....it was clean, but the walls in our room were scuffed up and needed a paint job, one of the two elevators had moving blankets covering 3 walls???? Our room was sooo small (3rd floor), at least the window opened for some air, but looked directly into an office building...no ice machines, or anything else...wouldn't have minded if we had gotten a great deal, but $250 a night... NEVER!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gale m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    1,314
    533
    155
    141
See reviews for
717
974
126
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

First off, let me say the good: my room was fairly inexpensive. It was about half the price I would have paid at any of the swanky hotels just down the street. So I feel like I went into it with realistic expectations. And it was in a great neighborhood just north of Bryant Park. So the location is hard to beat!

However, queue the bad: the condition of the hotel was pretty run down. The elevators were tiny and slow. A couple times I had to take the stairs to and from my 7th floor room simply because I was tired of waiting or couldn't fit in the elevator with other guests who had been waiting longer than me. Basic things like etched graffiti in the elevators and stained/worn out carpets just made the place feel like the management had given up caring. It also made the pace feel a little dirty, even though my room was probably perfectly clean.

Beyond aesthetics, the three things that actually made my trip uncomfortable was 1) I could hear the people in the next room clearly. There was an adjoining door between the rooms that had a big gap in it. So even when they crumpled up bags, blew their noses, talked or coughed, the sound was as clear as day and I'm sure they could hear me. plus, I could actually see light in the gap whenever they had their lights on. I tried to cover the gap at the bottom of the door with a pillow, but it didn't work that well. 2) The bed was very hard, so I had trouble sleeping. 3) The hot water took about five minutes to warm up full and, even then, only warmed up to a luke-warm temperature. I have traveled in Europe quite a bit and might expect the latter there, but it shivering in the shower seems a bit odd for a midtown Manhattan hotel.

If you get a good deal, you desire a great midtown location and you don't care about basic luxuries such as privacy, a hot shower, and a good night's sleep, perhaps it's a clean(ish) place to stay, but I'm far from recommending it to most travelers.

Room Tip: The lower floor you have a room means you'll have to walk less if you decide not to wait for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecorrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

hereford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was begining to dread having booked here back in June for our stay in December as I have been looking on line at the reviews regularly. What a nice surprise. Yes, the carpets were a bit threadbare in the corridors but who's sleeping there !!! Our room was huge (514) The bedroom/bathroom was incredibly clean and spotless. Flat screen tv on the wall (not that you want to stay in your room and watch tv in New York!)
The location was fantastic, (W 45th st off 6th Ave) literally around the corner from Times Sqare, easy walk to Radio City, Rockafella Centre. St James was next to a great take out or sit down deli. Across the street 'Bond 45' an italian steak house for great meals or a fabulous breakfast of fluffy pancakes, maple syrup and strawberries There were 2 Irish bars in the street. What more could you want. If you want to pay about £400 more for a plush lobby and tiny rooms then book somewhere else! Otherwise stay at the St James for a homely feel, friendly staff, FREE Wifi, clean rooms, location, no frills, easy use of computer to print out boarding cards for a few dollars and easy use locker $5 per 24hrs on leave your bags on checkout and use the money you save to do other stuff like see, The Spiderman Musical on 42nd street which was Awesome ! Definately would stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 514 so we could walk up the stairs if the lifts were busy. I also upgraded to kings size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hereford6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent 4 nights here. Location is perfect springboard for all upper Manhattan has to offer. Central Park,Broadway, 5th Ave shopping, Rockerfeller Center, and especially Times Square are all lliterally within easy walking distance. Our room was about a 10x13, there was a problem with water pressure (which was being corrected as we left) and elevator service was slow & small, but for the money you have a nice comfortable safe place to sleep. If you're looking for frills, spend 4 to /8 times the amount and go somewhere else, but if you want to save your money for other things Manhattan has to offer, I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisAZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

old style hotel in great position-200 metres from Times Square. Staff great very helpful & super friendly. Our family group of 13 stayed there for 6 days in Oct.12. Special thanks to Joe & who made our stay that much enjoyable with his great personality.Hotel has no restaurant but eateries right outside the door.plus a couple of irish pubs.Rooms were clean/tidy & good size.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fej49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated for most of the major sights, Times Square, Empire State Building etc which are within walking distance. If not you can use the subway for 2.50 dollars for a 2 hour valid ticket. Cafe Cranberry situated (almost next door) is fantastic for breakfast or a light lunch. O'lunneys bar just a bit further down the street is great for food and drinks. Now for the hotel..as I said in the headline the hotel is basic but clean and for the money is good value. Bad points (in my opinion) are
1 the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are subject to a LOT of street noise.
2 the same rooms are overlooked by a tall office building across the street (privacy means you have to keep the blinds closed).
3 the central heating in the room is VERY noisy (hissing and knocking).
4 no tea/coffee making facility in your room.
We asked the concierge in the hotel to price some theatre tickets and we found that we could get the exact same tickets FROM THE THEATRE for a lot less money (tip..always ask for a discount usually they will help you).
To sum up.. Location 10/10. Hotel 5/10.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pnm178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I, my wife, my brother and his girlfriend were in NYC for 12 days. Hotel St. James is very well located, just a few steps from Times Square and has an affordable price. Rooms are simple, but with all necessary things. The staff helped us a lot with many things we bought by internet and asked to deliver to information desk. Not all the staff are so friendly, especially after 10:30PM... On the other hand, the person that cleaned our room was lovable and very nice! And, of course, let's not forget the best of St. James Hotel: JOE! He's nice, polite, likable and genial... by the way, he's always happy!!! This guy really makes the difference in NYC staff! 4 Stars and be sure: 1 of them belongs to Joe! Especial thanks to Joe!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UgoBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,065 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
864 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,130 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,972 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing